We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our week at villa daba”
Review of Villa Daba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Daba
Ranked #21 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“our week at villa daba”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

myself my partner and our three teenagers spent a week here in july, the villa was beautifully decorated, everything was really tasteful, the setting is lovely, the pool was great and its really peaceful. Bernadette and Didier were completely delightful and Didier is full of local knowledge, his recommendations for restaurants in Essasouria and in surrounding villages were spot on. The hosts cook what looked like fantastic evening meals but we couldn't afford them as there were 5 of us, if it had just been me and my partner we would have partook! Theeir staff are lovely too, really polite and caring.
You will need a car if staying here as its about 6k from the centre of Essasouria which must be visted as really charming place with wonderful souks and lovely people

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucier27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    19
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
87
107
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I find it difficult to write this review as, it would be great to keep Villa Daba a secret place to ourselves! We met a wonderful group of people at Villa Daba and spent great two night sitting around a great big table eating fantastic food, drinking wonderful wine and the management were so friendly to us and our children. The pool is just lovely also and perfect for families with children - the management were not precious about the hotel at all, so as long as the children were reasonably well behaved - then they had the run of the Villa until late into the evening. Our children ( 9 & 10) met two others of the same age and they build 'card houses' and 'cities from bolded sweets' on the porch floor until past midnight. We will definitely return to Villa Daba some day.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trait1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Over a 10 day period we travelled a lot through Morocco and spent 3 nights at the Villa Daba. Didier & Bernadette where fantastic hosts & their staff were very helpful. The rooms where great & the out door space fantastic each room with its own private outdoor area. The garden & pool were lovely, food excellent at breakfast & evening meal. We really enjoyed our stay here it was a perfect tranquil place to spend a few days with our children.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Montblanctreks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Didier David and his wife, Bernadette couldn't be nicer. Didier is a French chef, whose specialty is fish. WOW! We've eaten at any number of Michelin 3 star restaurants mulitple times from Renne Lasserre, LeDoyen, Le Tour D'Argent in Paris, Paul Bocuse outside of Lyon to the Hotel de Ville in Crissier (Freddie Girardet's fabulous restaurant). Didier can cook. it won't qualify as a Michelin Star restaurant but WOW!

Room Tip: downstairs has better internet (we had no access from our room) but the balcony has better views and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swisscoach1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This place is amazing. Very recommended if you just need to completely relax in amazing and very familiar surroundings. I still thinks about those great dinners we all had together. Thanks for hosting us,

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sofieneble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fitjar
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

we spent 1 night, but after checking in mid afternoon, we didn`t bother to go out again........ and we ate there as well........ peaceful, beautifully done, nice dog, lots of little private spaces scattered about, flowers, nice pool, thick towels and comfy loungers........
Evening meal was wonderful.......that man can cook!
Not quite sure about the themed bedrooms.......don`t know why they did it?? Rest of villa is so tasteful, and beautifully done.........
As an early riser, I wasn`t too happy about late breakfast, 8am, but they left a flask of coffee for me......it wasn`t hot at 6.30am, but contained caffeine, and was OK...... but maybe simple coffee making equipment in each room???

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank henross61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Villa Daba is a really special place. Didier and Bernadette have made it an absolutely beautiful place to spend time. They have fantastic taste, their welcome is warm, the place is spotlessly clean and the pool is superb.
The breakfast is good and you can choose to pay 18 euros for a superb 3 course dinner with wine extra. We did on one of our two nights there. We particularly liked that everyone eats together so we got to know 2 couples from France and Norway.
The prices are comparable with western prices, they look at little steep compared to Moroccan prices, but the quality of the accomodation is second to none.
Its some way down a rough track - around 8km from Essaouria not particularly near any facilities which means you need a car or are heavily dependent on taxis. However I understand the road will be asphalted in the spring 2014 which will be a big improvement.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.5 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
615 reviews
0.5 mi away
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
#7 of 74 in Essaouira
426 reviews
8.5 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#19 of 74 in Essaouira
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riad Dar Etto
Riad Dar Etto
#2 of 2 in Ghazoua
33 reviews
2.9 mi away
Le Jardin des Douars
Le Jardin des Douars
#6 of 74 in Essaouira
790 reviews
4.4 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#8 of 74 in Essaouira
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Daba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Daba

Property: Villa Daba
Address: BP 164 Douar El Ghazoua | km8 route d'Agadir, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Daba 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Daba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing