We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very modern riad, felt like you were in a trendy bar”
Review of Riad Malaika

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Malaika
Ranked #14 of 75 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2010

Lovely, well put together place right in the centre of Essouria. Friendly staff and lovely accommodation. A little on the noisy side but really cool seating area. Great base for exploring Essouria.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kitdeluca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (831)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

385 - 391 of 831 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2010

I stayed in Riad Malaika for 5 nights in mid May 2010. We picked this Riad because of the wonderful reviews on Trip Advisor and we weren’t disappointed. We were made to feel at home from the outset and were welcomed with refreshing mint tea and oranges sprinkled with cinnamon. The whole Riad is beautifully decorated, there is great attention to detail and everyday I would notice another subtle touch. It is also a very happy place with the gorgeous breakfast delivered every morning with a smile and a "Bonjour ".
Unfortunately during a stroll along the city walls on the morning we were due to leave I tripped and cut my face but I am sure I could not have been in a better place, the entire staff were so attentive and caring and Sylvie and Piermark’s reaction was to invite us to stay an extra night. Thank you for a wonderful stay and I would wholeheartedly recommend this Riad.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FEPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2010

A beautifully and authetically restored Riad nested in a quiet street of the busy Medina in the beautiful town of Essaouira. We stayed in a recently renovated suite with windows opening on a big roof terrace.The room was very comfortable and the decoration was done with much taste with a classical moroccan style. I Loved the added bonus of having the little Nespresso machine in our suite !
All this comfort and beauty are here to garanty a comfortable stay under Morocan style. However what truly makes Riad Malaika special is the warmth of his staff.They look after each guest in a friendly yet professional manner .This is no doubt in line with the owner's style -Sylvie and her husband - who welcomed us like their own family from the moment of the booking until the departure day.They take the time to talk to guests and listen to their stories or questions and give them great recommendation.No effort was spared to make our stay extraorinnary and left us with lifetime memories.Thank You for a magical time.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarinAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2010

Very nice riad. We got upgraded to the roof top level suite for our honeymoon. The only downside was there a lot of stairs to climb to the top so don't book the rooftop if you are unfit! Breakfast was fine but could have done with some fresh fruit, yoghurt or eggs. The location is excellent and the owners are a lovely couple. A fantastic place to spend a few days in essaouria.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donkeycram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2010

This Riad is just wonderful. We called one day before our arrival, and let the management know that we would be coming to the bus station, and there was someone waiting for us to help with luggage and find the Riad! It was so helpful, and made traveling so pleasant. Upon arrival we were given mint tea and oranges sprinkled with cinnamon. They have Mac laptops with wireless internet available to use for the guests, which was very convenient. They gave us a map, and great recommendations on where to eat. The staff is just great.

The accomodations were clean and the rooms were cute. Breakfasts were included and yummy crepes with jams and coffee/tea/O.J. They speak English, which was helpful to my travel partner and I, and everyone was just so friendly. I would recommend this place to family and friends 100%.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JordanClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2010

Stunning new riad - our room was the best and largest we had in Morocco. We even had a fire place. Sylvie was lovely and Hakim was a wonder man. Unfortunately we had only one night there.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skhs75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2010

We chose to stay at Riad Malaika after reading other excellent reviews and wish to add to what has already been said about the riad. It more than lived up to my expectations! from the beautiful ground floor open spaces to the rooms there is an attention to detail and style which is just lovely. it's not style over comfort however and were very happy with our twin room (up two twisty staircases) We were made very welcome by the riad owners and all their staff. It's well located in the heart of the Essaouira medina and easy to find (when you've been shown once!) wholeheartedly recommended and I wish the riad the success it deserves.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunnyJReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0 mi away
Riad Baladin
Riad Baladin
#7 of 75 in Essaouira
1,146 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#4 of 75 in Essaouira
543 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#9 of 75 in Essaouira
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
679 reviews
7.9 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#12 of 75 in Essaouira
289 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Malaika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Malaika

Address: 17 Rue Zayan, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#8 Family Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range: £59 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Malaika 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Autantic Riad Xviii In Essaouira-morroco, Quiet In The Heart Of The Medina ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Riad Malaika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Malaika Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing