We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hostel”
Review of Riad Zelaka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Zelaka
Ranked #42 of 75 Hotels in Essaouira
Reviewed 18 October 2012 via mobile

Riad just inside the medina, but in a quiet part, near one of the gates. The riad is very light inside, has nice rooms and has a terrace on the roof. The breakfast is good with fresh juice. I would recommend this riad to friends!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mvermeire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2012

I stayed here for three nights with my boyfriend. As soon as we entered we were taken care of and nothing was too much trouble. Stephan even walked us to some local restaurants (which were lovely) to show us where we could go for lunch as we were starving. The riad is beautiful and our room was lovely. The riad is very clean and the breakfast is delicious. We left very early and they provided us with a breakfast to take with us which was very kind of them.

I would definitely recommend this riad and would go back to stay there!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riadzelaka, Propriétaire at Riad Zelaka, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2012

Merci Liz ,

see you soon ... inch'allah

Stephane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

I had the best time ever at Riad Zelaka. From the moment you enter, you feel the positive energy all over the place. A beautiful, cozy, warm place, very close from everything. Rooms are all so beautiful and clean that it's hard to choose which one to take. Laure and Hasna, the riad team, are extremely friendly, helpful and always smiling. The riad has also a breathtaking terrasse where you can enjoy your meals. If you want to enjoy Essaouira, go nowhere else but Riad Zelaka!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 770SarahB90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

My girlfriend and I found Riad Zelaka through tripadvisor and chose to stay there because it looked great and had wonderful reviews. As soon as we arrived we knew we had made the right decision.

The Riad was easily found - it was a short walk from from the enterance to Essaouira's Medina (very near to the supratours bus station if you are travelling from Marrakech). Our bus from marrakech was delayed so we arrived in Essaouira later than expected and were worried that we would not find a place to eat so late. Laure (our hostess) arranged for a local restaurant to stay open for us and so we were able to settle into our room before heading off to have a lovely dinner.

Our room was really lovely. There were traditional Moroccan elements combined with a modern simplicity that made the room feel warm and welcoming. The bed was comfortable and large there was loads of storage space for clothing and the bathroom was gorgeously decorated (we loved the brass sink and the walk in shower)!

The Riad itself is beautiful. We ate our delicious breakfasts in the court yard surrounded by plants with sun streaming through from the terrace. The terrace is the perfect place to relax and catch some sun on the loungers as it is sheltered from the wind. The Riad's pets - Snoop the dog and Mimoun the cat - were adorable!

We were looked after so well by Laure and Hisham. They gave us great advice on where to go in Essaouira and what to do! Hisham dropped us off and collected us from the restaurant on the first night when we did not know our way around. This was much appreciated because it was very late and the twisting side roads of Essaouira would have had us lost for sure. On one of the days we stayed, Laure took us to one of her favourite places to eat which was off the tourist trail where we enjoyed traditional Moroccan family cooking.

On our final day in Essaouira we went on a camel excursion on the beach. We felt like we had been over charged. Upon hearing this Laure phoned up the company organising the excursions and organised a refund for us. This was typical of the way in which Laure went out of her way to ensure we had the perfect stay (which we did!).

Despite us not speaking French or Arabic very well we found it easy and enjoyable to communicate with Laure and Hisham who were very patient with us. It also was a great way of getting to know the language better. We thought the language barrier would have been a problem but we cannot express strongly enough how this was not the case!

We really enjoyed our stay in Essaouira. The Medina was beautiful, the Souk was exciting and the beach and port were stunning!

We can't wait to come back to Essaouira and we will definitely be staying in Riad Zelaka again as we couldn't have hoped for anything more from the Riad and its hostess!

Laure, Merci beaucoup pour notre séjour fantastique!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

A riad not advertised in the Rough Guide and found on trip advisor. We had three days in Essaouria and were very pleased with our stay in Riad Zelaka.

Location wise - perfect! Very easy to find from the Supratours bus station if you have a simple street plan of the Medina. The Medina in small and so everywhere is accessible - 10mins to the beach and 10mins to the cafes & restaurants.

The service was excellent from Amina and Hasna - breakfast was good! Rooms cleaned every day. Helpful tips/advice for Essaouira. Laure, the owner was there during our stay,speaks little English but was very welcoming and served-up a delicious grilled fish dinner for ourselves and another group on our second night.

Very good value for money.

The acoustics of Riad's is such that noise travels well - only a problem if other parties are using communal areas late into the night. Just take your ear-plugs (though I would advise this wherever you stay in Morocco!).

Room Tip: Room 5 was good - window facing outwards gives a little more light than those just facing into the R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobbajob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

I spent a great time at Riad Zelaka with its very nice team, Laure, Hasna and Amina. They are very friendly and always ready to help. Very good food and rooms are comfortable. It is right in the Medina close to Bab Marrakech, so it's very close to everything.
If you come to Essaouira, that is the place to stay!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corinne l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We booked our 5 nights through booking.com knowing it could have been a risk but it was totally not! The position is great (2 minutes by a car parking outside the medina where you'll find moroccans ready to help with luggages with their small charettes for few coins and at less than 10 minutes from the centre of the medina. 10 minutes to reach the sea), the rooms were clean and spacious. Great breakfast and they also cook dinner on request, great as well.
The only pity is that none there speak good english so sometimes it could take a little time to understand each other but they are so friendly & helpful that you will not care.
Wonderful days.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luges5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.2 mi away
Essaouira Wind Palace
Essaouira Wind Palace
#31 of 75 in Essaouira
115 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Al Zahia
Riad Al Zahia
#26 of 75 in Essaouira
326 reviews
0 mi away
Riad Hotel Emeraude
Riad Hotel Emeraude
#36 of 75 in Essaouira
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Riad Dar Etto
Riad Dar Etto
#2 of 2 in Ghazoua
34 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dar Al Bahar
Dar Al Bahar
#35 of 75 in Essaouira
186 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
#17 of 75 in Essaouira
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Zelaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Zelaka

Address: 9 Rue Zelaka, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 75 Hotels in Essaouira
Price Range: £37 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Riad Zelaka 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and HostelWorld so you can book your Riad Zelaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing