We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A disappointing experience”
Review of Riad El Mess

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad El Mess
Ranked #55 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
london
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A disappointing experience”
Reviewed 22 November 2011

We stayed here for the final two nights of our Intrepid tour. Starting with the positive the location is excellent and the staff pleasant enough. However, most if not all of the group were not happy with our stay. Problems included a lack of hot water, damp and unclean rooms, poor standards of beds, very mediocre breakfast and leaking rooms when it was raining!In our room the sofa was filthy with unpleasant stains, floor dirty and the mattress very old. The sheet would not cover it and as I write this my wife and I are suffering from the beg bug bites! This could be a great hotel if these big issues were addressed. Be prepared if you choose to stay here.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrahman247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    26
    8
    10
    4
See reviews for
4
11
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 November 2011

This Riad was excellent value, the staff were friendly and accommodating and the breakfast was fresh and delicious. The room was a little damp but the shower was hot and the view from the rooftop terrace was fantastic. We stayed 3 nights and loved it. Thanks Isham!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2011

This Riad is well located to get around Essaouira and the staff are friendly.

One of the previous reviews said that the riad has a musty smell - this in part is probably because the of the sea being so near, but I found that just opening the windows helped.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2011

Small, pretty riad very well located in the medina. It isn't luxurious, but the rooms are large, the plumbing works, it is quiet enough to sleep until 9 if you want to, the staff are fantastic, and there's free wi-fi in the lobby. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msedenpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2010

we had this riad booked for us through intrepid.Was supposed to be a comfort package but we were very disappointed.Small smelly rooms really musty and batroom stank.We picked alot of other riads ourself through tripadvisor and they were fantastic especially riad de la oriental in marrakech .I would advise people to look for something a bit nicer

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank essendon18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Essaouira hotels

Crowborough, UK
Level Contributor
100 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2010

Had already booked nights at the Ibis, but seeing this from the coach from Marrakech - and the distance from the centre - decided to take up the offer of nights at the Riad El Mess, from an "agent" waiting for coaches at the coach station. The building is pretty basic, and 17th century. Each room is traditionally furnished in warm colours and wood and ironwork furniture. My room had no exterior window, which in retrospect would have be a real plus. Lighting in the rooms was poor, shower and toilet simple (wet room) - water tepid, and yet it was a nice place to take time out. Reception staff courteous and not over-friendly, breakfast adequate, and I enjoyed sunbathing on the rooftop, with views over to the nearby ramparts and seawalls and the Atlantic rollers crashing onto the shore. It is very centrally located. I enjoyed really good food, notably excellent fresh sardines selceted in the nearby fish market and cooked on a grill at another local cafe. The local hammam (Hammam Mounia) is just around the corner - with the full works and massage at 10 euros - all done highly professionally. Would I go again? yes indeed

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelH62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sahara
Hotel Sahara
#69 of 74 in Essaouira
3.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Sidi Magdoul
Riad Sidi Magdoul
#35 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caverne d'Ali Baba
Caverne d'Ali Baba
#39 of 74 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Etoile d'Essaouira
Riad Etoile d'Essaouira
#41 of 74 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Le Grand Large
Riad Le Grand Large
#43 of 74 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar Al Bahar
Dar Al Bahar
#33 of 74 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad El Mess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Mess

Property: Riad El Mess
Address: 14 Rue Oujda Ancienne Medina | 6 Rue Sidi Ahmed Ouharoune Ancienne Médina, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Riad El Mess 1*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Riad El Mess reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing