We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastico!!”
Review of Villa Daba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Daba
Ranked #22 of 75 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Had an amazing time with my son and husband at this lovely villa!! Bernadette and Didier spoiled us with their amazing cuisine and warmth smiles!! Our room was beautiful, the whole place is decorated with attention to detail. Absolutely loved it!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eliana O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 266 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2012

We stayed here for three days and the one regret from our holiday is we didn't spend the whole week here..The place is amazing..lovely room..and fantastic pool / sunbathing area. Didier is an amazing chef...we ate at the villa every morning and night...fresh fish..tajines..you name it Dider can create something special with it. Bernadette and Dider can't do enough for you..they are the perfect hosts and the whole house is decorated beautifully..We would definitely return here for a holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grueben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Thanks so much to Bernadette and Didier. We arrived in Essaouira from Marrakech in June and had 5 very relaxing and entertaining nights. Our hosts were great - always joking with us - and particularly make a big effort to help my fiancee who was quite unwell and nearly did not make the trip at all.

It was a great decision for her to take a gamble because she recovered quickly at Villa Daba from the hot breezy days by the lovely pool and the peaceful nights on the top deck of the hotel with our little cabana just outside the door and under the stars. It should be noted that Bernadette and Didier are excellent cooks also, serving up dishes out of a French and Moroccan taste (at a very reasonable value also). We had some great meals by the pool and in the beautifully decorated house itself. Bernadette makes excellent home made jams and Didier knew all about preparing lobsters and thresher shark tagines (amazing dish - get him to cook the latter). I most of all enjoyed planning and discussing the day's Euro 2012 football matches with Didier - at the time of writing England and France were both doing well!

And a special shout goes out to Muhammad. I think he is becoming something of a celebrity on Trip Advisor. Just a really nice, always looking to your needs with a big smile on his face (careful your other half doesn't get smitten guys).

In short, this is a highly recommended hotel whose appeal is attributed to the lovely people who run the place. And of course the pool and food as mentioned. Enjoy!

Ps. visit Sidi Kaouki 10 minutes from the hotel and go to the hippyish surf shack off to the left with good beers, calamari and sunset views of camels and pro kite surfers on a huge Atlantic beach - great owners there too. Also highly recommended is the traditional meat and vegetable market about 10 minutes inland on the road to Marrakech and open once a week - much less touristy than in Essaoira itself. And of course the town of Essaoira itself for good fish and nice shopping (10 minutes from Villa Daba by car).

Room Tip: Not sure which is the best room but Lambarene was great and has the cabana under the stars as mentio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T6455WYdanielp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We have been here at the beginning of march, the weather was beautiful and sunny and the countryside of Essaouira much warmer and wind-protected than Esaaouira itself!
Villa Daba is a very pleasant place and my daughter (2 and a half), my girlfriend and I spent a wonderful week, also thanks the warm care of Bernadette, Didier, Mohammed and Aicha.
We could easily swimm in the heated, lovely pool (which was still pretty cold) and enjoy the sun on the splendid terrace of the room.
For our daughter, Moumous, the small, well-educted dog, was the highlight of the stay, together of course with the simmingpool and with the turtles which sunbathe in the garden.
The place is easy to reach: On the route d'Agadir, at the km 8, close before the village of Ghasoua, you take a small "piste" and, after about 2 km, you get there.
Lovely!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hilger V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

The first time was wonderful, and the second time (but not last!) was fantastic! Our group from age 80 to 13 all loved the atmosphere created by Bernadette and Dider and their kind staff.
Breafast to sie for, drinks by the pool, massage to die for, lunch.....nap....and then a dinner most people cannot eat at a Guide Michelin xxx rest. On Top of everything they arranged a dromedar trip, quad dito etc.
WE WILL BE BACK!

Room Tip: All rooms are great. And no room look the same,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sacw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Hidden behind walls a few miles down a dirt track, lies the Shangri-la of Villa Daba. A boutique hotel in the nicest sense of the word this is the place to unwind, relax and enjoy culinary delights away from it all. The proprietors Didier and Bernadette have left nothing to chance in the exquisite and original design of each room or suite and public areas. Once you step inside Villa Daba, you are embraced by the most wonderful warmth and hospitality imaginable and you find yourself not a guest, but a friend of everyone in the staff whose single pleasure in life, it seems, is to cater to your every need.

Villa Daba is a secluded, small hotel, without the glitz, action and buzz of a large resort. And thank God for that. You come here to enjoy the tranqulity and hospitality of a family owned maison d'hôte, to relax by the cool pool with a glass of wine or to take a relaxing massage from the highly professional masseuse.

From daybreak to nightfall, you can enjoy a truly delicious cuisine, with colorful and delicious breakfasts, lunches and dinners, often influenced by Didier's interest in les fruits de mer and fishing. Try the lobster, for example, the best by far that anyone of our well-travelled group has ever had.

Didier will arrange activities for your group if you like and all the contacts he artranged for us, were of the highest quality and well worth their while.

Departing, very reluctantly after three nights, tears were shed and promises of meeting again soon exchanged. I miss it a lot.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Morris2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Our hosts and their staff were very friendly and welcoming. The room was large, tastefully furnished and clean. The food was excellent. The pool was very nice, and we also enjoyed playing table tennis and boules. The site as a whole was very well presented.
On the minus side, the villa is 2km along an unmade stoney road. This may put some people off. If you don't speak any French communication may be a bit of a problem.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilGameson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villadaba, Propriétaire at Villa Daba, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2016
Google Translation

Merci d'avoir pris le temps de ce gentil commentaire qui nous aide à avancer.
Au plaisir de vous revoir
Bernadette et Didier, Aïcha et Momo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
8.5 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#11 of 75 in Essaouira
284 reviews
0.5 mi away
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
#13 of 75 in Essaouira
443 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#8 of 75 in Essaouira
852 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
5.1 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Daba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Daba

Address: BP 164 Douar El Ghazoua | km8 route d'Agadir, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 75 Hotels in Essaouira
Price Range: £56 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Daba 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Villa Daba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing