We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place”
Review of RIad Dar El Paco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
RIad Dar El Paco
Ranked #8 of 174 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place”
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Lovely place to stay in the charming city of Essaouira. Helpful and good hosts. Decent rooms-simple and clean. Attention to detail, Moroccan style with contemporary touch - good selection of B&W professional photographs. Delicious breakfast each day- home made pancakes everything fresh and yummy. High recommendations.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RachelDarius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    65
    13
    7
    1
See reviews for
26
157
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brasov, Romania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We spent 2 nights at Dar El Paco in Essaouira, one of these being the New Year's Eve. It was pretty difficult to find the riad at first (although they sent by email a map of how to get there), but it was absolutely worth it. The rooms were clean, comfy and arranged in a way to make you feel like home in Morocco.
We first had the Tuareg room and had to change for the second night for the Ifrane room, but instead of feeling uncomfortable, it felt like an upgrade :) and was good to help out Paco and the crew.
Unfortunately they don't speak too much of English, but with a bit of French and lots of smiles we managed to understand each other.

Thank you Dar El Paco!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andreea_Narita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwen Lancs
Level Contributor
93 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

wonderfull little riad in the heart of the medina,
Paco was waiting at marrakech airport for us, he took us the 220 km to essaouira, its a good three hour run,not much to see as it was at night, arrived quite late but had a nice mint tea and crashed out for the night, the rooms are quite small so dont take alot you wont need it,
every day Paco made us a wonderfull breakfast ,homemade pancakes homemade jam, honey fresh juice , boiled eggs and coffeee, nothing is to much trouble for paco and natty, they cant do enough for you they are the perfect hosts, my wife and daughter had a moroccan cooking lesson with natty, made a lovely chicken tagine that we all enjoyed for dinner,
we had a full week at dar el paco, most other guest were just passing through and changed most days, so if your looking for a short break , try it,
it has two roof terraces, both small though, and about four rooms,
essaouira is ok but not much to do, and take note drinks arnt easy to find , only two public bars ,One outside the medina and one in, and not cheap about £3 for a small beer, and thats all you can get apart from soft drinks,Some restraunts sell alcohol but its about £12 a bottle of wine ,but there are three bottle shops (if you can find them , they are outside the medina) you can get drinks from there at about half price and most places dont mind you taking in your own drinks,
great winter sunshine but a bit windy, much warmer in marrakech, never saw a cloud all week
ps the mosque which is very close will wake you up very early every morning

Room Tip: get a box of wine from the duty free to tie you over
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeeDarwenLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darelpacoessaouira, Owner at RIad Dar El Paco, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
Thank you for this lovely comment, we were delighted to have you for this long period. Leon and Leona have delighted their good mood.
We were delighted to have you hosted in a room with three beds.
Thank you for your time and hope to see you again soon.

Auux children and kisses big thank you to you both.
REGARDS
PACO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

This is a wonderful place to stay! I was travelling alone in Morocco, so feeling safe was important. I felt very safe at Dar El Paco.
My room was beautiful (and spotlessly clean), the breakfast was delicious, the service was excellent. Location was good, but close to a mosque so on my first night I was woken up very early by the call to prayer - wasn't an issue though, wore ear plugs the next night at it was fine. Can't recommend this place enough. It is good value for money, very clean, great location and exceptional service.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LDNlaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darelpacoessaouira, Owner at RIad Dar El Paco, responded to this review, 15 December 2011
Chère Madame,

Nous aussi avons été ravis de vous recevoir, de vous apporter le calme du Riad , sauf de l' appel à la prière . Malheuseusement Malheureusement je ne peux l' empêcher.
Nous avons tout fait pour que votre séjour soit de que vous attendiez de nous.
L' équipe ce joint à moi pour vous dire à bientôt.
Amicalement
PACO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

This place was really lovely, clean, fantastic location and had great staff! The breakfast was freshly made and delicious! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Atlas Room, which was very comfortable and really good for couples!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rossino B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darelpacoessaouira, Manager at RIad Dar El Paco, responded to this review, 1 December 2011
Google Translation
Het team van dar el paco bedankt voor deze mooie waardering.
We zijn dankbaar.
Wij doen ons best om uw vakantie onvergetelijk te maken
Paco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

An extremely easy to find idyll just away from the hussle and bustle of the main medina. Paco was a charming host in a charming guest house. I would definately stay there again. The rooms and bathrooms were compact and bijoux, but fine for what we needed, as really we were there just to sleep, and I have to say the breakfast was probably the best we had whilst in Morocco. Can highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thesit-a-while
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darelpacoessaouira, Manager at RIad Dar El Paco, responded to this review, 1 December 2011
The team of dar el paco thank you for this nice appreciation.
We're grateful.
We do our best to make your holiday unforgettable
Paco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olstykke, Denmark
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2011

Mr. Paco speak only French, but with a smile and good will, you can understand a lot.
Dar El Paco is a small tiny place with a familiar atmosphere, Mr Paco introduces you to the city with a lot of good infortmation, rooms are small but cosy. the roof terrace is nice. Mr. Paco prepares the breakfast and he does this very good, absolutely recommendable and the price is reasonable

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelgeNielsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darelpacoessaouira, Owner at RIad Dar El Paco, responded to this review, 15 December 2011
Google Translation
Merci avec un peu de retard de votre charmant commentaire.
Nous avons été ravis de vous recevoir et de vous donner satisfaction.
Nous ferons encore mieux la prochaine fois.

L' équipe dar el paco vous souhaite de bonnes fêtes de fin d' année

Paco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
#18 of 74 in Essaouira
488 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Al Zahia
Riad Al Zahia
#24 of 74 in Essaouira
304 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Malaika
Riad Malaika
#13 of 74 in Essaouira
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Madada Mogador
Madada Mogador
#22 of 74 in Essaouira
473 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#8 of 74 in Essaouira
784 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Baladin
Riad Baladin
#9 of 74 in Essaouira
1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RIad Dar El Paco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RIad Dar El Paco

Property: RIad Dar El Paco
Address: 10 Rue Draa, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 174 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — RIad Dar El Paco 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar el Paco is a small peaceful house in the heart of the Medina. Close to the souk, but on a quiet little side-street in the Mellah. Everything is in walking distance and everything is possible. We serve a traditional Moroccan breakfast every morning and all our 5 rooms have a private bathroom with shower and in 4 rooms we can accommodate 3 people (with a small charge). Panoramic terrace on the top floor with the option to book a relaxing massage. ADSL WIFI functions very well in all the RIAD. The common spaces includes the living room, fridge on the kitchen and the guest toilet on the ground floor. You will be greeted by us Giovanni & Lara, the owner of the house, we are Italian and we speak French, Spanish and English. With us other Moroccan lady who is fluent French, English and Italian. The house is perfectly secure, you will be free to take your room key and the main door key with you just like being at home. We will be there to answer all your questions, recommend you placed to visit, restaurants to eat and of course, tell you some general information about the city and culture. We are happy to guide and assist you during your stay. To ensure you a better service we would kindly ask you to communicate us the arrival time in Essaouria by email or what's up, the day before or the same day of arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your RIad Dar El Paco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing