We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very nice hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
Ranked #16 of 77 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

Currently staying at the Sofitel Mogador. A very nice hotel, extremely friendly staff. Having experienced the other end of the staffing spectrum in North Africa at places like the Hyatt in Sharm I have to say I was a little wary but the staff here have proved as helpful and polite as you will find anywhere. Senior management techniques are very evident, so why 4 stars not 5? A few small things: Our room wasn't quite ready when we arrived, no big deal, we were given a nice glass of mint tea and some fruit in the lobby. We only had to wait 15min and were taken to our room, actually a very nice villa which I would recommend, everything was lovely apart from some dirty glasses in the sink. A small issue but kind of took away any 'wow factor. We went to explore and were given a personal tour of the hotel along the way which was lovely, when we got back there was a bottle of wine and a fruit platter waiting for us which was a very nice touch. However no corkscrew, again no big deal but another loss of "wow". A couple of other things, beds were turned down on our first 2 nights but not the 3rd, hardly an issue to turn it down yourself but on the 4th night housekeeping knocked on the door at 9.50 to turn down the beds,in the process waking up my wife who got up to let them in. As a last minor gripe there is a very nice coffee machine in the room but having used the original 3 milk sachets in the fridge it seems no matter who I ask I can't manage to get any more. I'm asked "fresh or sachet" I say sachet is fine but the cupboard remains bare. These are of course the most minor of gripes but the hotel does class itself as a 5 star "Luxury" which would put it on a par with Four Seasons hotels at which we have stayed. And at a Four Seasons my bed has always been turned down (before everyone is already asleep) and I've never asked twice for milk. To summarise great hotel, if you're thinking of staying do so. Just a few minor issues from 5 stars

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moriaty1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dkarbownik, Directeur général at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 1 November 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your feed back and all the details. It's very important for us to have this feed back and to work on it with all the staff...

Anyway, we are happy you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you soon in Mogador!

Best Regards

Daniel Karbownik
GM Sofitel Mogador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    761
    391
    144
    62
    45
See reviews for
428
648
33
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
milan, italy
Level Contributor
172 reviews
172 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

Stayed just one night for business trip, so i can't comment on the various leisure attractions like the spa or the golf course (which by the way looked stunning). Nice hotel, well decorated. Rooms are quite large, but somebody wouldn't like the "open" bathroom. Bed too soft, but evidently that's just me. Wonderful view from the balcony overlooking the large pool and the ocean. Excellent breakfast. Overall a very good choice.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lucaerrante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dkarbownik, Directeur général at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 1 November 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feed back! Even if it was a short stay...we anjoy you appreciated our Resort!

Hope to see you soon in Mogador

Daniel Karbownik
GM Sofitel Mogador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

We had a fantastic stay at Essaouira and the Sofitel Hotel, the rooms were amazing, the pillows are to die for and the food was fantastic at lunchtime by the pool....
My Partner who is a golfer loved the course, if you get chance walk over the course to the beach, it is unspoilt and beautiful, there aren't any sunbeds as it is windy but take a towel with you,,,
Tip - iit is fine to sunbathe at the beach in Essaouirs town, they cost us 4 euro for a bed for the whole day, there is a shuttle on the hour down to the town and taxis are cheap and easy to grab..it was nice to be just outside the main town and having looked around at other horels we defo got the best in our opinion considering the cost etc...we would rerturn to Essaouira and the Sofitel due to resort and the helpfulness of the staff

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the golf course and sea which was superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jlo_shore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dkarbownik, Directeur général at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 26 October 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your feed back...We share all the coments with all our staff...And so thank you for them!

We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you soon in Mogador!!

Best Regards

Daniel Karbownik
GM Sofitel Mogador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

We stayed here for 11 nights and loved every one of those.

If you want a location which just provides real peace, quiet and relaxation then this the place for you. I have just come back and we had sun every day with only 2 hours (total) of bits of cloud. The rest of the time the weather was amazing.

There is a breeze at Essaouira but I actually found that was quite nice. However, take something for the evening if you like to sit out. After hot sun all day it does go off a bit cold in the evening.

The rooms were lovely and they provided excellent transfers from Marrakech airport - which really helped the holiday at the beginning and the end.

Breakfast was lovely - a good wide selection buffet and the same with the Cafe Kasbah buffet dinner (although a restaurant is available). The breakfast actually filled me up for most of the day!

Service from the staff was professional, efficient and really friendly. However, it was not overpowering which can be a little bit annoying - they give you space to actually move around without asking if you want something!

The pool was a decent size and heated. Some people had complained it wasn't 'hot' enough but, to be honest, with the temperature in the sun being so high a cooler (not cold!) pool was a bonus. the natural pool was not heated (as you might expect) and is set away from the main area - which means its very quiet indeed but there are no services available to you easily for drinks etc.

We wandered around the golf course - lots of paths if you feel like a stroll or a morning run. Actually from a running perspective, the paths have lots of twists and turns and hills so quite a good workout - if, like me, you'd rather run outside.

You can walk to the beach in about 15-20mins. Nice walk and the beach is empty and private. Perhaps a slight downside is that there are no facilities down there at all but then i don't necessarily think you would go to this hotel if you wanted a beach. There were several camels just wandering around - very friendly and actually really quite cute - no spitting at all!

WiFi around the pool was reasonable - could be challenging at times but that might be a benefit to most people. I was slightly put off by there not being WiFi in my room but, in honesty, I didnt ask if they could rectify this with a router - to be honest they probably would have done based on their other service levels. If you have your own I'm sure you could take with you as ethernet is available in the room right next to a power socket :)

If you do want to wander in to Essaouira, there's an hourly free shuttle bus which was great. It collected you from the same spot on the half hour. Certainly meaning that morning or evening out in Essaouira was possible for a change of scene and a bit of Moroccan culture/shopping. Essaouira is much calmer than Marrakech and, similarly, the levels of bartering much gentler and 'Euro-Friendly'

Perhaps the one slight disappointment was the evening entertainment (which you can easily avoid if you'd rather). It was a little repetitive with the same act performing each night and performing the same songs. I would probably have liked to see a different act each night. They had a baby grand piano and I was nearly ready to get up and play :D

All in all, if you want quiet and relaxing pool-side but with the ability to get out and about then this is a perfect location. Sunny and modern and very good service.

Room Tip: Deluxe Rooms facing the golf course have nice outside space and are away from the hubbub of the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DJ_Hack2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dkarbownik, Directeur général at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your feed back! We share with our staff all the coments ans do we will share with them yous comments ontheir friendly and the their efficacity!!

Hope to see you in Mogador another time!

Best Regards

Daniel Karbownik
GM Sofitel mogador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Sofitel Essaouira for 6 nights:
1.Absolutely breathtaking hotel, with fine modern details
2.After being greeted in Marrakech by our driver and escorted in a clean and full stocked Mercedes van with refreshments for our 3 hour drive, I didn't think it could get better than what were experiencing...I was wrong...it got much better, being greeted with mint tea and macaroons when we step foot into the hotel. Absolutely amazing reception.
3.Once shown to our room, I couldn't believe that they had rose petals and swans made out of towels laid out with champagne and more sweet snacks. The view from our room once we stepped onto the balcony over the resort, pool and coast was to die for!
4.We never once ate outside of the hotel, the meals are expensive but it's definitely worth it, and one must take advantage of the food served by the pool.
5.I will definitely be staying here again, between the romantic and thoughtful details, the food, cleanliness and the service received, nearly a year on I still can't stop talking about how amazing it was.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsSAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dkarbownik, Directeur général at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your feed back!! We were happy to share your feed back with all our staff!!! And one more time...Congratulations and Be Happy!!

Best regards

Daniel Karbownik
GM Sofitel Mogador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

beautifully perfect to build unforgettable experiences and souvenirs
no doubt it is one of the nicest hotel on the atlantic ocean ...
just one regret ... not to stay longer there

nb : may be one area where the service can however improve : the pool services ...

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank unjourenvoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dkarbownik, Directeur général at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your feed back!! So we are waitinf for you for a stay a little more longer!!!...and be sure we work on the pool service

Hope to see you soon in Mogador!

Daniel Karbownik
GM Sofitel Mogador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

This is a beautiful hotel, with two full size swimming pools, spa and gym, and lovely grounds. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful and breakfast was great, lots of choice. The pool staff were also very friendly but the one thing that really let the place down was the service at lunchtimes. The staff from the fish restaurant by the pool were extremely slow. We waited 15 mins for a menu then the waiter didn't come back for half an hour. I'm sure people would have perhaps ordered dessert or tea/coffee had the service not been so slow. Bar service in the evenings was also very slow and I would not rate it 5 star service. It is a pity as this is the only downside, the rooms are really lovely and I particularly liked the way the chamber maid made up the room each day, putting the curtains into different designs and doing artistic things with the towels. Very pretty to come back to.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarphati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dkarbownik, Directeur général at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 13 October 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your feed back. We apologize for the problems of service and will share this message with the staff...

We are happy you appreciated our staff and the design of the hotel and hope to see you again in Mogador!

Sincerely

Daniel Karbownik
GM Sofitel Mogador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
2.8 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
8.5 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#21 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
3.1 mi away
L'Heure Bleue Palais
L'Heure Bleue Palais
#12 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
2.2 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#8 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
2.8 mi away
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
#7 of 77 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa

Property: Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
Address: Domaine Mogador, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Essaouira
#5 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#5 Spa Hotel in Essaouira
#9 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#12 Family Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, ACCOR, Prestigia, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf And Spa
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing