We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great team”
Review of Riad Malaika

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Malaika
Ranked #13 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
France
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great place, great team”
Reviewed 12 October 2010

We've seen a lot of riads (and restaurants and hotels) in Morocco that leave a lot to be desired - and some great ones. This is one of the great ones.

Dynamic young couple, great service and a LOT of attention to detail. It makes all the difference.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bren_KFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    650
    127
    23
    4
    4
See reviews for
121
448
45
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2010

Arrived tired after a 3 hour bus journey from Marrakech. Piermark and Sylvie warmly welcomed us into their riad. Hakim served us mint tea and slices of fresh oranges with cinnamon and gave us a map and information on Essaouira. We had a lovely surprise as Sylvie and Piermark had arranged for us to have to roof terrace room which was amazing. Thank you both.
The breakfast was superb. The riad is very cool and relaxing and the roof terrace is lovely. You can look over the rooftops of the area.
I admired Sylvie's outfit one day (very Vivienne Westwood) and she told me that I could get one made up that day and it would be ready the next. Wow!
I would definitely stay there again as it was very central and easy to find. Hakim was very helpful and charming.
Thank you Sylvie and Piermark for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank llany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copacabana, Bolivia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2010

This was a wonderful place to stay Sylvie and her staff were so hospitable they made us feel like staying longer.The Riad was so stylishly furnished we were impressed with the decor and the stories behind where their treasures came from.The beds and room were comfortable ,the breakfast excellent.I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank berna_ric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2010

Riad Malaika is a beautiful place in a beautiful setting. Unfortunately my wife was ill and we were troubled by the busy activity of our neighbours. No problem. Sylvie upgraded us to the best room in the house isolated from everything but the sound of the sea and the muezzin. And then did not charge us extra. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the hosts generosity.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidtoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2010

THIS riad is realey close to all that is going on in essaouira,
the owners and staff are realey nice and helpfull.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dockerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2010

We stayed in the suite next to the roof-top terrace and the only problem we experienced was the construction going on in the terrace, which woke us up early in the morning. The staircase was very steep but fortunately the staff at the riad took care of our baggage so it wasn't a problem. We were welcomed with tea and fresh fruit and everyone was very nice and warm to us during our stay. Our room was really spacious and decorated in a very tasteful style. It had everything we needed, including a Nespresso machine and a mini bar. The internet connection was fast and reliable. Breakfast was really good too. Overall we had a great stay and I would consider this place again if I were to return to Essaouira.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2010

Kind, helpful staff, very clean, beautifully restored, really good substantial breakfast

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry7899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
7.9 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#16 of 74 in Essaouira
216 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#7 of 74 in Essaouira
814 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#3 of 74 in Essaouira
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
627 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
5.6 mi away
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
#8 of 74 in Essaouira
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Malaika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Malaika

Property: Riad Malaika
Address: 17 Rue Zayan, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#10 Family Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Malaika 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Autantic Riad Xviii In Essaouira-morroco, Quiet In The Heart Of The Medina ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Malaika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Malaika Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing