We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic place to stay”
Review of Villa Daba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Daba
Ranked #21 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Over a 10 day period we travelled a lot through Morocco and spent 3 nights at the Villa Daba. Didier & Bernadette where fantastic hosts & their staff were very helpful. The rooms where great & the out door space fantastic each room with its own private outdoor area. The garden & pool were lovely, food excellent at breakfast & evening meal. We really enjoyed our stay here it was a perfect tranquil place to spend a few days with our children.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Montblanctreks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    19
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
87
107
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Didier David and his wife, Bernadette couldn't be nicer. Didier is a French chef, whose specialty is fish. WOW! We've eaten at any number of Michelin 3 star restaurants mulitple times from Renne Lasserre, LeDoyen, Le Tour D'Argent in Paris, Paul Bocuse outside of Lyon to the Hotel de Ville in Crissier (Freddie Girardet's fabulous restaurant). Didier can cook. it won't qualify as a Michelin Star restaurant but WOW!

Room Tip: downstairs has better internet (we had no access from our room) but the balcony has better views and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swisscoach1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This place is amazing. Very recommended if you just need to completely relax in amazing and very familiar surroundings. I still thinks about those great dinners we all had together. Thanks for hosting us,

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sofieneble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fitjar
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

we spent 1 night, but after checking in mid afternoon, we didn`t bother to go out again........ and we ate there as well........ peaceful, beautifully done, nice dog, lots of little private spaces scattered about, flowers, nice pool, thick towels and comfy loungers........
Evening meal was wonderful.......that man can cook!
Not quite sure about the themed bedrooms.......don`t know why they did it?? Rest of villa is so tasteful, and beautifully done.........
As an early riser, I wasn`t too happy about late breakfast, 8am, but they left a flask of coffee for me......it wasn`t hot at 6.30am, but contained caffeine, and was OK...... but maybe simple coffee making equipment in each room???

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank henross61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Villa Daba is a really special place. Didier and Bernadette have made it an absolutely beautiful place to spend time. They have fantastic taste, their welcome is warm, the place is spotlessly clean and the pool is superb.
The breakfast is good and you can choose to pay 18 euros for a superb 3 course dinner with wine extra. We did on one of our two nights there. We particularly liked that everyone eats together so we got to know 2 couples from France and Norway.
The prices are comparable with western prices, they look at little steep compared to Moroccan prices, but the quality of the accomodation is second to none.
Its some way down a rough track - around 8km from Essaouria not particularly near any facilities which means you need a car or are heavily dependent on taxis. However I understand the road will be asphalted in the spring 2014 which will be a big improvement.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

It was wonderful relaxing by the pool after being in hectic Marrakech for 4 nights. We had a beautiful room - Jaipur on1st floor which looked out over the pool. The owners we lovely Didier spoke little English but we always managed to communicate effectively so that was not an issue. The food was delicious and breakfast was great too. We did not have a car but that didn't matter as it was nice to stay by the pool. We visited the old town twice, if you've been to Marrakech it's exactly the same but smaller! The taxi ride isn't too expensive but the road is quite bumpy and some taxi drivers weren't too happy about it but do not let that put you off.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E11a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed one night at Villa Daba but we could have easily stayed longer. The villa is really beautiful with lovely gardens, a pool and charmingly decorated rooms that were very clean and tidy. Bernadette and Didier were fantastic hosts making us feel completely at home, welcome and part of the family while also allowing us lots of privacy. Their cooking was absolutely brilliant, some of the best food we had on our trip! Would love to go back and would recommend to anyone. We had rented a car.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.5 mi away
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
#8 of 74 in Essaouira
423 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
610 reviews
8.5 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#20 of 74 in Essaouira
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Le Jardin des Douars
Le Jardin des Douars
#6 of 74 in Essaouira
789 reviews
4.4 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#7 of 74 in Essaouira
788 reviews
2.3 mi away
Tangaro Auberge & Spa
Tangaro Auberge & Spa
#37 of 74 in Essaouira
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Daba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Daba

Property: Villa Daba
Address: BP 164 Douar El Ghazoua | km8 route d'Agadir, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Daba 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Daba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing