We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful riad, great value for money, highly recommended”
Review of Riad Malaika

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Malaika
Ranked #15 of 75 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2012

My boyfriend & I spent two nights in the Malaika at the end of March and were thrilled with the Riad.The room was spacious, clean and beautifully decorated and the roof terrace was lovely as well,

Location is fantastic; just off the main street, in the heart of the old town, with a lovely courtyard full of restaurants round the corner.

Of all the riads that we stayed thoughout our travels in Morocco we thought that the Riad Malaika was the most relaxing,calmest and certainly the best value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (834)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 834 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2012

For starter, booking with Dar Malaika was easy and fast. This riad is located almost in the heart of Essaouira's medina, with easy access by foot to all major spots, as well as to restaurants and souks.

We arrived by bus from Marrakech, and as you step out of bus, expect to be surrounded by somewhat pushy people offering you help with your luggage. Luckily, Dar Malaika's staff member was waiting for us with a cart, and took us for a relaxing and easy 10 min walk to riad.

Owners and staff are very welcoming, and we were greeted with smiles and, of course, delicious mint tea. Room was located on 2nd floor, just adequate in size, but wi-fi signal is poor. Bathroom is typical for riads. Breakfast is good, and offers both sweet and salty options.

To summarize: we had no objections of any kind. We enjoyed our one night stay in Dar Malaika, and would highly recommend it if you are planning to visit Essaouira. As a nice touch, few days after we came back home we have received 'thank you' e-mail from riad's owners. Very nice!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4LoveWillTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We stayed 2 nights in this lovely and tastefully decorated Riad, utilising 3 beautifully decorated and furnished rooms. The staff were very welcoming,cheerful and friendly giving us helpful advice in respect of where to visit and where to avoid and where to find the best bargains plus good recommendations for restaurants all of which was very much appreciated and put to good use! The Riad is situated in the heart of the old town but is a haven of tranquility within the hustle and bustle we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will return.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hezziehoohahum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

This is a wonderful Riad in the heart of Essaouira's old town. Extremely competent and friendly staff, perfect and wonderful installations. Make sure to take an upgrader category of rooms, they look like a palace. Also make sure to verify the Riad's exact location of a map before getting into the Old Town. Things are busy there.

Room Tip: Any room is great. But an upgraded room such as on the second floor will make you feel like living i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We only stayed one night but what a great place, rather hard to find but the staff are fantastic going above and beyond in so far as sorting out our bus tickets. We arrived to a great welcome drink and help from the host about the hidden gems and spots to avoid. The rooms and Riad are beautiful, spacious and opulent. Good breakfast and really nice foyer. Strongly reccommend

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bjdrsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

A lovely place to stay and all staff very helpful & friendly. We couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa_88_Devon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

The best riad we stayed at in Morocco. Very stylish, although some more green would be welcome. Service excellent and location best (very quiet alley in the middle of the action)

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lekker001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0 mi away
Riad Baladin
Riad Baladin
#8 of 75 in Essaouira
1,147 reviews
5.6 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
684 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#9 of 75 in Essaouira
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#12 of 75 in Essaouira
301 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#3 of 75 in Essaouira
548 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Maroc
Villa Maroc
#10 of 75 in Essaouira
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Malaika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Malaika

Address: 17 Rue Zayan, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#8 Family Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range: £61 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Malaika 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Autantic Riad Xviii In Essaouira-morroco, Quiet In The Heart Of The Medina ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Riad Malaika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Malaika Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing