We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a great Sofitel experience” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
Ranked #15 of 77 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Queenstown
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not a great Sofitel experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

A very disappointing Sofitel experience. Check in was very slow, reception staff were however very nice and helpful. Our room was at the very end of the complex on the ground level which made us feel quite separate from the complex. Room was very small, internet was poor but a technician came and immediately fixed that problem providing our own router which was great. The pool was nothing like the images provided on the website. This hotel reminded me of some English holiday camp. Many children so I think it would be best suited to family's which undoubtedly would have a good experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara888Queenstown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dkarbownik, Directeur général at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Dear guest

Thank you for your feed back. I'm happy you appreciated our staff but your comment of the room and the pool are really a big surprise for me. All our rooms are 45m² with a terrace of 10m².... So it's really spacious rooms...Ans usually our guests said to us that our pool is better in real than in picture.... So I respect your feed back..but it's really a surprise...

Anyway, it's right we had many families during august ... but usually the pool is very quiet...

Hope to see you another day in Mogador to make a new experience!

Regards

Daniel Karbownik
GM Sofitel mogador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    774
    394
    146
    62
    44
See reviews for
432
656
33
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

Beautiful hotel, unfortunately not very close to the beach or medina. Service wasn't great: we had to wait for 45 min. before they could give us the lunch menu and 1H 45 min before lunch was served.....

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dkarbownik, Directeur général at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
Dear Gusest

Thank you very much for your feed back. We are happy, you apprciate our resort..and we apologize for the timing of the service...

We share all these feed backs with the staff and so, be sure, we will work on it.

By the way...Hope to see you soon in Mogador!

Daniel Kabownik
GM Sofitel Mogador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
95 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

There is no doubt that the ambience, decor and pool facilities are top end and would scrub up in the 5 star ratings. We actually pushed the boat out and paid for a private villa with a private pool. The villa lived up to the pictures shown on the hotel website, the bedrooms (fabulous marshmallow bed) and bathrooms were 5 star with everything from electric blinds/curtains/flat screen free standing tvs/ipods/reading lights, air conditioning that is controllable/ large 4 seater bath, Hermes toiletries, large walk in shower, lots of cupboards/wardrobes with quilted hangers etc etc...you getting the picture! We arrived to fresh fruits, wine, nibbles which was great. We ate in the Villa that evening and the food was good and not too expensive. Drinks are typical of a hotel of this standing.

On arrival we were transported via golf buggy to our Villa by Gabrielle who was to be assigned our Butler for our 4 day stay. Gabrielle was polite and professional along with our Female Butler Hakira. They arranged for drinks and food to be delivered, extra towels etc. Always polite and a keen willingness to help. Hakira arranged to take the men to the golf club etc.

Now this is by no means a complaint but there are some things they could do better. When we arrived at the villa we decided to bring some of our own things, like yogurt, cereal, milks etc so we werent both bumping up our bill at the end of the stay but we also had the freedom of eating or snacking when we wanted to. Not cooking, just snacking. The Villas wasnt equipped for 4 people (2 bedroomed villa). We only had 2 Coffee Cups. We requested further cups and crockery and this was provided immediately on request but then removed the next morning by the maid along with the corkscrew! This happened most days. One morning we had no pool towels. The Information book in the room was in French with no English/German section. We couldnt always get through to the Butlers. The furniture outside gets wet overnight due I think to the sprinkler system, however all the wonderful luxurious furniture around the pool has covers so they remain clean and dry for usage the following day. It would be a good idea to have the same covers available to use in the Villas as the furniture is getting soiled.

This is not a complaint as I said earlier just suggestions for improvements. We paid £400 per night for the villa so these little things need to be right.

We ate on the second night in the restaurant which was wonderful and the service was very good.

We also requested a late departure as we didnt require to leave the hotel until 3pm and this was granted with no charge which was also a big plus for guests in the villa. Thank you.

We would return, most definitely. This is a good 5 star standard hotel which with abit of attention to detail could really push up the ranks...

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkshirebreakaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dkarbownik, Directeur général at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feed back

We are happy you spent good time with us...And work on the details you said to us... We hope to see you soon in Mogador...

Best regards

Daniel Karbownik
GM Sofitel mogador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

Absolutely stunning hotel.
Beds were very comfortable very soft and squishy.
Sun beds plentiful and also very squishy and comfortable.
General managers were always visible and polite, eager to help.
Hotel honestly looks beautiful couldn't have been more pleased with decor...if I was being very panicity one day room wasn't mopped.
Slight confusion as hotel wasn't expecting us and after travelling for almost 10 hours we just really wanted to have a shower and had to wait almost 40 minutes while our room was made up and only one dressing robe in room (but we never used it so that doesn't really matter!)
Not all of the staff could understand English very well...but there would usually be someone else who could so again not that big an issue.
Food had very French influence and not very many vegetarian options (Pasta or chips)...spaghetti bolognaise very dry no tomatoes sauce and pizza a little too salty...but great steak at French Restaurant within hotel definitely worth visit, but you pay 5* prices so do not be surprised at bill.
Hotels Beach 20 min walk through golf course (you could
Ride bike...however they were all out when We wanted to use so we walked) was stunning very unspoilt
and picturesque...However....be warned EXTREMELY windy...so do not go expecting to sunbathe on a nice sun bed/beach towel...in fact leave the towel it would only weigh you down or blow you away...leave the sun hat as well mine was blown away twice!)
Final gripe...connecting to free wifi was an issue inside the room but easy around pool or on balcony.
All in all gorgeous hotel, very helpful staff, some teething problems but all resolved quite quickly.
Also word of advice....if heading to medina...be warned men do like to stare! (even if dressed modestly and with your partner!)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank want2seetheworld2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dkarbownik, Directeur général at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Dear Gusest

Thank you for your message! We are happy you spent a very good time with us and share your comment with all the staff!

For the Wifi, we work on it and it will be better and better!

Hope to see you soon in Mogador

Daniel Karbownik
DG Sofitel Mogador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turnhout, Antwerpen, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

Don't be misled by the 5-star rating this hotel has. The location and facilities are great but the service is a real let down. Apparantly Sofitel trains their employees here and after 4 months they bring in new trainees. They hardly understand any other language but Moroccon and have no clue what they should be doing. To get your drinks cold or your meal hot at the table well just forget it. When complaining about this at the director he simply told us that a lot of the staff were trainees ? I just wondered why we had to pay for a 5-star accomodation with a trainee service ? This hotel is poorly managed ... And during our visit just 40% occupation don't want to know how horribly things will go wrong when fully booked !

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greetenfee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dkarbownik, Directeur général at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your message and to take time to give us your feed back. We share all the comments of our guests with our staff..So , be sure, we make our best to give a good service to our guests. We apologize for your experience.

Just one thing..I'm the General manager...And I never said to you that our staff is in training..cause it's not the case..

Regards
Daniel Karbownik
GM Sofitel Mogador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

Hi,

After coming from a magical 4 days in Marrakech I found this hotel to be unhelpful, soulless, and rude. They allowed non hotel guests to enjoy the hotel amenities. One vistor followed me to my room knocked on my door and charged lunch to my room. The manager was rude and patronizing and did not address my concerns as a single woman staying in a room alone. The one meal (breakfast) that I ate made me sick and upon check out the concierge double charged me for my already overpriced airport transfer. I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank sharon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dkarbownik, Directeur général at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feed back and taking time to post your comments.
We already spoke about these problems during your stay in Mogador and like I said to you... We immediately make an actions plan...

One ore time we appologize for that.

Sincerely

Daniel Karbownik
GM Sofitel Mogador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

Staying at Sofitel Mogador I enjoyned the must pleasant holidays in my life. Very attentive staff always looking to meet or even exceed your expectations. Very present management assuring always the good operations of the Hotel.

Regarding the hotel, simply amazing!! Mixing the moroccan style with a taste of africa you in a very modern style. Very comfortable rooms with 45 sqm ( Standard Room ) with magnificient views over the golf course and the sea I enjoyed the must beautifulls sunsets till today.

Room Tip: Book a Vila if you travelling on family or an amawing Luxury Room in the Hotel last floor for magnif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sorrisos82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dkarbownik, Directeur général at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 18 August 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your feed back! We share all the comments from our guests with all the staff...And I'm sure they will be happy to feel you happy!

Hope to see you soon in Mogador!

Best Regards

Daniel Karbownik
GM Sofitel Mogador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
2.8 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
8.5 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#21 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
3.1 mi away
L'Heure Bleue Palais
L'Heure Bleue Palais
#12 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
2.8 mi away
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
#10 of 77 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
2.2 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#7 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa

Property: Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
Address: Domaine Mogador, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Essaouira
#4 Spa Hotel in Essaouira
#5 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#9 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#12 Family Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Prestigia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, LoveHolidays and Odigeo so you can book your Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf And Spa
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing