We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palais des Remparts
Ranked #32 of 75 Hotels in Essaouira
Reviewed 13 November 2013

it is a beautiful place, clean, tired in places, however it seemed to lack soul. The staffwere attentive and kind, I could not really fault them, however, it could really do with the owner being a part of what is going on. It felt corporate, not homely....so to each their own.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view in any riad are few..there's two on the room you should head for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrCaretaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (333)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 333 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2013

We spent a week here in October and were delighted with what we found. The hotel is clean, great location and our room was wonderful (double room on the first floor). Breakfast on the roof terrace in the morning - fresh orange and a variety of French and Moroccan breads/pastries. We also watched the sun set one evening with drinks and the views are spectacular. The location is great but this can lead to noise at night so if you are a light sleeper bring some ear plugs.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reviewer_29UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We had a great stay in this hotel. The rooms were clean, well appointed and comfortable.

The public areas and stunning, with a grand central courtyard where you can have three meals a day.

However, the main selling point is the amazing view from the beautiful roof terrace. This is the best located hotel for either a breakfast in the sun, or an evening drink watching the sun set over the Atlantic. The food (we had breakfasts and a lunch) was good, and the staff are very attentive and welcoming.

If any friends of mine visited Essaouira, I would strongly recommend they stayed here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil_H_UK-1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Great stay in the most beautiful and authentic raid in essaouira. We were in a suite room Very comfortable beds and perfectly cleaned rooms. Friendly staff and helpful .
The terrace where we have breakfast.... is wonderful, overlooking the sea, the port and city a perfect place to relax day or night.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raffa mill r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

I would never recommend this way of finding a hotel but... It worked for us! Having being let down by the hotel we were booked at we found ourselves in the middle of Essaouira wondering what to do next. We were approached by a man who asked if we needed a hotel, after initially brushing him off, I thought what the heck, we can have a look and I'm so glad we did! What a beautiful place! The building is gorgeous. Our room was beautifully furnished and the bathroom was something else. The roof terrace provided fantastic views over the sea and the rooftops of Essaouira. Fabulous! All the staff were very friendly and helpful. We only stayed the one night but I would happily and probably will go back. I had a good feeling about that guide... So glad I trusted my instincts.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoJo2herfriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Everything about this place except the shower was really excellent. We were on the top floor and our view was priceless. Breakfast is served on the roof with a beautiful view of the Atlantic. Sunset from there is great also. The bed was very comfortable. The staff was wonderful. The location was perfect.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ForrestWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Very good Riad attached to the "remparts" of Essaouira. To get the full essence of this Riad ask for the room on the top floor with view on the Ocean. The room is nicely decorated and is located just on a wonderful terrace with amazing sunset and ocean views. Staff is friendly and helpful.
Recommended also for its more quiet location.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gilgribaudo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.5 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-
0.0 mi away
Les Terrasses d'Essaouira
Les Terrasses d'Essaouira
#36 of 75 in Essaouira
270 reviews
0.0 mi away
La maison des artistes
La maison des artistes
#25 of 75 in Essaouira
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Madada Mogador
Madada Mogador
#19 of 75 in Essaouira
487 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fontaine Bleue
Fontaine Bleue
#26 of 75 in Essaouira
107 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar L'Oussia
Riad Dar L'Oussia
#20 of 75 in Essaouira
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palais des Remparts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais des Remparts

Address: 18 Rue Ibn Rochd, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#12 Spa Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range: £67 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Palais des Remparts 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Palais des Remparts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palais Des Remparts Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing