We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Riad”
Review of Riad Amana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Amana
Ranked #79 of 179 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 October 2011

From start to finish our stay at the Riad Amana couldn't have been better. Christine organised us to be collected from Marrakech Airport by a lovely driver & an even lovelier price. She organised restaurants & was always very informative/helpful. The Riad is spotless, Fatima and the young girls were always so helpful. Breakfast was always very fillings and the communal eating was a nice way to get to know the other guests. I would highly recommend a stay at this Riad.

Room Tip: If you are want to be in bed before 10pm don't stay in Safran. Bob's Bar downstairs has mus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FionaNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2011

This is a great little place to stay. The room was very tastefully decorated, and the host was very helpful and friendly. It was close to everything and the breakfast was simple and delicious.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katecameback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Booked this hotel, while I was in marakesh for 4 days where I had very good time with my friend. We arrived to this place. First it is hard to find, even for me as Moroccan living in USA, we have been told that the room we reserved does not have private bathroom. I told the woman in front desk that website we booked from booking.com does not states that room does not have private bathroom, while we were leaving the place, the woman stated, I have one room with private bathroom, but you have to pay extra 10 euro. Since it was late afternoon we felt we did not have choice. Place it is not clean, shower water not warm and stream not continues. I have been all over the places in europe/ asia/ latin America, Egypt, turkey ....this the worst place we 've ever been. Can you believe that the owner brought hotel bill at 01:00 pm. Worker lack professionalism and experience, you could tell, limited English/french spoken here. I expressed my disappointment to the owner and the woman in front desk, they were not friendly at all, we left this hotel early morning next day. By the way this place does not accept credit card which they don't tell you when you book the hotel. I know y now, b/c they know that you will cancel and ask for a refund when u arrive this hotel. Please save your money and go somewhere else and learn from my mistake. I wish someone has warned me before.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicemood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riadamana, Gérant at Riad Amana, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2011

I' m sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay at Essaouira .
The Room that you had choised has no bathroom ,thats is right, but it is wrotten on the website of booking.com , you can check it .
I suppose that you have choised it only for the cheap price .
The housekeeper has been very kind to ask you only 10 euros more , because the suite that she has given to you should coast more .
About the property , I think that you are the first guest who complain , and I can affirm that it is one of our more important way.
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We spent only one night here--after 3 in Marrakech, and then one in Safi. To do it again, we'd stay an extra night or two. This was a nice Riad all around. The rooms were very spacious compared to our other 2 riads. The decor in the rooms and common areas was very pretty--local decorations. We had a couscous dinner which was very large, and tasty. The staff were very friendly. The location was great--in the medina right near the souks. The souk was very laid back compared to Marrakech and fun to walk around, esp at night when many locals poured into the area for shopping. Use GPS to find the location, it didn't show correctly on the map on booking.com. The only negative is that there is some street noise at night. Not bad, but a little, as there are windows on either side. The family all slept well however.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

It was our first trip to Morocco and Essaouria and we couldn't of picked a better place to stay. The Riad is in a great location near to everything, it was clean and comfortable and beautifully decorated with a really homely feel to it. The French couple who run the place were friendly and jovial and very helpful, spoke good English and we felt so welcome. Breakfast (included) was served in a lovely dining room by a lovely Moroccan lady who always made us laugh with her little jokes each morning! Overall it had a very chilled out atmosphere and the people were great! We thought it was good value for money and we would definitely come back and recommend to friends.
Natalie and Robert from London (June 2011)

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tillytat40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

large light spacious room, big bed and bathroom in a great location, but the best thing about the riad is the lady who runs it.

though she spoke only a little english and we spoke only a little french, she could not have been sweeter or more welcoming. very friendly and helpful and rustled up a decent breakfast too

Room Tip: the top room is the largest w direct terrace acces
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reins76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2010

Lovely riad in a very good location in the centre of the Essaouria Medina. We stayed in the Pamplemousse suite, which is very nice apart from the lack of an ensuite toilet, which we were not aware of at the time of booking. The fact that the toilet was two floors down and seems to double as a toilet for other guests as well did not improve the general impression. Staff seemed friendly but did not speak a single word of English, so make sure you brush off your French (or Arabic), although the owner, when present, was very fluent in English. It is a bit loud due to the big empty space in the centre of the riad, but this is common for all riads. Overall, a nice riad but I can't recommend the Pamplemousse suite due to the toilet.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Max186470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Le Grand Large
Riad Le Grand Large
#42 of 75 in Essaouira
198 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Sidi Magdoul
Riad Sidi Magdoul
#33 of 75 in Essaouira
255 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Garance
Villa Garance
#15 of 75 in Essaouira
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Malaika
Riad Malaika
#13 of 75 in Essaouira
821 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Etoile d'Essaouira
Riad Etoile d'Essaouira
#43 of 75 in Essaouira
98 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
#18 of 75 in Essaouira
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Amana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Amana

Address: 14. Rue Khader Ghailane, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 179 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range: £20 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Riad Amana 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Riad Amana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing