We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel in a peaceful location but ....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
Ranked #16 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Frodsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good hotel in a peaceful location but ....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

Have just returned from a 4 night stay. Great location and very comfortable hotel even if it's decor is a little worn in places (especially corridors). Staff,including G4S security were generally friendly , helpful and responsive.The location and facilities generally earn the 5 star rating but room service,during our stay,was far from the mark. The complementary minibar,coffee facility,toiletries,and even toilet paper were not replenished unless we asked and then not in a timely way,reception confirmed it should have been automatic. We should not have had to draw to the attention of catering staff the fact that sparrows were eating the breakfast cereals,they were then covered.
The walk to the deserted beach along the marked path through the golf course is a must but be prepared to be stopped by golfers to be told you should not be there,golfers need to be told to expect walkers and coexistence.
The evening me use we were shown were not exciting but that was of no concern as there are plenty of very good resteraunts in town
We would consider visiting again but from our experience this visit our expectations re 5 star rated service would be reduced,it could just have been a bad week for the hotel.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Anon675738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edoardo G, General Manager at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Madame, Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to write a positive and detailed review on Tripadvisor.

We were extremely pleased to read that you enjoyed the facilities and the service provided by our Ambassadors.

We would also like to thank you for your constructive feedback with regards to the room service, and would like to assure you that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

Once again, thank you for bringing to our attention this matter and we hope to have you back with us in the near future and show you the improvements realized.

Sincerely,

Edoardo Giuntoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    786
    402
    149
    64
    46
See reviews for
442
664
37
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Hotel ratings can be misleading, but this hotel earned its 5 stars. The buildings and accommodation were simply stunning and the choice of pools, restaurants, walks and activities both accessible and balanced. My daughter and I took advantage of Moroccan music and dancing, pilates, cookery class, Moroccan wine tasting (fabulous) and seriously chilling out. Our room was stunning and views out to sea, including evening sun sets, just beautiful. Whilst busy, the hotel never seemed full, nobody reserved sun loungers (!) and even the children seemed to respond to the peaceful surroundings, having a lovely time.

Large and 'grand' hotels can be intimidating but the staff at the Sofitel are very accommodating, professional and always smiling. Led by the General Manager, Eduardo, we were incredibly impressed and hope to return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Worldlwanderwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edoardo G, General Manager at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Dear Madame,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your positive experience at the Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa.

I was extremely pleased to read that you fully enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to welcoming you back in a not too distant future.

Warm regards,

Edoardo Giuntoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karlslunde, Denmark
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

We just came back from a 4 night stay in the Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa. The hotel is of such nice and in general the service is good. But at one vital point we completely lost our trust and faith to the hotel management. That is in controlling the hygiene of the breakfast restaurant.

One morning dining in the breakfast restaurant my wife found what looked like excrement from birds in her food. We immediately asked the waiter and she blushed, but confirmed that this was probably excrement from birds. She pointed at the ceiling and we saw that that was birds all over inside the restaurant. We saw several birds sit and eat directly from the buffet. We took several pictures to document this incident and we left the restaurant without eating anything.

Afterward we had a meeting the management of the hotel. They acknowledged the problem, but for them it was important that guest was allowed to sit and eat outside the restaurant. In order to allow this the door to the restaurant had to stay open and this allowed the birds to come inside the restaurant and they were not willing/able to change this.

We believe it is unacceptable a 5 star hotel (any hotel) can disregard the wellbeing of their guests in such an appalling way and therefore cannot recommend any guests to eat their breakfast at Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cekkot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edoardo G, General Manager at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Madame, Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa.
I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

We would like however to assure you that food hygiene is one of our highest priorities : food sample are taken and analyzed at least on a monthly basis, HACCP is strictly followed, and we comply with both Moroccan and European food hygiene regulations.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.
Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Edoardo Giuntoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marbella, Spain
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

I stayed for 5 days as a solo traveller and felt safe and generally well looked after which isn't always the case as a female. The male staff only ignored me once during breakfast and I had to wait for my favourite waitress to start her shift. The female waitresses are generally delightful.

The guys decided to rather serve the couples around me. Slightly irritating. Same at the Tiki bar where they served two men rather than me.

Loved the room and the amenities but the service isn't 5 star as it is can be slow to the point of being non-existent. The maid broke a bottle and did not remove all the shards on my floor. Ergo, I stepped into one. Hmmm.

The mattresses are amazing and I have never slept so well! Shuttle service into town is great and the location too.

Overall: recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChickCam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edoardo G, General Manager at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Madame,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Tripadvisor.

I was surprised to read that you found our male Ambassadors not as efficient as the female ones, and would like to express my sincerest apologies for that.

On a positive side, I was glad to read that you found our famous MyBed very comfortable and that you will recommend our hotel.

Best regards,

Edoardo Giuntoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

We stayed here for three nights from 16 October. The personalised and friendly check-in gave us a taste of the service we received over the next three days. All of the staff were very helpful at all times. The room was superb and the Nespresso machine and free mini-bar were really appreciated. The breakfast was sumptuous and enjoyed all the more after a morning swim in the stylish pool. A special thank you to Cyril, the catering manager, and Edoardo, the general manager, who always seemed to be about when needed. The complimentary cocktail evening on Thursday with superb Moroccan red wine and a live performance by the well known Gnaoua festival artist, Omar Hayat, were the icing on the cake. We will be returning. Mike and Greg

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrmdtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edoardo G, General Manager at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Mike and Greg,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa.

I was extremely pleased to read that you fully enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to welcoming you back in June 2014 for the Gnaoua Music festival. .

Warm regards,

Edoardo Giuntoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

1st impressions of the hotel are good it feels stylish and luxurious, with lovely views overlooking the golf course and Atlantic Ocean. We stayed in a 2 Bedroom Prestige villa which was bright and airy, however although the main hotel was fine the villa felt like it needed a bit of TLC. The decking around the villas private pool was very uneven and warped. The rain shower area had lots of mould on the walls. Small things really but the villas are not cheap. When we mentioned the decking, they were quick to try and fix the worst areas.
All the staff where friendly and helpful. The service was ok to. If breakfast was busy I felt the staff struggled a little to keep on top of things, but good on the whole. Essaouira is a great town, and we took full advantage of the hotel shuttle especially in the evening where we would catch the shuttle in, and get a taxi back. We also used the hotels bikes to ride down through the golf course to the hotels beach. On the whole we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edoardo G, General Manager at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review on Tripadvisor.

We were extremely pleased to read that you enjoyed the facilities, the quality of our restaurants and the service provided by our Ambassadors.

We would also like to thank you for your constructive feedback with regards to the improvements needed around your villa, and would like to assure you that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

Once again, we would like to bring to our attention this matter and we hope to have you back at the Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa in the near future.

Sincerely,

Edoardo Giuntoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

My husband and I went away with my sister and her husband for a relaxing week in the sun. we arrived at the hotel at 1am after a nerve racking drive from Marrakesh. The reception we received on arrival at the hotel was amazing. We were shown to our room, which were luxurious and welcoming, we needed room service, the food was good quality and tasted delicious after our journey. The bed was like sleeping in a fluffy cloud, it was one of the comfiest beds I have slept on. The breakfast were good and the waitress who looked after us all week, was friendly and attentive to our needs. We were shown around the hotel and were impressed by the friendly staff and the impressive complex. it was clean, very well cared for and everyone we encountered treated us like royalty. we stayed in rooms 150 and 151 which were just off the pool with spectacular views of the orange trees, golf course and the ocean. I'm convinced these must have been the best rooms as they were difficult to beat. Younis was very attentive and made sure that everything was to our satisfaction, when I jokingly told him I was disappointed that my sisters had chocolates with the turndown service and mine didn't, we returned later to find a box of chocolates on our bed. We had massages and a Hammam at the spa which were excellent.
the whole week was perfect. I would definitely go back again and we are looking at returning next year for a week of rest and relaxation.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edoardo G, General Manager at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Dear Madame,

We very much appreciate your positive feedback regarding your stay at the Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa.

I will share your comments with our team : on behalf of all of us, thank you for recommending our hotel.

We hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Edoardo Giuntoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
2.7 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
8.3 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#20 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
2.9 mi away
L'Heure Bleue Palais
L'Heure Bleue Palais
#12 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
2.7 mi away
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
#7 of 74 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
2.1 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#8 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa

Property: Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
Address: Domaine Mogador, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Essaouira
#4 Spa Hotel in Essaouira
#5 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#9 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#12 Family Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf And Spa
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing