We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One night in Malaika” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Malaika

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Malaika
Ranked #13 of 77 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“One night in Malaika”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Stayed here on the 9 October and it was very very nice. Lovely traditional room, excellent service and well located. If you want a western style hotel brand experience this is not for you but to give a flavour of tradition this is an excellent choice.

Room Tip: We had room 8 and it was excellent, did not see any of the other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mansehra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    633
    124
    21
    3
    4
See reviews for
118
435
43
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

My husband and I had planned on staying in Essaouira at Riad Malaika for only 1 night. But after 1 night in Marrakech we decided we wanted to be out of the city and weren't too keen on coming back at the end of our trip as originally planned. We LOVED Essaouira. Riad Malaika was very accomodating to our last minute requests and got us in for an extra night in the beginning. They didn't have availability in the riad on the 3rd night we wanted to stay, so instead they set us up in a riad home the owners also own right across the path from Riad Malaika. Both places were wonderful. The location is perfect! And the staff are incredibly kind and helpful. There was one young man (unfortunately I can't remember his name) who led us to a great place to buy Argon products and a wonderful place to have a massage. The riad is very clean and comfortable. And breakfast was delicious and plentiful. The only little nitpick is that if you're a really light sleeper, you may have a bit of trouble. Riad's by their architectural nature seem to carry sound.
We highly recommend Riad Malaika!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaceyHinkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Great location, set in a nice building, comfortable room. But could have better service. Didn't get the family atmosphere as the other riads that we stayed in Morocco. People are quite free to come in and out of the riad so some concerns about safety, although We didnt face any issues.
Funny experience when having tea... it was served in large soup bowls instead of a cup.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kakijalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed for five nights after Marrakech and it was ample for what we needed. Service was very good and they arranged hammams and massages at no hassle. A nice place to have a drink on the terrace or in the hotel with staff happy to help. Shower was a hand held one which was a nuisance and it was a little noisy at night. Overall a nice place but perhaps slightly overpriced.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly5388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

Riad malaika in itself is a nice place to stay, but the small things make it not worth the raving reviews I read. Rooms are spacious, nicely decorated, but on the other hand our room smelt a bit damp (they could use airco), the cold water tap wasn't working and the (very large!) bed was not entirely straight. In the morning you are woken up by the noise from the open kitchen downstairs. Staff is friendly. Also the windows are big enough to climb through, so couldn't leave them open during the day to let some air in. Wouldn't go again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wllmkstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

We selected Riad Malaika from Tripadvisor. Although people said good things about the riad, you never know until you get there. I am pleased to say that the experience was excellent from start to finish.
We had the junior suite, which I think is the only room in the riad with an outside view. The room suited us well with a bedroom, lounge, shower and separate toilet. The lounge has a fire place and two day beds so it makes a good family accommodation.
The room is advertised as having a terrace, which is a little misleading. The room adjoins a rooftop terrace that is for everyone in the hotel (i.e. not a private terrace). We had not special problems but the public terrace limits privacy at some times. A evening party on the terrace could be distracting.
You will not find nicer, more helpful people in Morocco than the staff at Riad Malaika. My wife is gluten intolerant. The cooks went out of their way to make special gluten-free breads and cakes for breakfast.
The riad serves dinner as well, if you ask in advance. The food is simple but well prepared and with nice touches.
Riad Malaika is located conveniently near the main square and harbour.Essaouira has loads of Riads; I am sure many are excellent. However, rest assured you will not be disappointed with the quality of this riad or the people that make excellent.

Room Tip: The junior suite has good natural light although it is located at the top of narrow, winding stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
Level Contributor
246 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 612 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

We spent 3 nights in Riad Malaika. I had chosen this riad based on the excellent reviews in tripadvisor.The room was beautiful and we were served delicious breakfast on the roof terrace.The Riad is located in a small, quiet alley, just a hundred yards both from the lively centre and the seashore. The interior design is stunning and tastefully decorated, clean and quiet.Great staff, lovely and extremely helpful.absolutely recommended!!!special thanks to the honor of the riad friendly french couple.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dtshura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
1.2 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#7 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#3 of 77 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Baladin
Riad Baladin
#9 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#21 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
5.4 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Maroc
Villa Maroc
#11 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Malaika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Malaika

Property: Riad Malaika
Address: 17 Rue Zayan, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#10 Family Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Malaika 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AUTANTIC RIAD XVIII IN ESSAOUIRA-MORROCO, QUIET IN THE HEART OF THE MEDINA ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Malaika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Malaika Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing