We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely place-fantastic location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palais des Remparts
Ranked #32 of 75 Hotels in Essaouira
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Located in the Heart of the Medina, the Riad offers easy access to the main square and the souk (10 min) as well as an easy way to the beach with it's bar's, and restaurants.
The ramparts has the best sea view and an unobstructed view of the town and its monuments.
Friendly staff and superb service delivered with timeliness, courtesy, and fairness like no other continue to make the ramparts the best address in Essaouira…

Room Tip: deluxe ocean view room 206
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank koban k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 338 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2013

At night it is like a motor cycle race track outside this hotel. The city authorities are insane to allow people to ride around like this in narrow streets at night. I stepped out of the hotel into the street the first night and was nearly killed by three motor cycle men (middle age, not young lunatics) scattering everybody out of the way even families with children. Every time I come to Essaouira the medina traffic is more like Marrakesh.The next night I came out of Sirocco restaurant nearby and had to jump back in because some maniac swerved to avoid a group and nearly hit me instead. Not so long ago motor cycles were not allowed in the old part of town. Now you hear them all day and most of the night. You never see a policeman.
This hotel is a recent conversion because it was not a hotel like this when I first came to Essaouria years ago. It has a lot going for it especially the wonderful location with views over the ocean and the roof terrace. The interior has been renovated in traditional way and has a good atmosphere. The room and bathroom fittings are very average and lots of little things need attention like loose screws on shower fixtures, damp patches on walls, some worn towels. These are all little things and probably just because the hotel has not yet worked through all the teething problems. With good management and some money spent on improvements this could be a very good hotel one day. If you stay here you are close to all the main attractions of Essaouira, just a few minutes walk will take you to the square, the port, the beach, and many restaurants old and new. Essaouria is changing fast.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank miguel d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013 via mobile

The hotel is well located, great ocean views but the rooms and especially the bathroom needs updating.

The shower was largely a handheld since it wouldn't stay attached to the holder with water that comes and goes both in pressure and temperature. They also lacked some basics like a hairdryer, curtains etc. Not to mention that the glass provided in the bathroom was dirty.

Our room was on the 4th floor on the terrace. Great views but no wifi in the room (had to go to a lower floor). Also, there's noise around 7:30am when the staff moves thd chairs and tables around preparing to serve breakfast.

The sound of the ocean and seagulls is quite loud. It didnt bother me but my husband had trouble sleeping. In Feb, we needed to use the portable heater provided. There's no heat/AC otherwise.

All in all, it was okay. Nothing terrible but it could have significant improvements.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

There are smokers in the lobby. Even the night receptionist smokes at the front desk which is kind of disgusting. Room is so so. Seems the curtains have never been washed. Nice view from terrace. Breakfast is so so. Fake honey. Location is good. Quiet. Islamic morning call to prayer goes on for 15 minutes at 5 am and wakes you up and keeps you up no matter what with sound blasting from a distorted speaker.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldtraveler2392123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We stayed here after staying in 2 terrific places in other parts of Morocco and we had been warned the room standards were perhaps not quite as good in Essaouira as they are in Marrakech .This we found to be the case however what the room lacked in amenities ( no safe, hairdryer or air conditioning ) was more than made up for by the stunning views from the delightful roof terrace which directly overlooks the sea with views along the ramparts of the medina. The location is good too,( being just around the corner from the main square) in a quiet street with a couple of nice restaurants , patisserie and a few shops.

We had a view of the sea ( some rooms their windows open out to the central courtyard) , the room was a good size , furnished well with a comfortable bed. The bathroom was Ok with a huge bath ...but uninviting due to the dark tiles and blue bath. There was a definite musty damp smell in the room, the cream rugs were slightly grubby and the windows not clean so we wiped them. The courtyard area of the hotel is lovely , just wished housekeeping had wiped the glass top of the table outside our room of cup marks which remained present from our arrival to our departure. With a little bit of attention these issues could be easily resolved and standards raised .It felt more like a 3 star accomodation rather than 4 however that would not prevent us from staying here as the positives outweighed any negatives.

The restaurant was advertised as open with the menu hoarding placed outdoors but it remained in darkness for our stay possibly as no one ate there . This may not be a reflection on the restaurant per se, as we saw several restaurants slightly off the beaten track which appeared to have had evenings totally without diners even when they rated highly on trip advisor. I was told business is generally very quiet at the moment and all the places we stayed in were well below capacity .We ate in one establishment and we were the only diners all evening .

The staff in the Palais des Remparts were friendly and helpful , and waiters attentive. Breakfast was the usual Moroccan fare , with freshly cooked pancakes and pastries, served on the terrace and with one of the best views in Essaouira with dramatic crashing waves on the rocks and ramparts and the occasional fisherman scrambling over the rocks. There are covered tables on part of the roof terrace with glass panels so if the weather is poor shelter is available , and we had no problems with the seagulls nor issues with the breeze which was gentle and refreshing for our stay. The sunsets are magnificent from the roof terrace and we spent so much time up here just taking it all in .

Essaouira tradesman have a much less aggressive sales attitude and a more laid back approach compared to those Marrakech ( there are even prices on the goods in the souks ) and it was a pleasure to browse the shops and stalls in the medina and indeed shop ( we would not have bought anything in Marrakech if we 'd realised what Essaouira was like ) .

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Essaouira - the medina was lovely to wander round, the beach long & flat, and it was facinating to go to the port watching the local fisherman landing their catch . It was relaxing and laid back .So pleased we didn't just go to Marrakech

Room Tip: Rooms 309& 308 are on the roof terrace and have terrific views of the sea. There are no issues a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elainegwasd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

We weren't sure what to expect when we arrived at this Riad, but we were VERY pleasantly surprised! First off, this Riad is in a superb location - I don't think it gets any better than this in Essaouira - seriously. It was easy to find, and unlike in Marrakech, the people in Essaouira were very nice and helpful and showed us to the Riad without asking for $ to do so! Upon our arrival, the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. They gave us an early check-in and helped us book a horseback riding excursion. Our room was beautiful and very spacious - it was nice that we had a little sitting area. The view from the top of the terrace was absolutely stunning! I seriously doubt there is a better view from anywhere in Essaouira - we must've taken 100 photos! Breakfast at this Riad was one of the best I had in Morocco - so delicious and fresh and the servers were all so sweet and attentive. If only we had more than one night here! It was just not long enough and as a recommendation, if you come here for a side trip from Marrakech - you really need to stay at least 2 nights! It's more laid back, the people are nicer, cheaper, easier to negotiate in the medina and the weather is so much better than Marrakech! It's funny, because the people in Essaouira will tell you this! We took a Supratour bus to get here from Marrakech, which was 140 Dirham for two people. Cheap and the buses were nice (had air conditioning). I think it was close to 3 hours total since the bus stops off at a rest stop for 15 minutes or so. Only complaints about this Riad were that it was very loud at night - people in the streets yelling, cats fighting, etc. So, bring ear plugs! The other thing was that our shower/tub was clogged and wouldn't drain - but we could've had this fixed but since we were there for one night we didn't complain. Overall, I highly recommend this place for location, atmosphere, service and price!

Room Tip: Higher floors might not be so loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 days and LOVED it. We had read reviews of the hotel here on Tripadvisor before we arrived and followed suggestions to ask to see the different rooms they had available so we could pick. The rooms are all very different. We stayed on the very top floor in a beautiful room with windows that opened out to the ocean so you could hear the waves crashing day and night. I loved the decor in the room - it was spacious as was the restroom - and the 360 degree views from the terrace on our floor were maginificent. We could walk right out the door and order a glass of wine from the bar staff and watch the sunset. The area is excellent. It's in the medina but situated on the edge so you don't have to walk through a maze if you want to leave to go to the ocean or elsewhere. There were great restaurants and bars within walking distance. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The only drawbacks were how loud the call to prayer was every morning - but you will hear that anywhere in the medina. Plus - the neighbors had roosters crowing at sunrise...again a medina issue rather than a hotel issue. I highly recommend this property

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJBK4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
8 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#10 of 75 in Essaouira
283 reviews
0 mi away
La maison des artistes
La maison des artistes
#23 of 75 in Essaouira
173 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Garance
Villa Garance
#16 of 75 in Essaouira
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-
0.2 mi away
Dar Al Bahar
Dar Al Bahar
#37 of 75 in Essaouira
187 reviews
0.2 mi away
Madada Mogador
Madada Mogador
#19 of 75 in Essaouira
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palais des Remparts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais des Remparts

Address: 18 Rue Ibn Rochd, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#12 Spa Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range: £54 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Palais des Remparts 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palais des Remparts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palais Des Remparts Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing