We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place and great staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of RIad Dar El Paco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
RIad Dar El Paco
Ranked #7 of 176 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely place and great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

The hotel was really nice with welcome mint tea on arrival. Our room was clean with a great en-suite. The roof terrace is really handy if you fancy a spot of sunbathing or some place to sit and relax. The staff were super helpful, trying to call me when I was really late, then going out of their way to show me places to go on a little handy map they provided. Nice breakfast, wifi is available in dinning/breakfast area. Essouira was a beautiful place to go visit. The place is a bit of a maze, so a bit more direction would be helpful, but was easy enough to find when asking other people for help.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieC011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darelpacoessaouira, Propriétaire at RIad Dar El Paco, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
hi

Entire team thanks you for your comment.
We are proud to have brought what you were picked.
Maybe soon
best cordially
Paco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    63
    13
    7
    1
See reviews for
25
154
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

I visited here 3 years ago and when I was returning to Essaouira with 6 other friends, I really wanted to return here. I am so glad I did. We were the only guests in the place and were welcomed warmly and told that the house was ours and we could use the kitchen etc as we wanted.
Everyone was happy with their rooms.
We stayed for 2 nights and on the second night Annie cooked us a 3 course meal which was fantastic, a real treat for us all, she did us proud. (and it was only 9 euros a head!)

If you are wondering where to stay in Essaouira, do not hesitiate to stay here. It is easy to find reasonably priced and the hosts are warm and charming.
I hope to return again in the not too distant future.
Thank you Paco and Annie.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thesit-a-while
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darelpacoessaouira, Owner at RIad Dar El Paco, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
HI
We are pleased the whole team and I to have fallen short of your expectations.
We were delighted to receive breakfast and courteous.
Riad wish you again soon.
soon
regards
Team and
Paco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clermont-Ferrand, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

We were here 1 week. It was a great place, in a quiet corner of the medina. We had a good room with excellent bathing facilities. it was clean. The ambiance was very cosy and warm. There was no need for an alarm, we had the mosque als neighbour. The breakfast was included in the price. The owner was a frenchman married with an arabic woman. That made the communication very easy. The internet worked very well in the Public spaces, unfortunately not in the rooms. The towels were changed after 3 days. We are very satisfied with the El Paco house and we will come back. P.s. The price was very correct.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alfonsus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darelpacoessaouira, Propriétaire at RIad Dar El Paco, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Google Translation
Merci, Merci,

Toute l' équipe est ravis de ce commentaire qui fait que nous aimons faire mieux.
Nous avons été ravis de passer ces jours ensembles et échanger nos connaissances qui fait tout le charme de ce métier, ceci grâce des clients comme vous.
Espérant vous revoir au plus vite .
Regards
Natty, Paco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

Generally dirty - room not cleaned properly - there were signs of the previous occupants. I didn't even want to handle the door key, the tag was so greasy and dirty and the sheets and towels were 'tired' to say the least. The lighting in the ensuite shower-room was so dim, I can't say whether to not it was clean or not, but I really didn't feel inclined to go barefoot. The roof terrace was uninviting with a few items of unattractive furniture. The breakfast was edible but it was certainly the least tasty I had in three weeks of travelling round Morocco. Better to have breakfast at Chez Dris and stay at Cap Sim, just round the corner, very clean and professionally run and a lot cheaper, with a beautifully furnished roof terrace.. I won't stay here again.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank t t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darelpacoessaouira, Propriétaire at RIad Dar El Paco, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Hello,
I think dear customer, my riad is not that which you speak.
We generally good reviews on cleanliness, breakfasts etc ...
Your comment does not bother me at all since you are the 6 th of 142.
M which is unpleasant that is your Anonyma and not having told us the during your stay, which would have allowed us to improve, a more constructive oral critique. We did a small survey of the housekeeping person who is serious, that it was surprised by that comment, the bed is made ​​every day, dirty bathroom cleaned with a detergent walls and floor.
Thank you for your password on the site that we will pay more attention to people leaving with a smile as you have done ..
cordially
PACO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrocław
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

Beautifully designed and well-located, Dar El Paco is an excellent choice for a short stay in Essaouira for a couple or a single traveller. Our room (which was called Sahara) was in a yellow/orange/red theme and was really pleasant to stay into. The breakfast was really good (the fresh orange juice!) and Annie, the supervisor of the riad, was a real treasure, as she picked us up from the Pullman bus stop and helped us in everything we needed. Great design and friendly atmosphere is what we'll remember best.

Room Tip: I can recommend Sahara, but I am sure other rooms are just as cosy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lotnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darelpacoessaouira, Gérant at RIad Dar El Paco, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for your answer.
We are pleased to welcome you to our Riad.
Parking around the medina
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
Level Contributor
458 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

Really lovely and cozy little riad in the centre of town. The location is simply excellent, easy walking distance to anywhere in town. Furthermore, the rooms are each uniquely furnished, reflecting a Moroccan theme. Each room and corresponding bathroom is cozy, comfortable and sufficiently equipped. Furthermore, Annie the hostess is truly a wonderful person who takes special care of her guests. Always happy to discuss restaurants and give directions, she makes the stay much more enjoyable.

Will happily return, cannot find any fault with the place.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hassan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darelpacoessaouira, Gérant at RIad Dar El Paco, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for the comments on our riad
Our goal is to satisfy you /
Paco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

As a young couple on a budget, we couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. This riad exceeded our expectations in every way. Staff are lovely, giving spot on recommendations for places to eat/things to see and do - must try Chez Driss! We stayed in the Sahara room which was very inviting, cosy and clean. Overall, this riad felt like a home away from home and was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darelpacoessaouira, Propriétaire at RIad Dar El Paco, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for the comments on our riad
Our goal is to satisfy you /
Paco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
#16 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#3 of 77 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Al Zahia
Riad Al Zahia
#26 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#7 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
0.0 mi away
Essaouira Wind Palace
Essaouira Wind Palace
#31 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad O Gre du Vent
Riad O Gre du Vent
#6 of 176 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RIad Dar El Paco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RIad Dar El Paco

Property: RIad Dar El Paco
Address: 10 Rue Draa, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 176 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — RIad Dar El Paco 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar el Paco is a small peaceful house in the heart of the Medina. Close to the souk, but on a quiet little side-street in the Mellah. Everything is in walking distance and everything is possible. We serve a traditional Moroccan breakfast every morning and all our 5 rooms have a private bathroom with shower and in 4 rooms we can accommodate 3 people (with a small charge). Panoramic terrace on the top floor with the option to book a relaxing massage. ADSL WIFI functions very well in all the RIAD. The common spaces includes the living room, fridge on the kitchen and the guest toilet on the ground floor. You will be greeted by us Giovanni & Lara, the owner of the house, we are Italian and we speak French, Spanish and English. With us other Moroccan lady who is fluent French, English and Italian. The house is perfectly secure, you will be free to take your room key and the main door key with you just like being at home. We will be there to answer all your questions, recommend you placed to visit, restaurants to eat and of course, tell you some general information about the city and culture. We are happy to guide and assist you during your stay. To ensure you a better service we would kindly ask you to communicate us the arrival time in Essaouria by email or what's up, the day before or the same day of arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your RIad Dar El Paco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing