We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
Ranked #14 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Bern, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Brilliant service.”
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel for 5 nights in July and it was a great experience. The staff are extremely attentive.

The hotel organised a complimentary taxi from Marrakech as we were staying for 5 nights.

The hotel itself is really well decorated and very modern. The pool is beautiful, the perfect setting and the staff around the pool were particularly good-very friendly and always on hand with new towels and service for drinks or snacks. The only thing is that there really is an incredibly strong wind and this makes sitting in some areas around the pool a little difficult. There were some areas which were a little bit more sheltered though.

The room- really well finished, very modern, lots of space. We had a beautiful view over the pool and out to the ocean. The terrace/balcony was massive with comfortable furniture. The bed was extremely comfortable. All things you could need in room - complimentary water and minibar drinks, good air con, moroccon pastries in room on arrival. The housekeeping staff cleaned the room really well and provided a nice turndown service in the evening. They also provided a newsletter every day with activities/tours etc for the following day. The bathroom was nice but I have one complaint-the overhead shower was not very powerful and at times hardly any water came through it, it was also not particularly hot water at times. Also, the floor, particularly in the bathroom area looked a bit worn and marked, which let down the overall appearance a bit.

Food - we ate in the downstairs fish restaurant. The service was really excellent and many of the waiters really friendly. The breakfast was the best i've experienced. Everything you could want.

Spa- I had a pedicure and a manicure. The pedicure was excellent but I had a different person for the manicure and it was a bit disappointing.

We did the botanical tour and this was excellent. The man who gave us the tour was very friendly and clearly very passionate about plants.

Overall an excellent experience and we definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenfez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dkarbownik, Directeur général at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Thank you very much for your message!

We will check your shower..And also the treatments in our Spa..but we are happy you spent good time with us!

Hope to see yu soon in Mogador

Best Regards

Daniel Karbownik
GM Sofitel Mogador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    823
    413
    153
    66
    47
See reviews for
461
689
39
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. We arrived at midnight after a 16 hour drive from the desert and arriving at the Sofitel was like arriving in an oasis. It is a gorgeous resort, and is run very efficiently. Staff are warm and friendly, breakfast is delicious, the pool is also lovely although it can be a bit chilly when there are strong winds. I highly recommend playing golf, even if you just hit the driving range, as the golf pros are extremely friendly. It is perfect for a family stay as the kids villa is absolutely brilliant and they have a lot of activities catered towards children. The only downside I would say is the distance from the main city, but the shuttle bus service that they offer runs every hour and drops of you in front of the old city. The food by the pool that we had wasn't very good either but apart from that, the reception is great, they made fantastic suggestions for dinner, and organised a fabulous 1 hour quad biking experience. All in all, we had a lovely stay and would recommend this for families.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aveens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dkarbownik, Directeur général at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Thank you very much for your message!

Hope to see you soon in Mogador!

Best regards

Daniel Karbownik
GM Sofitel Mogador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We enjoyed 7 nights at the Sofitel from the 9th June. The holiday was to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. We booked a Prestige Suite but upon arrival we were presented with a Mogador Suite which was a wonderful gesture.

The suite was on the 1st floor with fantastic views of the gardens, pool, golf course and the sea (in the distance). The room was tremendous, could not fault anything. The room service (food, drinks) was 1st class. The only sad thing, we could not use the spacious balcony due to the strong winds from the Atlantic.....Essaouira is known locally as the "windy city".

We ate in the L'atelieres Aux Aromes twice. The 1st meal was superb....food, service, wines 10/10 but the 2nd visit was not so good, probably due to the the restaurant being full whereas there were only 2 other tables occupied during our 1st visit. Service & food quality suffered because of this. Food and drink prices may be a little top heavy for some.

The pool, gym, spa, reception area, cocktail bar etc are all wonderful and the managers and all the staff were very friendly and helpful, especially Amyal who was very efficient helping us with taxis, restaurant reservations etc. His English was very proficient.

There are guided walks, cycle rides, cooking lessons etc provided by the hotel.

Congratulations

Room Tip: Go for the 1st floor Mogador Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank penk_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Directeur général at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Thank you very much for your message!

Hope to see you soon in Mogador ...And be happy in your life!!!

Best Regards!

Daniel Karbownik
GM Sofitel Mogador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We stayed in this hotel for four days having spent three days in marrakech. We travelled 2 1/2 hrs from marrakech to Essaouira which is a complete contrast to the hustle and bustle of marrakech. The Hotel ha a minibus which run every hour into essaouira which is the centre with a working harbour and fish market plenty of little medina's and souks (markets and shops) in winding alleyways thoughout lots of bars to sit and people watch but no alcohol is served for religious reasons (you can drink in the hotel) The room in the hotel are very modern with private balcony with large furnishings on. Although there is a golf course we did not go for the golf but for the comfort of the hotel. Staff speak French and English beautiful pool area with big double beds and towels the waiting staff are very intent of making your stay comfortable and are always walking around asking if you are ok. Restaurants in hotel are excellent alcohol is expensive though. I would recommend this hotel for couples.

Room Tip: low level room on reception level
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Directeur général at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Thank you very much!
On behalf of all my staff I want to say to you that we are very happy you had great time in Mogador!!

Hope to see you soon!

Daniel Karbownik
GM Sofitel Mogador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Our first time visit to Morocco Essaouiri and a Sofitel.
We were blown away by the friendliness and warm of the people.
The Hotel is an example of great design and good decorating. The hotel is surrounded by unspoiled nature.
The rooms are big with all the amenities you can think of and the hospitality and service is great.
Just some minor details of fine-tuning needing to be done.
The management and staff have and open mind and ear and very responsive to any suggestion or concern. If there is a complaint it is solved quickly and smoothly.
The pool area is proven to be a lot better organised as is stated in the previous comments.
The food at the Les Ateliers d’ Aromes, service and atmosphere is great. If you have specific wishes in regards of the food the staff will do everything within power to make requested adjustments. PARADISE for people who appreciate warmth, authenticity, good food, no mass tourism and a wonderful climate.

Because our knowledge of the French language is limited, we normally express ourselves in English or German, our conversation to the employees at the spa is difficult they speak little English, no German and are just able to express themselves in French. This limits the options to discuss wishes and best treatment options. Improvement needs to take place in our opinion.
The Golf course is beautiful maintained and with winds up to 7 beaufort makes it very challenging. With specific knowledge of the course and those winds the caddy is of added value to your round of golf. The views mentioned earlier in a comment doesn’t matter for a golfer; in my opinion and personally when I play golf I found the lay out of the course and the high standard of maintenance more important.

It is a good thing as a guest to get to the cocktail party with the management. One of the few we know of where the management is really open (is even keen on) customer insights; yet to improve even further. They listen to your suggestions carefully. And act upon it visibly as we see improvements the next day.

We would like to thank the staff (front and back) and the management for making it possible to make our holiday more than wonderful! We def be back.

Room Tip: Every room is fine the suites are even better and worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Directeur général at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Thank you very much for your message!

We are very happy you had a good stay in Mogador and you appreciated our famous restaurant "l'Atelier aux Arômes"!

On behalf of all my staff, we hope to see you soon in Mogador!

Daniel Karbownik
GM Sofitel Mogador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We just spent a quick 48 hours at the Sofitel Mogador. We live in Marrakech and Essauoria makes a nice break now and again.
The Sofitel Mogador could not have been better. From friendly and efficient staff to great restaurants and golf.

Well done Sofitel, we will be back soonest. Thank you again.

Patrizia Banner

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatB91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dkarbownik, Directeur général at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Thank you very much Patrizia

On behalf of all my staff of "ambassadors"...We hope to see you soon in Mogador!!

Regards and Merci!

Daniel karbownik
GM Sofitel Mogador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 30 May 2012 via mobile

We've enjoyed a couple days in the Villa Mogador in a relaxing atmosphere with a beautifull view on the Atlantic. Even though it was very windy the kids enjoyed the heated swimming pool. Mounia and her crew were so friendly and helpful on every occasion reflected in all the services we experienced - bravo, tumbs up - keep up the good work. Hope to see you soon Majid!

Ahmed&family

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ahmed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dkarbownik, Directeur général at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Thank you very much for your message!

Mounia and majid are two of or best "ambassadors" and we don't miss to congratulate them!!

Hope to see you soon in Mogador

Merci!

Daniel Karbownik
GM Sofitel Mogador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
2.7 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
8.3 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#13 of 74 in Essaouira
214 reviews
2.2 mi away
Atlas Essaouira & Spa
Atlas Essaouira & Spa
#23 of 74 in Essaouira
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
626 reviews
2.7 mi away
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
#7 of 74 in Essaouira
433 reviews
2.9 mi away
L'Heure Bleue Palais
L'Heure Bleue Palais
#11 of 74 in Essaouira
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa

Property: Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
Address: Domaine Mogador, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Essaouira
#5 Spa Hotel in Essaouira
#6 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#9 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#12 Family Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Prestigia, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf Hotel Essaouira
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing