We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful & clean riad, wonderful host, best breakfast”
Review of Riad Imik Imik

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Essaouira
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riad Imik Imik
Ranked #30 of 175 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful & clean riad, wonderful host, best breakfast”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

My partner and I stayed for three nights in riad Imik Imik, after a stay in Marrakesh and a trip through the desert. Britta, the owner of the riad, met us at the Marrakesh gate of the medina. The riad is only a two minute walk from the gate, and Essaouira's medina is a lot less complicated than the one in Marrakesh. We stayed in the red room, and it was beautiful. Both clean and with all the amenities that I wish for, the light switches are all in the most convenient places. To me, details like this show that she has put a lot of effort and thought into designing her domain. And she did an absolutely wonderful job. Both she and Ghislane, who makes breakfast (best breakfast ever) on most days and does the cleaning, make the riad a home away from home. In the time that we spent here, we feel we have gotten to know Britta a bit. When we told her we were going to Ouled Taima, she gave us the priceless tip of having lunch in the tiny harbour of Imsouane. Thanks for that Britta, without you we would have completely missed that lovely place en the delicious fish!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    7
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
68
17
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I had the pleasure of staying in Riad Imik Imik for a week. The Riad is beautifully decorated and a real haven of piece and tranquility. The rooms are lovely and comfy and the rooftop terrace offers a fascinating view of Essaouira. Britta is a fantastic hostess and was there at the airport to meet me as she was in Marrakech that evening. Every morning she met us over a delicious breakfast and was keen to share advice and restaurant tips. I suffered from pretty severe food poisoning one day and Britta looked after me and fed me tea and toast until I recovered which was lovely. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, pretty romantic place (if your in a couple) and very safe and secure if travelling alone.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful just pick a colour!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pinkpanther004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
København, Staden Kobenhavn, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Riad Imik Imik is the perfect place to stay if you visit Essaouira. It is beautifully decorated and the rooms are very comfortable. There is a stunning view from the roof top terrace where we spent every evening. Some evening, however, it could get a bit windy and damp, but then again, who cares when you can wrap a blanket around you and listen to the prayers from the minarets and the screaming of the seagulls? It was exotic and yet very comfortable. So if you want to visit this little surfers paradise, be sure not to miss Riad Imik Imik.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank signehys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We found Imik Imik in our book guide at the last moment when we were in our way to Essaouira.. and we had the good luck of finding a room available for us. Britta waited for us at the parking lot and walked us to the house....and what a pleasant surprise!: Imik Imik is a beautiful house decorated with exquisite taste by her owner Britta, who at the same time is a magnificent host. She was more than helpful and nice with us... and unfortunately, due to a problem with the car we had rent we were unable to stay longer there... but we definitely wanted. The place and the host are amazing , and I can not believe there is a better place to stay in that beautiful City. I recommend this Riad to anyone visiting Essaouira.. you will not regret it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srm1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fanjeaux, Languedoc-Roussillon, France
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Earlier this year we had the good fortune of enjoying a two week stay in Imik Imik. within seconds of walking in all our gazes drifted up to take in the beauty of the Riad so lovingly restored by Britta. Every corner of every room is decorated and arranged just so - were you to walk around and take random snapshots without looking through the viefinder you would still end up ith a set of stunning photos. The rooftop terrace was the perfect place to start and end the day, either over breakfast or for one last look over the moon-lit tiles disappearing towards the horizon. Essaouira itself enchanted just as it had all those years ago and we hope to return very soon indeed. Thank you for the most wonderful of holidays, the most wonderful of memories.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong - all are beautiful in their own right.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Nestled at the end of a quiet street, Riad Imik Imik's door opens into the most serene inner courtyard, where noises melt away and a cool surround awaits. The owner Britta, welcomes you with a wealth of information on what to see and do and where to put your feet up in between! After settling into the gorgeous room, where every single detail is considered and all corners filled with interesting artefacts, you can slip up to the roof terrace to catch a breathtaking sight of the Medina. A delicious breakfast is served up here, under the sunshine, it's certainly worth reserving an hour or two for such a morning treat! The Riad hosts you in true laid back Essaouira style and I certainly wouldn't stay anywhere else. The location is unbeatable and you truly do feel like you have arrived home!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tink1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Imik Imik is a a beautifully restored riad down a quiet cul-de-sac just inside the old medina, yet only a few minutes walk from the hustle and bustle of the souks. The house itself is fantastic and the effort Britta has put into it is phenomenal. She has left no stone unturned in the restoration and there are little charms around every corner. The location is second to none - Essaouira is a charming town and provided a welcome break from the madness of Marrakesh.

Britta proved to be the perfect host - we enjoyed chatting, she took us shopping pointing us towards some great local bargains and brought us for lunch to a great little backstreet eatery that served good, tasty and cheap Moroccan food. She also serves a great Moroccan breakfast!

We only stayed one night at Imik Imik but while there, we were made to feel like old friends - We were sorry we couldn't have stayed a little longer.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan_McIntyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Inna
Riad Inna
#12 of 175 in Essaouira
171 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar Assalama
Dar Assalama
#41 of 175 in Essaouira
109 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dar Lazuli
Dar Lazuli
#25 of 175 in Essaouira
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar Emotion
Riad Dar Emotion
#16 of 175 in Essaouira
149 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Orange Cannelle
Riad Orange Cannelle
#11 of 175 in Essaouira
188 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad l'Ayel d'Essaouira
Riad l'Ayel d'Essaouira
#19 of 175 in Essaouira
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Imik Imik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Imik Imik

Property: Riad Imik Imik
Address: 25 Rue Zalaka | 44000 Essaouira, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Imik Imik is in the heart of the medina, and yet offers peace and tranquility, with a fabulous terrace to relax on. This riad has many authentic Moroccan features, combined with high European standards creating a spacious and comfortable atmosphere. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing