We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An exceptional experience of affordable luxury and fantastic service mindness”
Review of Riad Malaika

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Malaika
Ranked #14 of 75 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Riad Malaïka in Essouira is one of those that makes you feel welcome from first sight. We were picked up by their staff at the bus station and guided through the small streets of the Medina - it's central location makes it difficult to find by yourself.
The hotel itself is a charming riad in modern Marrocan style. The standards of the rooms is high and you will fin that each room has its own personal touch. The breakfast follows the overall concept; with fresh orange juice and a varied breakfast of crispy croissants, yoghurt and warm bread - and of course the traditional nah nah tea. This little Riad is located in the centre of Essouira and is the best hotel/guesthouse experience I have had for that price. The whole experience was topped with the best service you could imagine - seldom you see this even in luxury hotels. With outset in our interest in exploring Morrocan life and culture we got recommendations that far more than exceeded our excpectations. A special thanks to Hakim for being an excellent host.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amnygaard81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (825)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

330 - 336 of 825 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2011

My son and I were delighted to return to Riad Malaika for the second year running since we had a wonderful stay there last year.On our arrival, we found that we been allocated a room superior to that which we had originally booked-very spacious and comfortable and decorated in true moroccan style.
Our hosts,Sylvie and Piermark ,were very welcoming-as were all the staff-and had even pre-booked our favourite restaurant for us for dinner that night.
The riad has an excellent location in the medina and is a peaceful haven to return to after an exciting day exploring Essaouira.
Breakfasts were extremely nice and varied, using locally sourced foodstuffs, and always served with a smile.
I would thoroughly recommend Riad Malaika as we wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else when we plan to return next year.
Best wishes and many thanks to Sylvie ,Piermark, Hakim and all the staff for their fabulous hospitality,
Irene and Lewis from Glasgow, Scotland.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scottishlass18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

The streets of the old town are too narrow for cars, so we were met outside the old town by a man with a cart. He took us to the Riad, situated a few meters off one of the busiest shopping streets. The place is surprisingly elegant and the service was great too. When we were transferring to Marrakech, the Malaika got us a taxi, transported our luggage and basically fixed everything.

The breakfast in the Ryad is outstanding, the people nice, the interior as from a trendy magazine. I warmly recommend it, as I do Essouira in general.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brainspin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

Fantastic Riad in the centre of the old Medina in Essaouira. From the start we were made to feel very welcome and at home. The top floor suite was lovely and there was more than enough room for the 4 of us girls and our shoes!

Breakfasts were delicious and nothing was too much trouble.

Thank you to Hakeem for looking after us so well - he didn't even complain when we asked for help shopping!

A great place to stay with great staff! Thank you!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScaryMaryH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

I really recommend Riad Malaika in Essaouira. Nice rooms, especially the spacious suite at the top floor. There's a nice roof terrace with sitting areas in sun and in shade. The breakfast is good, the location is great and the people are really friendly. Thank you!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FScha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

Riad Malaika is well situated in the Medina but would be difficult to find without assistance. I would advise taking the offer of someone from the Riad meeting you, especially if you arrive by Supratours bus or you will be pounced upon at the bus terminal and fleeced when you arrive at the Riad unless you negotiate a price beforehand. 20 dirhams seems to be the going rate.
The Riad has been beautifully restored by the owners using traditional Moroccan decoration and furniture. The rooms are a good size and very clean with the additional welcome touch of fresh bottled water daily. The breakfast was freshly prepared and varied. There is an excellent spacious roof terrace with loungers, seating both open and covered with a well maintained water feature. The staff were not overly friendly but were always willing and helpful. The local boys can be noisy in the evenings playing football in the street but dont let this put you off as after 11pm it is very quiet. We received excellent communication from the owners before and after our stay at this lovely Riad and would recommend it to a friend.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yasawasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

After 2 days in Marrakesh we were delighted to get to this beautiful riad in the heart of Essaouira. An unrushed warm welcome with mint tea by Sylvie and Akim made us feel we were in the right place.
The communal areas in Malaika are tastefully and minimally furnished and the 2 rooms we occupied the same. Nice touches like bottled water, tissues, candles and incense show the attention to detail and care for guests.
There is also a lovely white/black roof terrace for a chilled evening drink.
Breakfast was great - proper coffee, fresh orange juice and tasty bread.
A big thanks to the lovely staff who made this an excellent 2 day break in an exciting little town.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gamestill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0 mi away
Riad Baladin
Riad Baladin
#7 of 75 in Essaouira
1,140 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#8 of 75 in Essaouira
852 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#2 of 75 in Essaouira
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#10 of 75 in Essaouira
283 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-
5.6 mi away
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
#13 of 75 in Essaouira
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Malaika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Malaika

Address: 17 Rue Zayan, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#8 Family Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range: £61 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Malaika 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Autantic Riad Xviii In Essaouira-morroco, Quiet In The Heart Of The Medina ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Riad Malaika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Malaika Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing