We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolute gem-worth the long journey just to return here”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Riad Malaika

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Malaika
Ranked #14 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Absolute gem-worth the long journey just to return here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Stayed here 3 nights in April with my husband. This was our favorite riad out of 4 that we stayed in during our trip to Morocco. Truly wonderful place with incredible staff. This riad is located less than 10 minute walk to the fish stalls and views from the old fort. About a 15 minute walk to the beach. Perfect location and very quiet. Our room was charming and our bathroom the most beautiful of all we had. Only complaint was lack of pillows-had to request extra. The tilework throughout the riad was just too too much. We had breakfast on the rooftop every morning and I can't imagine a better way to start the day. (do leave a tip because many steps to bring a heavy tray) The rooftop was a lovely place to unwind. Requested beers and enjoyed those with olives up there as well. In the evening a fire roars on the ground floor in the casual dining area and takes the chill off the sea air. Do stay here while in Essaouira!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ak C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    635
    124
    21
    3
    4
See reviews for
119
436
43
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed three nights at Riad Malaika and from the moment we stepped through the door we were transported to another time and era. The inside of the riad is decorated in glorious art deco with comfortable sitting areas throughout. We had a junior suit which was superb with a wonderful bathroom, including bath, direct access to the roof terraces and a comfortable bed.

The staff were helpful and the food delicious. Everyone should experience the splendour of Riad Malaika!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wellington547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

The Riad is set in the heart of the suks,a porter service is available with a traditional push cart.We had the top floor suite & it's just beautiful .The manager was very helpful,& breakfast was continental with a Moroccan style,it was served to our room.I would highly recommend this Riad & Essaouira is just beautiful ,interesting & lovely people make this a little unspoilt gem that still seems unspoilt by masses of tourists, the beach is gorgeous ,miles of flat pure sand, it's a favourite for kite surfers.

Room Tip: It's only small however all the rooms are lovely & of great size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

We booked this Riad for a longer period than most - so had plenty of opportunity to find out what the Riad is really like! It maintained high standards throughout our lengthy stay - always friendly, attentive and helpful. The staff were charming and very hard-working. Sylvie, the owner, spent time there each day and always gave time to chatting with guests - often offering mint tea as well. The breakfasts rotated with about 4 variations. The dinner, prepared by Miloud and Amina, was really excellent. I was able to visit the market with Abdou - collect the ingredients (conger eel for my delicious fish tagine, chicken, vegetables and olives) and then watch and discuss the cooking. Amina's dessert looked like something from Masterchef! I am thankful also for the Riad's recommendation of Chez Yassine (just up the alley) where I was able to have my wonderful fresh purchases from the fish market grilled. Last but not least, the decor of this Riad was lovely! Our room was on the second floor and was attractive and bright with two external windows. Thank you Malaika!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rimpsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
108 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Great location, in the middle of the medina. Everything is easily reachable, on foot. Very nice, friendly staff. They do their best to make the stay unforgettable.

We also had dinner in the Riad which was very good.

Highly recommended!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LarsKolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

Lovely riad with friendly and knowledgeable staff who were happy to point us in the direction and give us advice on where to eat :) comfortable, clean traditional looking room and a beautiful room top terrace for soaking up the rays in peace :) perfect

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank NinaC1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

The best stay of our holiday, and very memorable.

A warm welcome, a cool lobby, spotlessly clean and airy rooms, reliable WiFi, lovely roof terrace, and charming staff. And the food...it's really, seriously good. We ate there one night, the standard exceeds many very expensive restaurants in the UK, it was so beautiful it was a shame to eat it. All served with a smile and very well-matched wine.

The owners speak to you in person and ensure everything is OK. They are clearly doing something right as all their staff seem genuinely happy. And a special thank you to Abdullah, front of house, who ensured we had a great time in Essaouira.

A word of advice for anyone visiting Morocco with small children - riads are an experience not to be missed but are not very child friendly. We had to be super vigilant at all times as there were a few places were she could have had a fatal fall. That said, the owners of Riad Malaika have written to us (unbidden I might add - what a surprise!) to say that since our visit they were implementing a few things to make it safer for children.

Stay here, there's no point going anywhere else!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drjimmie1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
1.2 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#8 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Baladin
Riad Baladin
#9 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,098 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#4 of 74 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#20 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
5.6 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Malaika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Malaika

Property: Riad Malaika
Address: 17 Rue Zayan, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#10 Family Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Malaika 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AUTANTIC RIAD XVIII IN ESSAOUIRA-MORROCO, QUIET IN THE HEART OF THE MEDINA ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Riad Malaika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Malaika Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing