We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly Recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of RIad Dar El Paco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
RIad Dar El Paco
Ranked #7 of 176 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

As a young couple on a budget, we couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. This riad exceeded our expectations in every way. Staff are lovely, giving spot on recommendations for places to eat/things to see and do - must try Chez Driss! We stayed in the Sahara room which was very inviting, cosy and clean. Overall, this riad felt like a home away from home and was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darelpacoessaouira, Propriétaire at RIad Dar El Paco, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for the comments on our riad
Our goal is to satisfy you /
Paco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    63
    13
    7
    1
See reviews for
25
154
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Lovely little riad. Perfect location, good breakfast and superb hosting from Kitchu. Nothing was too much trouble and good recommendations for hammams.

Would definitely recommend and stay again.

Favourite riad in Morocco!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stephanie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darelpacoessaouira, Propriétaire at RIad Dar El Paco, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for the comments on our riad
Our goal is to satisfy you /
Paco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

For the money you can't go wrong with this riad. Set right in the heart of the medina but quiet enough for a decent nights sleep. Rooms are smallish but cleaned regularly with decent facilities. You really get the feel of a Moroccan family home here and are made to feel very welcome indeed. Kitchou was the perfect host and provided information about the town (including where not to go after dark)and restaurant recommendations which turned out to be 100% correct . Nice friendly atmosphere at the breakfast table between the multilingual guests which added to a pleasant time here. Roof terrace available too for a 'chill out' in the autumn sun.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rablitos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darelpacoessaouira, Propriétaire at RIad Dar El Paco, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for the comments on our riad
Our goal is to satisfy you /
Paco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

We are a young couple and stayed here for a week in june. We can't fault it in any way - the location is an ideal central base for exploring essaouira, the rooms were clean cool and comfortable, and the breakfasts were basic but filling and tasty. The best part of the experience, though, was Kitchou - an absolute gentleman, so polite and full of good advice - make sure you take his tip to eat at Chez Yassine, delicious. Excellent value for money too.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mk_seymour277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darelpacoessaouira, Gérant at RIad Dar El Paco, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for the comments on our riad
Our goal is to satisfy you /
Paco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

We booked here 4 months in advance and were supposed to stay here for the first two nights of our Moroccan holiday.. I emailed the Dar to confirm our booking 4 weeks before we arrived and got no reply. I emailed again 2 weeks later and finally got a reply and was sent a map giving us basic directions.

We arrived in Essaouira and found the Dar reasonably easy and were greeted by a friendly young guy called Faisal who said he was managing the place whilst the owner was away. He told us we'd sit down and have some tea but we asked to go to our room so we could dump our bags and freshen up (it was a long journey from Australia) - but we were told to wait until we had some tea and did some paperwork... okay no problem we didn't want to offend.

We sat had tea, did some paperwork and then Faisal drew us a map of Essaouira and gave us an overview of the town which was helpful.. it was at this stage that he decided to tell us that our room had been double booked! And unfortunately we missed out - NOT the sort of thing you want to happen on your first night when you have traveled 20 hours and made the booking 4 months in advance.

He said it was something that happened regularly with booking. com - however we've never had this ever happen to us before using the website (and didn't have any other double bookings during our 3 weeks in Morocco).

Faisal was nice enough about the whole thing and said he would take us to another hotel for the night and then we could come back and stay at Dar El Paco for our second night (as another room would become available).

The nearby hotel was decent and we didn't really like the idea of having to move hotels the next day so we told Faisal we'd just stay there for the 2 nights which he was fine with.

To be honest I was too tired to really care at this stage but afterwards I realised how ridiculous this whole situation was because we had booked AND confirmed so far in advance and there was NO mention of any double bookings when we had clearly been in contact only 2 weeks before to check! This is NOT something that just happens and is either a sign of incompetence or dishonesty.

We were told by Faisal that the other hotel was the same price but it turned out to be more expensive.. wasn't a big problem but still something that shouldn't have been our problem.

To add insult to injury, we were contacted by booking . com a couple of weeks later to tell us that we hadn't showed up and had to pay a no show fee! I disputed the claim and didn't have to pay it after we told them our story.

Room Tip: the rooms might be nice but there's no point if your room is double booked!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JM107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bad Rappenau, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

Since many years I`am traveling through Morocco and Essaouira is my favourite town - Magic Souira makes me feel at home.

I stayed 6 nights,as a single woman,during the Worldmusic-Festival(my 7th edition) in the lovely,small Dar El Paco and was very satisfied.
While the weather this time was extremely windy and cold,outside the crowds were moving,I felt very cosy,save and like in a heaven of peace,so calm it was. Be sure I can compete it.

The location is great,only a few minutes to the stage of Moulay Hassan and the monuments,the beach and everything.Really great value for the money.
The friendly host Kitchou,while the owners stayed in France,was very helpful,professional and speaks good english. We had nice talkings. In advance he sended a mail to fix up the arrival time,with a map and instructions to find the Riad in a easy way - for sure not necessary for me,but for sure very helpful for first visitors of the town - Top!

My room - IFRANE,near to the roof terrasse, was every day very good fixed up with much care from the maid. Hot water,not always running in the Medina of Essaouira and Morocco,was perfectly working.
Every room is different and nice furnished.
In the near,beside, is a mosque,what makes you feel even more in a town between Orient and Occident.No mater to me at all!

May be some small things could be better,nobody is totaly perfect....but look at the comfortable rates. About 25 Euros for a double room with breakfast - depending on the season.

The breakfast was good,but less variation.Different types of local jams,changing during the stay, or to serve sometimes fruits and yogurts will be nice. Little variations will make it perfect. To serve a welcome mint tea,usually in other houses,would be also a good idea. 2 sunbeds on the small roof terrasse,if the weather is allowing it,will bring me even more satifaction - just my subjective view!

I highly recommend it to other visitors of Essaouira - for sure I´am looking forward returning to Dar El Paco - Inch´Allah

Best regards to Kitchou and the team

Gabriele from Germany

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ganga08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

Great Riad in an amazing town! We took a Supratours bus (70 dirham per person) from Marrakech to Essaouira and booked on night in this Riad. The room was lovely, slightly smaller than in Riads we stayed previously but only needed a place to sleep, eat and take a shower. Our room didn't have an air conditioning but it was not needed at all as Essaouira has a lovely fresh breeze. The guy who was hosting (I believe it's the owners nephew) couldn't be more helpful. He gave us a map and answered all our questions. One thing which has scared me to death was imams prayer at night as the speaker is very close to Riad and we didn't know that.
Few things which might help:
1. If you are traveling by bus print a map with directions from the bus station to the Riad, it has helped us a lot to find the Riad quickly.
2. If you want to buy any souvenirs do it in Essaouira as the prices are much cheaper than in Agadir or Marrakech.
3. There are no fixed prices on a local bus station, even in kiosks, if you don't like the price just go away to another kiosk, there are plenty of them. Everyone will tell you that their buses are new and with air-con, this is not true at all.
4. Fish cafe is a 'must visit'! Amazing food and very crazy atmosphere. But beware everybody will demand a tip.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beatrise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
#16 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#3 of 77 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Al Zahia
Riad Al Zahia
#26 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#7 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
0.0 mi away
Essaouira Wind Palace
Essaouira Wind Palace
#31 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad O Gre du Vent
Riad O Gre du Vent
#6 of 176 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RIad Dar El Paco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RIad Dar El Paco

Property: RIad Dar El Paco
Address: 10 Rue Draa, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 176 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — RIad Dar El Paco 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar el Paco is a small peaceful house in the heart of the Medina. Close to the souk, but on a quiet little side-street in the Mellah. Everything is in walking distance and everything is possible. We serve a traditional Moroccan breakfast every morning and all our 5 rooms have a private bathroom with shower and in 4 rooms we can accommodate 3 people (with a small charge). Panoramic terrace on the top floor with the option to book a relaxing massage. ADSL WIFI functions very well in all the RIAD. The common spaces includes the living room, fridge on the kitchen and the guest toilet on the ground floor. You will be greeted by us Giovanni & Lara, the owner of the house, we are Italian and we speak French, Spanish and English. With us other Moroccan lady who is fluent French, English and Italian. The house is perfectly secure, you will be free to take your room key and the main door key with you just like being at home. We will be there to answer all your questions, recommend you placed to visit, restaurants to eat and of course, tell you some general information about the city and culture. We are happy to guide and assist you during your stay. To ensure you a better service we would kindly ask you to communicate us the arrival time in Essaouria by email or what's up, the day before or the same day of arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your RIad Dar El Paco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing