We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great Moroccan food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beldy Restaurant

Beldy Restaurant
Ranked #38 of 262 Restaurants in Essaouira
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“great Moroccan food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

My second visit to Essaouira. 2012 for 2 months, 2013 for 2 months. Have been to a lot of restaurants. Beldys food ranks with the best Moroccan food I tasted. 1sr visit had tagine and 2nd visit couscous. Both were fantastic and the harira soup was the best I have tasted. Will be going back again to try there pastille. I am confident it will be as good as everything else

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    52
    13
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Quality of food is well below quality of decor”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

We ate in Aug 2013 and were quite unimpressed with the quality of food. Our bill (for 2) came to 200 DAM but we had meals elsewhere in Essauoira which were far more impressive despite being in the 80-150 DAM range.

PROs

- Nice decor
- Broad menu
- Tasty olives & flatbreads

CONs

- Single waiter serving the whole restaurant meant you often had to make requests (e.g. clean cutlery, condiments, drinks) multiple times
- Prawns "a la plancha" were fried as opposed to grilled. They were mushy, lacking in flavour & smelled like they had gone off
- Vegetarian Pastilla was 80% pastry and had very little vegetable filling
- General lack of seasoning & flavouring in all dishes we tried

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Welsh_Wanderer_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

This is a small place which seemed to have only one waiter, working very hard indeed but managing to stay affable and friendly. The food was good - the soup in particular was excellent. The decor is homely, perhaps a little gloomy but felt authentically Moroccan, and the seating was very comfortable.

It doesn't serve alcohol.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kikashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Move along, nothing worth a stop here.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013 via mobile

I'm not sure who wrote the other reviews. They are either members of the owners family, or had really awful eating experiences in Essauoira to compare this to.

The decor, while not being "westernized" as another reviewer put it, seems to be more of a "this is what westerners will think is authentic".

The service was mostly basic, with two noticeable exceptions: they didn't bring back our change from the bill, and while my wife was struggling to get our stroller out the double door, not one came to help, and someone just said "au revoir." (I had already gone home to put the youngest to bed)

The entree was quite poor. The main, tajine, was basic and disappointing.

I wouldn't go back and would recommend you avoid this place. Better option is to pick up some street food anywhere else, far cheaper and much better.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BruceParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Worth a visit, great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

Really enjoyed the food here, and the host was really friendly and helpful. Nice decor, felt authentic and not 'westernised'.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nichola L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Beldy Restaurant also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Beldy Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing