We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Palais des Remparts
Ranked #32 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Reviewed 29 April 2012

I had been to Essaouira before and loved it so much more the second time around because of the hotel. So close to everything, can see the ramparts from the room. and is only a 2 mintue walk to any shop or restaurant. The hotel is very clean and well kept, spacious and light. Breakfast was the usual bread selection, but well worth sitting upstairs for the view, stunning views of the sea, township and many many seagulls!!! Staff lovely and the spa although pricey compared to public hammam, still good, pedicure best ever!
We also stayed off season so incredibly cheap

Room Tip: there is an elevator so not the usual struggle with back packs!!
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janegypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (332)
There are newer reviews for Palais des Remparts
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 332 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2012

We love Essaouira and this hotel topped off our holiday. The locations was ideal, breakfast on the roof terrace magical, staff attentive yet afforded you your privacy. Definitely go back there again

Stayed: September 2011
Thank fisum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Excellent location in medina - just a few steps from the main square & a short stroll to the fishing harbour & beach. Fabulous views from the rooftop terrace over the ramparts to the sea & of the medina on the other side. Comfortable rooms with good mattresses & large bathrooms. Charming, friendly staff who go out of their way to help you. Breakfast on the terrace is delicious albeit a bit limited as it is a set meal, not a buffet. It consists of freshly made pancakes, croissants, cakes & unlimited bread with jams & honey. There is also freshly squeezed orange juice & tea or real coffee which is a treat these days in most places! My husband is wheat intolerant & after a few days was beginning to suffer a bit so we asked for an alternative which they were happy to provide. A lovely, relaxing place to stay.

Room Tip: The two rooms on the top floor (terrace 4th floor) have fabulous sea views. One has a four poster be...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluebird52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Excellent hotel, comfortable rooms and friendly staff. Best roof top in Essaouira. Strongly recommend it

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ghassan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Perfectly located hotel. Great terrasse with a view on the ocean and the island of Mogador, the remparts and the old city. The personnel is good. Rooms are comfortable and in the winter they bring you a heater for the rooms. The patio is very comfortable and they serve a nice breakfast on the terrasse outside in the morning.

Room Tip: The suites are very nice big. On the top floor there are two rooms with views of the ocean outstandi...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olivierada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

I absolutely love the Palais des Remparts. I stayed here in the late 1980's when it was just the Hotel des Remparts, a very simple inexpensive place that even a Peace Corps volunteer (as I was then) could afford. Wow, what a transformation! It was totally re-done in 2010, which is great to see since it's a historic property, nearly 100 years old (according to the staff). Although the exterior on the street looks exactly the same -- I have the photos to prove it -- all I recognized of the interior were the main bones of the building, the multistory courtyard patio and the roof patio where the laundry used to hang.

The place is spectacular today with lots of traditional Moroccan touches, very colorful decor, yet not over-the-top with that fake fantasy Arabian Nights vibe that some of the new riads have adopted. It's got a fairly restrained elegance to it. The bathrooms are great, huge deep tiled tubs. The things that really stands out is the rooftop terrace -- my friends and I rushed up every morning for sunrise and every evening at sunset. It was the best thing about our 4 days in Essaouira, to sit on that terrace with coffee or wine and just watch the colors change in the sky and water. There's a good breakfast with a variety of Moroccan breads and cakes, orange juice and coffee, etc.

The staff is extremely warm and friendly. We happened to be there over Aid el Kebir when there were few other guests, so were really treated like queens with everyone fussing over us (in a good way!)

Because there weren't many people, the doors and windows to the rooms were open so we were able to walk around the hotel and get a good look at the various suites. They are individually decorated, different sizes, some with fireplaces. Our room had the living salon and bathroom downstairs, with an open staircase leading to an upstairs loft with the 2 huge beds. We could see/hear the ocean from the upstairs bed by the window.

I would love to stay in the Palais des Remparts again. It's the kind of place I could imagine staying at for weeks on end. It's really quite good value, especially for a prime location with ocean view in the medina. We negotiated a discount due to the holiday and paid only 800 dirhams ($100) per night for 3 of us. including breakfast. (We did not have a reservation; we just showed up and since there were few tourists, we could drive a hard bargain. At other times of the year, you would not have this option.) The only negative I can think of is that the WiFi signal is weak inside the rooms, due to the thick walls, but it's fine if you sit on the benches in the halls along the open patio courtyard. It's truly a magical place.

Room Tip: Ask if you can look around the place first. Each room has a unique decor, they are shaped different...
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Excellent location, easy to find in the Riad, very comfortable walking around at night in this town and finding the hotel. More of a hotel than a Riad, it is not as intimate as other places we stayed in Morocco. The view from the terrace is stunning, could not be many better in Essaouira - breakfast on the terrace, tea in the afternoon and and the sunset were all beautiful. The rooms were very comfortable, although not 'luxury' as reflected in the name of the riad (no air con / heating, no safe or bar fridge - although this is not at all unusual in Morocco). The staff deserve special recognition, as they were extremely friendly and helpful, particularly when my husband was ill - they helped find food and drink and made sure we were comfortable at all times. Breakfast not wonderful, but there are plenty of cheap places that are easy to find outside if you want something different. Not much to fault at this hotel overall - although if you are expecting true luxury this is probably not the place, but this is reflected in the very reasonable prices of the rooms for the good quality you do get. Pay a bit extra for the sea views (we did not and regretted it) as they are stunning. A very relaxing break and very different from other larger medinas in Morocco - a great break and a very good hotel for the price.

Room Tip: Request a room on third floor or above - we noted that other reviews have noted a musty / damp smell...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GBstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.0 mi away
Les Terrasses d'Essaouira
Les Terrasses d'Essaouira
#38 of 74 in Essaouira
269 reviews
0.0 mi away
La maison des artistes
La maison des artistes
#23 of 74 in Essaouira
170 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar L'Oussia
Riad Dar L'Oussia
#19 of 74 in Essaouira
393 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar Al Bahar
Dar Al Bahar
#34 of 74 in Essaouira
184 reviews
0.2 mi away
Madada Mogador
Madada Mogador
#20 of 74 in Essaouira
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palais des Remparts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais des Remparts

Address: 18 Rue Ibn Rochd, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#12 Spa Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range: £53 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Palais des Remparts 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Prestigia, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Palais des Remparts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palais Des Remparts Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing