We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
Ranked #14 of 75 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We went to essaouria as the second part of our trip to morocco. We travelled from Marrakech which had been arranged by the sofitel. It was a very organised journey and the driver was lovely. The hotel lobby was impressive and our first thoughts were that the service was fantastic as well as a beautiful location. We wanted a relaxed secluded break for this leg of our trip and this is exactly what we got. The trip was celebrating our anniversary and the staff, especially Hasna was fantastic in arranging a lovely meal for us. The view from our room was breathtaking and the entire hotel grounds were peaceful and pretty. We had an ocean view room with a lovely balcony. The breakfast was nice but sometimes at busy times the service was a little hit and miss. We would highly recommend the a la carte restaurant L'ataliers: the food was delicious. We went to the spa twice and would highly recommend the massages. The heated swimming pool is also nice as the water in main swimming pool was too cold for swimming for me. Overall the location setting and service made up for some of the slightly dated corridors and busy breakfasts. We would most definitely come back again.

Room Tip: The ocean view first floor room is good size with fairly private balcony. On the east side of the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Only_RS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edoardo G, General Manager at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear Madame, Sir,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Edoardo Giuntoli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,566)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

369 - 375 of 1,566 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2013

Just 2,5 years old this resort golf hotel is a quiet oasis, even if you are not a golfer. Tucked away outside the beach city of Essaouira, this hotel, nicely landscaped amid greens, palms, consists of stand-alone villas as well as rooms. The ones on the ground floor with sliding doors opening to the greens are the best. Contemporary design, comfy beds nicely decorated. The Xmas buffet was the best buffet we had for a long time. Actually the breakfasts as well as dinner during the other days were superb as well.

Apart from wonderful food and a wide, spacious and attractive swimming pool area with lounge chairs and a small terrace, the hotel offers a great holiday place. We organized two different private tours with Essa-Evasion Tours in Essaouira. This was the best decision we could take. The owner himself showed us extraordinary places (see recommendation for the agency elsewhere on Tripadvisor).

Not everything is great though. There is room for improvement in this hotel. Housekeeping is sloppy, we asked three times on two different days to get new towels while we were away. When coming back we had to call again as nothing had been delivered. When we asked to remake the bed it took us two more calls before it was actually done. Yes it’s a busy time but housekeeping is certainly the weakest point in the hotel.

Overall a really great stay though and December is a great time to visit Essaouira and take advantage of the great colors in this beautiful part of Morocco

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelGeeks2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edoardo G, General Manager at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Dear Madame, Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive and detailed review on Tripadvisor.

We were extremely pleased to read that you enjoyed the facilities, the quality of our restaurants and the service provided by our Ambassadors.

We would also like to thank you for your constructive feedback with regards to the housekeeping, and would like to assure you that we will take the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

Once again, we would like to thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and we hope to have you back at the Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa in the near future.

Sincerely,

Edoardo Giuntoli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Just got back from this hotel having booked a week's stay to celebrate our 35th wedding annivarsary. We have stayed at many 5 star hotels around the world and we would rate the customer service at this hotel as exceptional. Particulary thanks to waiter Murad, and butlers Gibriel and Hakima for making our stay so pleasant.

We were given an lovely cake and a complimentary meal in the a la carte restaurant.

We had a few snags in the villa which were rectificed when we reported them and an issue on checking out when we were being charged for half board for which we had already paid - again this was sorted out but it would be wise for future visitors to keep a copy of your voucher to evidence what has been prepaid.

Room Tip: Go for a villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lyndael78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edoardo G, General Manager at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear Madame,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor and for choosing our hotel to celebrate such a special occasion.

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed the comfort of our villas with private pool, as well as the service of our Ambassadors.

We would also like to personally thank you for your constructive feedback, which help us to monitor and improve our standards.

On behalf of all of us, I hope to welcome you back to the Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Edoardo Giuntoli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We stayed here for a week, absolutely gorgeous hotel, ultra modern, amazing room. Super friendly staff. We had an amazing week here, the spa is gorgeous and no one uses it, so we had it to ourselves. Buffet brekkie was great - I see from other reviews on here people complaining of bird in the restaurant - they clearly have resolved this as three people patrol all day with eagles or whatever they are! They only downside is the drinks are outrageously expensive... £10 for a glass of local wine and £5 for a bottle of beer. We took duty free gin! The mini bar with soft drinks is free tho everyday. Lunch wise head to ocean vagabond on the beach - excellent French owned beach cafe with delicious v reasonably priced food, beers, wine.its also next to where all the quad bikes (highly recommend) and camel and horse rides go from. Barter hard with these guys. the bus dropped us there every time if we asked, and also picked us up as it's en route. Otherwise it's a 15 min walk from the medina. Best restaurants - Caravane cafe - excellent French owned, great food and wine as well as live music and a magician. They serve fillet steak, king prawns, and Rose! Go to Taros - amazing roof top bar with live music in the medina. This is the only bar there too. The bus service is really regular, efficient and always on time. The last bus back is only at half eight but taxis are only 50 DNS which is less than a fiver.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Flora T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edoardo G, General Manager at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Madame, Sir,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I am glad to see that you noticed the action taken with regards to the birds : the 3 falcons did a great job !

I would also like to personally thank you for your constructive feedback regarding our prices, however I was surprised because the average price of a local glass of wine is 6 UK Pounds.

Once again, thank you for your review.
On behalf of all of us, I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Edoardo Giuntoli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed seven days in this hotel for a two people golf trip. Firstly: The building, the golf court and the location are gorgeous! Although: The pleasure of staying here is significantly reduced by massive shortcomings in the service - especially in the restaurants. If you get here expect drinking your coffee without milk - despite you prefer it with some - since you will never get it! The service rarely works, is always too slow and not always friendly. Combined with really high prices and a SPA that doesn't offer everything a SPA should have (e.g. a Sauna) this would not be my strongest recommendation.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank hf3215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edoardo G, General Manager at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Dear Sir, Madame,

I am sadded by your disappointment which is obviously not the image I wish that you retain of your recent experience at the Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa.

We will of course closely analyze all the points outlined.
However, I would gladly welcome the opportunity to reverse this if you would allow me.

Sincerely,

Edoardo Giuntoli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

After my first review on this establishment, and the response received from management, I decided to rework it as it was worth spending more time to describe in detail my experience at this hotel.

At our arrival, as soon as we got to our room, we asked to have it changed to a higher floor. We were left with ‘let me check, I’ll get back to you’. After 30 minutes of no news, we decided to unpack and to go to the pool. After an hour or so (around 18:00) we got back to the room and found a letter inviting us to another room on a higher floor. Being too late, and having already unpacked, we went to the front desk to say thanks, but now it is too late. At this point the front desk person said it was our fault and we should have checked with them if the other room was ready. Bottom line: we are the paying guests, and we have to do the job too. We told him that he was arrogant, that he should never use that tone of voice and that he should never argue with the clients like he was actually doing; we specified that it was up to them to call us straight away (how much time does it take to go back to the computer to verify if a room is available or not? Two hours?). Every other member of staff at the hotel was very nice and welcoming, except this one about whom we complained on the day of departure. This should never happen in a hotel like this.

The room was nice, but the bed was far too soft. Neither I, nor my wife, got a good night sleep. It is a matter of personal tastes so, be ready.

Other problem with the room is that the free minibar does not get regularly replenished. I have read a few reviews mentioning this point and we also got the same problem. Normal service resumed only after our complaint. This should never happen in a hotel like this.

We found the pool too cold. Very few people used it in fact, and we discovered why the first time we put a foot in it. Me, like a few others, had to wear sports shirts to get some warmth (and the wind does not help!). We complained about it, and everybody maintained that those were 28 degrees. I am originally from the south of Italy and the 28 degrees I am used to are actually very different. I wonder if they take the temperature from the kids’ pool, which is adjacent to the main pool and much more shallow.

We used the spa, which was great. On a Wednesday (I think) they have a Moroccan night; everybody should go there because there is an amazing display of food and also a good show with live music. Granted, not many options for vegetarians (after two weeks of Morocco who does not get bored of couscous vegetables?), but the rest was nonetheless very good (pasta was cooked al dente!). Only negative remark is about the lighting; there is this fashion I detest that darkness equals sophistication. So we ended up selecting the tables based on the light (which meant using the high tables, bar style, rather than the proper dine tables).

Overall people speak basic English and basic French, so make sure you triple check when you order something (i.e. point to the menu item). We got wrong orders a couple of times and once (at the pool) the misinterpretation was such that we had to send it back and asked for not to be charged (we asked if they had a veggie burger, they said yes, and came back with a bun, two pieces of lettuce, two slices of tomato). It became grotesque when we had to argue that we did not want to pay. Only after the intervention of two more people from the restaurant they finally reversed the charge. This should have never happened and the level of English and especially French should be a lot higher for a hotel of this style and prices (if I remember well, 18 euros for a burger with fries). To conclude the story of the burger, the chef eventually prepared a concoction of chopped veggies and offered it to my wife; this shows their best intentions and good customer service. But they should have never have argued with us in the first place).

The beach is a good 40 minutes’ walk. The path is somewhat marked and even with a map we had to ask a couple of times. Unlike other reviewers, we never got told off by the golfers. Though it is true that you walk right through the course. The beach is nice and very, very long but too far for a nice walk or for a run in the morning.

The shuttle to the town center is convenient, frequent and free. We took it on two separate days and each time we clocked it at 20 minutes door to door. Not huge, but it’s important to keep it in mind.

The checkout procedure was smooth, only a small confusion with the taxi reservation but not a big deal.

To conclude, like others have said, this is a great resort with good restaurants but the service is below par. Especially I don’t understand where they learn to argue with customers. I would personally not recommend staying here as great resorts can be found anywhere in the world, it’s the service that counts in the end, and particularly at this level.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Catello L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edoardo G, Manager at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review of your experience.

I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Edoardo Giuntoli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank cheshireclaude
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Edoardo G, General Manager at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
2.7 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-
8.3 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#12 of 75 in Essaouira
266 reviews
2.2 mi away
Atlas Essaouira & Spa
Atlas Essaouira & Spa
#28 of 75 in Essaouira
1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
648 reviews
3.0 mi away
L'Heure Bleue Palais
L'Heure Bleue Palais
#11 of 75 in Essaouira
690 reviews
2.7 mi away
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
#10 of 75 in Essaouira
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa

Address: Domaine Mogador, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Essaouira
#5 Spa Hotel in Essaouira
#5 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#9 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#12 Family Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range: £72 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Prestigia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf And Spa
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing