We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An oasis of calm” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Malaika

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Malaika
Ranked #13 of 77 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Crawley
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An oasis of calm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

Lovely riad with friendly and knowledgeable staff who were happy to point us in the direction and give us advice on where to eat :) comfortable, clean traditional looking room and a beautiful room top terrace for soaking up the rays in peace :) perfect

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank NinaC1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    633
    124
    21
    3
    4
See reviews for
118
435
43
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

The best stay of our holiday, and very memorable.

A warm welcome, a cool lobby, spotlessly clean and airy rooms, reliable WiFi, lovely roof terrace, and charming staff. And the food...it's really, seriously good. We ate there one night, the standard exceeds many very expensive restaurants in the UK, it was so beautiful it was a shame to eat it. All served with a smile and very well-matched wine.

The owners speak to you in person and ensure everything is OK. They are clearly doing something right as all their staff seem genuinely happy. And a special thank you to Abdullah, front of house, who ensured we had a great time in Essaouira.

A word of advice for anyone visiting Morocco with small children - riads are an experience not to be missed but are not very child friendly. We had to be super vigilant at all times as there were a few places were she could have had a fatal fall. That said, the owners of Riad Malaika have written to us (unbidden I might add - what a surprise!) to say that since our visit they were implementing a few things to make it safer for children.

Stay here, there's no point going anywhere else!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drjimmie1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
228 reviews
208 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

We were given clear instructions on how to find parking, and the lot was monitored, but somewhat expensive (40MAD per day). They sent someone with a hand cart to bring our bags up through the medina. They are located excellently, in the middle of the medina, but off on a side street, which is quieter. Easy walk to many restaurants, shopping and the seaside.

On entering this riad, you are struck by a fusion of modern white walls, with a Moroccan twist. Furnishings are minimalist, so doesn't really have that the profusion of Moroccan colour, texture and exhuberance. The central courtyard is quite small, with a decorative pool in the centre that could easily be stepped into. Ringing this are nooks with low seating, around low tables. Breakfast was a typical Moroccan breakfast.

Our bedroom was adequate for size, but spartan in furnishings. The bed was comfortable, and our room was quiet. Wifi worked well in room. The shower was a hand-held one, which is always difficult to get a good shower with. A simple wall-bracket would rectify this.... The roof terrace had a nice central fountain, with some minimalist plantings around it. But, this area wasn't very comfortable to relax in, as the cushions were quite gritty with salt spray.

Staff were friendly, and this riad was clean and well-kept.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelling_Axe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

I can't stress enough how friendly everyone was from the minute we entered the riad until we left.
They are sincerely warm and nice people and make you feel welcome at once.
We stayed in room No 7 which was absolutely beautiful but perhaps in need of some ventilation as it smelled a bit of damp.
The breakfast was served hot on the terrace and it was just delicious.
Essaouira is a magnificent place and Riad Malaika is the place to stay.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank martha82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavle, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Beautiful and peaceful riad with extremely nice and friendly staff, always there to help you. The lounge is beautiful and realxed with a sparkling fire every night. The rooms are guite small, but clean and the beds are alright. Make sure you have heat, because the nights gets cold.

The food at this place is FANTASTIC! Don´t miss to eat here! Breakfast is very good, and booth coffe and tea is good.

Location is very good, just a few steps from the main streets with all the shopping.

Magic Place to stay! And very affordable.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lill-Elsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

Riad Malaika is absolutely lovely. Everything - the friendly staff, the lovely interior and the cozyness of the "living room" downstairs - gave us the feeling to be at home! The breakfast was wonderful and they served every day a slightly different meal! All the people working there were so friendly, helped us with anything we needed (recommended us many great restaurants, SPAs, etc.) and served us tea even late at night. All in all we had a wonderful stay there and we will for sure come back on our next stay in Essaouira!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iloveparis4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
180 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

Although I have visited Morocco numerous times this was my first experience of staying in a Riad. My preference is for a purpose built hotel with all its practical advantages. So I have resisted the charm of a Riad. However if that is what you’re looking for Riad Malaika has charm by the sackload. The reason for the change of mind is that we wanted to stay in the Medina of Essaouira and that meant a Riad or similar accommodation. Hotels seem to be found only along the beach area which, in January, wasn’t appealing. Firstly the place is tricky to find. There is no motor traffic allowed in the Medina so the taxi from the CTM Bus Station dropped us at a gate by the city walls. My traveling companion is an Arabic speaker but he found it difficult to follow instructions but eventually someone actually took us there at the cost of a few dirhams. I think, if you contact the Riad in advance, they would meet you at the taxi stop with a handcart for your luggage and conduct you to the Riad. This is what they did (in reverse) when we left. Although it’s in a residential side street we realised the location is perfect, very close to the shopping streets and to the historic Marine Gate and ramparts of the Medina. From the street you enter a courtyard which is an atrium three stories high. It is charmingly furnished and surrounded by small lounge areas which also act as breakfast rooms. In one room there is a huge fireplace with a roaring wood fire which was very welcome as Winter evenings in Essouira can be very cold. My room was on the first floor which was just as well as the stairs are steep and the handrails, though beautifully crafted wrought iron, didn’t give me much support. My traveling companion’s room was on the second floor but he is younger and fitter than I am. My room was furnished in an antique Moroccan style with plenty of pierced metal lampshades which threw spider’s web shadows on the wall and created a romantic atmosphere. But the only place to sit was on the bed. Also there was no TV which I assume is de rigeur in Riads. The keynote colour of my room was red and my bathroom was a riot of red, orange and black mosaic tiles. My friend’s room was black and white and his bathroom was entirely black including the lavatory pan! We both had a bedroom window onto the street and a small window in the bathroom which acted as an air vent. I mention these because many of the rooms have bedroom and bathroom windows that open onto the interior balcony so, if they were left open, anyone passing by could look in. And who could resist doing that. Not me for a start. However these rooms were much larger than mine and were furnished with armchairs and tables as well as beds. I would recommend trying to book room No. 5 which has all the advantages. It’s on the first floor but has windows onto the street. It is large and furnished like a bedsitting room and the bathroom is in a relaxing blue and white colour scheme. The breakfasts are delicious and I was impressed that by prior arrangement we were given a full breakfast at 6.30 am on the day we were leaving. Finally there is a roof terrace. There’s no view as such except nearby roofs with satellite dishes and washing hanging on the line but I imagine it would be pleasant to sit out there in the Summer.

Room Tip: Ask for No. 5. The reason is explained in my review
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
1.2 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#7 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#3 of 77 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Baladin
Riad Baladin
#9 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#20 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
5.4 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Maroc
Villa Maroc
#11 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Malaika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Malaika

Property: Riad Malaika
Address: 17 Rue Zayan, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#10 Family Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Malaika 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AUTANTIC RIAD XVIII IN ESSAOUIRA-MORROCO, QUIET IN THE HEART OF THE MEDINA ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Riad Malaika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Malaika Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing