We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appartments with the sea view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Jack's Apartments & suites
Ranked #27 of 177 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2013

A nice well equipped apartment. Clean and comfortable beds. 4 of us (2 adults and 2 children) we were in No.1 overlooking the sea. Children had the mezzanine floor which they loved. Great at night with the windows open to listen to the crashing waves. Close to the medina square with a roof terrace that has a 360deg vista.
The real estate office for the key collection and payment were not that personable being the only criticism.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank Ewen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
There are newer reviews for Jack's Apartments & suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2013

I would really recommend this place, there were three of us and plenty of room, keenly priced right in the heart of the town. It had the best ever roof terrace and the sound of the atlantic was just magical. The apartments were serviced every day. Definitely worth a stay.

Room Tip: ask for apartment 6,7 or 8 all have easy access to the fantastic roof terrace.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We stayed in apartment 9. The location is wonderful: just a few steps from the souk, beach. The view to the sea was partly hided by the high walls. There are three separated rooms in the apartment: two of them are double and one is twin. There is also a small bed in the hall. No dishwasher, washing machine are available.
No Wi-Fi is available at the apartment although the agency promises that there is Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikitin1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

We stayed 4 nights in Jack's apartments - 3 in apartment 7 and one in apartment 5. Apartment 7 was a modest apartment with an awesome view overlooking one of the main streets in Essaouira. We spent our 3 nights happily in this room. Our last night was spent in apartment #5. Apartment # 5 was sublime - an apartment split across 3 floors with it's own roof terrace, cute kitchen and sitting room and a decent sized master bedroom. We loved the last apartment and loved the independence of staying in a lovely ocean abode complete with serene ocean sounds and seagulls hovering over head.

The only downside is the amount of stairs you must climbs to reach the top apartments and roof terrace

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kewcheystories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Went with 4 other friends and stayed at Apartment number 1. It had a great view and was comfortable enough for the three nights we were there. It took a while to get an extra towel from the maid, but she did bring it by after she went up to apartment 2 and 3. The views were wonderful. The bathroom with the 3/4 castle looking wall was different. Everyone could hear your business in the bathroom, so it you want privacy with a group, go with a different apartment. The roof was nice, unfortunately, we weren't able to sit up there as it was winds and rainy most of the days we were in Essaouira. Not that the owners can control the weather. It was close to the front of the medina, which is a big plus since it can get a bit dicey farther back into the medina. I gave it a 4 for location and views and comfort for our crowd of 5 adults. (2 had to share as there are only 2 double beds and 2 couch-beds. Really for the money, it's a great option instead of a Riad.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joseph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We were initially very excited about staying in Jack's appartments having read good reviews and the look of the website was encouraging.
Having paid for our stay in an office in the main part of town we were then taken by a very nice lady to the appartment itself. Im afriad to say there were several issues with the place, some of which we only realised after spending some time there. I dont like complaining in a 'holiday's from hell' style but this place merits complaining about. The appartment was filthy. Despite a cleaning lady arriving every day to make the bed (which she did very nicely and folded my clothes on one day which I felt quite guilty about!), no other cleaning seemed to be done, the walls were really damp and hadnt been repainted in some time, the wall lamps and bed lamps were thick with muck, the 2 mats on the floor looked like they had never been cleaned...ever and this was just the bedroom. Moving into the kitchen (supposedly furnished) there was one frying pan and a metal teapot to be used on a camping gas stove. The teapot was full of black sticky grime and the gas cooker backfired occasionally when turned off. There were ants all over the kitchen side although I can see how this isnt necessarily the owners fault, however, the sticky goodies in the teapot probably went some way to attracting them. Finally and perhaps the worst thing was the bathroom. Im sorry to say it was mouldy on most walls and it really looked like someone had just thrown it together. The shower was a pit with a broken mount for the shower head which meant the water spray would only point to the wall so showering involved holding the shower itself in your hand (if that makes sense). The sink was the final icing on the cake I'm afraid with antique taps which were just disgustingly filthy and complemented the sink itself which didnt drain and seemed to have been blocked for sometime, leaving a pool of slightly brown water stewing in the sink for ten minutes after you washed your hands or cleaned your teeth. There was an antique plug system attatched to the sink itself which didnt work either. Finally, the 'Terrace'. There have been some clever photos taken on the website of a nice clean looking terrace with washed cushions sitting on sun loungers overlooking the sea. This is not an accurate picture. The terrace looked like it had been left in situe for several years. I am no clean freak but even I refused to sit on the sunloungers which used to be white but were instead also caked in muck and what seemed like a thick layer of stone dust. Also on the terrace was a disgarded toilet and a plant pot full of cigarette ends, broken tiles and a carrier bag that had been neatly tucked into the soil. There seemed to be a large plank holding down some corrigated iron on the roof next door. The corridor and stair well (we were 3 floors up) was exactly the same, grimy, dusty, badly lit and if the lights went out while you were half way up then there was almost no way to find the switch again (unless you could remember where it was from the night before.) There was a window halfway up the stairs which lead directly to a sheer drop out of the building onto the road outside and was set low down and personally I think would be impressively dangerous if you were bringing small children into the building (all it needed was some sort of guard up to the half way level to stop people falling out etc.)
After 3 days stay (yes we did stay this long) but having paid up front, the prospect of trying to ask for our money back and then having to find somewhere else to stay (we asked in two other places only to find they were fully booked) was not a particularly attractive one.
When we returned the keys to the booking office the lady asked if we had enjoyed our stay, we told her all of the problems we had found. She was surprised and said that the building didnt belong to 'Jack's Appartments' strictly and that they just let it out for a 3rd party (giving the impression that she didnt know what the appartment's appearence was like). She quite rightly said that we should have come and complained earlier and they could have rehoused us in another appartment and I am sure there is some truth in this. However, we didnt and she didnt exactly offer us a reduction or anything, which under the circumstances would have been nice. After all, these appartments are not cheap, if they had been then we could have almost understood the condition they were in. The website gives the impression that a jolly french family are running a collection of stylish, clean, family friendly rentals, our experience was about as far from that as you can imagine.
However, this appartment does have the potential to be nice. With a few licks of paint, a thourough clean and the odd replacement of broken items, this could be a nice place to stay. It is in a good location and the building is interesting and surrounded by historically interesting buildings. As it is, it felt like a student flat, neglected, damp, full of someones old furniture that they didnt want anymore and dirty (P.S I dont think that this is the cleaners fault as she seemed to be employed mainly to make the bed, maybe sweep the floor occasionaly and change towels top up toilet rolls etc). I hope that the owner's of this flat are able to sort out the necessary trimmings to make this place more hospitable. As it was, it did spoil our experience of Essouira.

Room Tip: Dont choose Joseph 1 unless you look at it first, if they sort it out then it could be nice.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank northbysudouest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

I spent two nights in one of those apartments, the one with the amazing terrace facing the shore, last floor. Incredibly clean, charming atmosphere, good service, great view. The position is very good, right in a calm part of the medina. Price is high but fair. AWESOME!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dm02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.1 mi away
La maison des artistes
La maison des artistes
#24 of 74 in Essaouira
169 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Malaika
Riad Malaika
#16 of 74 in Essaouira
812 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Kafila
Riad Kafila
#4 of 177 in Essaouira
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Perle d'Eau
Riad Perle d'Eau
#6 of 177 in Essaouira
264 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad O Gre du Vent
Riad O Gre du Vent
#9 of 177 in Essaouira
112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar Loulema
Dar Loulema
#57 of 177 in Essaouira
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jack's Apartments & suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jack's Apartments & suites

Address: 1 Place Moulay Hassan | Scala, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range: £43 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jack's apartments are situated in buildings which are centuries old. They overlook the ancient medina ramparts and the Atlantic ocean. Fully renovated to modern standards, the apartments consist of Living Room, Bedroom, Kitchen and Bathroom, furnished in the Moroccan style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Jack's Apartments & suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing