We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palais des Remparts
Ranked #32 of 75 Hotels in Essaouira
Reviewed 17 July 2013

I would never recommend this way of finding a hotel but... It worked for us! Having being let down by the hotel we were booked at we found ourselves in the middle of Essaouira wondering what to do next. We were approached by a man who asked if we needed a hotel, after initially brushing him off, I thought what the heck, we can have a look and I'm so glad we did! What a beautiful place! The building is gorgeous. Our room was beautifully furnished and the bathroom was something else. The roof terrace provided fantastic views over the sea and the rooftops of Essaouira. Fabulous! All the staff were very friendly and helpful. We only stayed the one night but I would happily and probably will go back. I had a good feeling about that guide... So glad I trusted my instincts.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoJo2herfriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 338 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2013

Everything about this place except the shower was really excellent. We were on the top floor and our view was priceless. Breakfast is served on the roof with a beautiful view of the Atlantic. Sunset from there is great also. The bed was very comfortable. The staff was wonderful. The location was perfect.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ForrestWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Very good Riad attached to the "remparts" of Essaouira. To get the full essence of this Riad ask for the room on the top floor with view on the Ocean. The room is nicely decorated and is located just on a wonderful terrace with amazing sunset and ocean views. Staff is friendly and helpful.
Recommended also for its more quiet location.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gilgribaudo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We stayed the night in Essaouira, at the Hotel Remparts , which is very well sited and has a very fine facade.
The staff at remparts are so friendly and helpful
On the restaurant terrace, attentive staff invite you to discover the refined cuisine, a tasty combination of colours and authentic flavours.
The rooms were amazing and we all really enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 826ilite826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Located in the Heart of the Medina, the Riad offers easy access to the main square and the souk (10 min) as well as an easy way to the beach with it's bar's, and restaurants.
The ramparts has the best sea view and an unobstructed view of the town and its monuments.
Friendly staff and superb service delivered with timeliness, courtesy, and fairness like no other continue to make the ramparts the best address in Essaouira…

Room Tip: deluxe ocean view room 206
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank koban k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

At night it is like a motor cycle race track outside this hotel. The city authorities are insane to allow people to ride around like this in narrow streets at night. I stepped out of the hotel into the street the first night and was nearly killed by three motor cycle men (middle age, not young lunatics) scattering everybody out of the way even families with children. Every time I come to Essaouira the medina traffic is more like Marrakesh.The next night I came out of Sirocco restaurant nearby and had to jump back in because some maniac swerved to avoid a group and nearly hit me instead. Not so long ago motor cycles were not allowed in the old part of town. Now you hear them all day and most of the night. You never see a policeman.
This hotel is a recent conversion because it was not a hotel like this when I first came to Essaouria years ago. It has a lot going for it especially the wonderful location with views over the ocean and the roof terrace. The interior has been renovated in traditional way and has a good atmosphere. The room and bathroom fittings are very average and lots of little things need attention like loose screws on shower fixtures, damp patches on walls, some worn towels. These are all little things and probably just because the hotel has not yet worked through all the teething problems. With good management and some money spent on improvements this could be a very good hotel one day. If you stay here you are close to all the main attractions of Essaouira, just a few minutes walk will take you to the square, the port, the beach, and many restaurants old and new. Essaouria is changing fast.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank miguel d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013 via mobile

The hotel is well located, great ocean views but the rooms and especially the bathroom needs updating.

The shower was largely a handheld since it wouldn't stay attached to the holder with water that comes and goes both in pressure and temperature. They also lacked some basics like a hairdryer, curtains etc. Not to mention that the glass provided in the bathroom was dirty.

Our room was on the 4th floor on the terrace. Great views but no wifi in the room (had to go to a lower floor). Also, there's noise around 7:30am when the staff moves thd chairs and tables around preparing to serve breakfast.

The sound of the ocean and seagulls is quite loud. It didnt bother me but my husband had trouble sleeping. In Feb, we needed to use the portable heater provided. There's no heat/AC otherwise.

All in all, it was okay. Nothing terrible but it could have significant improvements.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
8 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#10 of 75 in Essaouira
281 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-
0 mi away
La maison des artistes
La maison des artistes
#24 of 75 in Essaouira
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fontaine Bleue
Fontaine Bleue
#27 of 75 in Essaouira
111 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Garance
Villa Garance
#16 of 75 in Essaouira
316 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#2 of 75 in Essaouira
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palais des Remparts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais des Remparts

Address: 18 Rue Ibn Rochd, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#12 Spa Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range: £54 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Palais des Remparts 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Palais des Remparts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palais Des Remparts Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing