We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
Ranked #15 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Close to perfection”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

A wonderful hotel with superb, accommodating and friendly staff.

Breakfasts were fantastic and we always felt that nothing was too much to ask, so it's difficult to find any flaws.

Thank you for such a great stay

Samia & Alexis

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Samia Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edoardo G, General Manager at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear guests,


Thanks a lot for your comments regarding your stay at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will definitely share your comments with our team, as I am sure that this feedback will serve as a reward and an encouragement to all of our ambassadors: we indeed strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.


Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to see you soon in the future,


Kind regards,

Edoardo GIUNTOLI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    809
    407
    151
    64
    47
See reviews for
451
679
39
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed with my wife and two kids. The hotel may look 5 star but the service is woefully short of that standard. With the exception of a few members of staff everything is an 'effort' and consequently really lets the hotel down. Equally the quality and variety of food in my opinion also isn't 5 star standard. In short, its a 4 star property but with 3 star service!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank stokesa49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edoardo G, General Manager at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa.
I am very sorry that part of our services did not meet your expectations, please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest: that is why your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking your remarks into account and that we will do our very best to address the problem and prevent future occurrence in the best delays.

Again, we appreciate to receive your feedback, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Sincerely,


Edoardo GIUNTOLI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
148 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed for five nights. The hotel is about ten minutes by car outside of the village of Essaouira and is beautifully designed with lovely use of blue tiling and European and Moroccan influences. It is set back from the beach (a 25 minute walk across the golf course) and blends in nicely with the coastline. The hotel itself is nicely laid out around one of the principal outdoor swimming pools (which is heated). The poolside is perfect for lounging around on nice sun beds, and the pool great for kids messing about as well as for doing lengths. There is another great pool which is natural (bio, not chlorinated and also not heated) which is a little fresh in April and hence quieter.

The rooms in the hotel are very nice from a visual perspective with terrific balconies, and also very comfortable. From a practical perspective the rooms are not perfect. For example, the bathroom opens into the bedroom, and is separated only by latticed woodwork door panels or a screen which can be lowered. Nevertheless we felt that the privacy and intimacy of the bathroom is compromised. It is probably fine for people who have no issues in this regard but we had two rooms and our three children sharing the second room were not too keen at all on this as they felt very exposed when doing anything in the bathroom. Even taking a shower for example. So they set up all kinds of tactics of barricades and draping towels in strategic locations! We also noted some noise from the rooms above ours, which was rather bothersome. The hotel took this seriously and tried to find solutions.

The beds are very comfortable and feature the lovely Sofitel bed. The feather under-quilt does however have a tendency to create a kind of mountain (and therefore natural barrier) in the middle of the double bed, which kind of runs contrary to the intimacy created by the open plan bedroom/bathroom! Ask the chamber maid or housekeeping to flatten it down now and then.

We thought the food was terrific. There was plenty of choice at the breakfast buffet with something for everyone. For some of our lunches we ate in the Atlantique or at the poolside bar. These were both excellent. The tajine at the Atlantique was the best we ate in Morocco during our stay there. It is also possible to order from both the poolside menu and the Atlantique menu whilst eating at the Atlantique. We were also lucky enough to eat in the gastronomic restaurant 'L'atelier des Epices' and it was very very good and tasty. Copious though!

From a kids entertainment perspective there is a kids club for kids up to the age of 12. There was nothing however for teenagers and ours were disappointed by this. It seems that there is a teenage club in August for the peak holiday season.

There was free wi-fi and this was very much appreciated by all in our family what with all the devices we had.

The Spa is also gorgeous. Worth a visit and the treatments were very nice indeed. There is a third pool in the spa where you can swim against the current if you are up for that.

Finally, we found the staff very friendly and helpful. Granted service was sometimes slow - and it is advisable to get the waiters to double-check the order each time as they do not all speak perfect French or English, but all of the staff really are kind and welcoming.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors to avoid noise from neighbors above and to have a better view fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ParisFifi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edoardo G, General Manager at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear guests,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive such a positive feedback: thank you for all the nice comments, which we will definitely share with our team.

I am sure that this feedback will be an encouragement to all of our ambassador team, as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our hotel.

Concerning the few drawbacks you noted, please accept our sincerest apologies: we take your remarks into account concerning the slow service and the absence of a real teenagers' club. However, regarding the last point, I would like to specify that all sportive, cultural and outdoor activities of our "Maginfique Leisure" program are accessible to your teenagers!

Please, feel free to contact us on the topic if you want more details: we can, upon request, cococt you a tailor-made program for your next stay among us!

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Best regards,

Edoardo GIUNTOLI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
108 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights before heading down to Marrakech. We used the hotel transfer to collect us from Marrakech airport which was very efficient. We arrived early but the front desk were very quick in trying to get a room ready for us despite it being 10am and check out isn't until noon. That was greatly appreciated as we had been up since 2am. The rooms are very spacious and modern decor. The floor is the only thing that let's it down as it looks a bit a tatty. The restaurants in the hotel are very expensive and to be honest not worth it when you compare the price and quality you get in the town. Gym is small, has the basics. Would expect more from a Sofitel gym but perhaps they don't have the clientele to use it hence why it's minimal. The courtesy shuttle is great, the 7pm bus is really busy so make sure you get there early if you wish to get on the bus as it's only a small bus. Breakfast is a disaster! Service is poor, it's chaos everyone is all over the place, they sat us down at a dirty table and then we didn't get served. The food is dry, had been left out too long. And prices are a rip off! Do not waste your time eating there. Much nicer places in the town better food and at decent prices. They capitalise on the fact that it's the only place to eat breakfast and you just don't get the service or quality. Overall lovely hotel, service needs to be Improved on throughout. It's not quite Sofitel standard that you would get in European sofitels. In the main enjoyable but certainly room for improvement if It wants to market itself as 5star.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank LJAllan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edoardo G, General Manager at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear guest,

First of all, thank you for staying at the Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa and for taking the time to share your impressions concerning your vacations.

We were pleased to read your positive feedback concerning the efficiency of the transfers, the quick check-in, and the beauty and the comfort of the rooms.

With regards to your constructive feedback, we are really sorry to read that part of our services did not match your expectations.
Your comments don’t correspond with the experience we wanted you to have, and we sincerely apologize for that.

With regards to the food, our prices are in line with those of the other 5 stars hotel of the destination and mainly due to the high quality of the raw materials and the high hygiene standards applied in our hotel.

We appreciate however your concerns and thank you once again for bringing them to our attention.


Kind regards,

Edoardo GIUNTOLI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel has a very modern design and has been well thought through. The pool area is central and has great views across the golf course and woods to the sea. The rooms are very cool. Large tub stone baths , dressing area, rainfall shower , large comfy beds and good size balcony - really top quality. We had interconnecting rooms with children and these were available on our arrival at around 1 pm.
The only real criticism of the hotel is the breakfast is a bit chaotic - the food quality is good but the service is haphazard - not what you would expect of top class hotel.
The free shuttle bus into town is great - don't be put off by some reviews complaining about the distance from town - it takes less than 10 mins.
Some excellent restaurants - in particular would recommend the Cafe Caravane - good food plus music , magician, and fire eater!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank SWF_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edoardo G, General Manager at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear guest,

First of all, thanks a lot for sharing your impressions concerning your stay at the Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa with us.

We are delighted to read to you spent a really nice stay among us, and that you enjoyed our rooms designed by Didier Gomez, the pool area, and the views across the golf, the woods, and the ocean.

We take note of your constructive remark concerning the breakfast, and will do our very best to improve this point with our teams.


Thanks again for sharing your impressions,

Kind regards,

Edoardo GIUNTOLI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

After the madness of Marrakech, Essaouira was a revelation with its sweeping beaches and laid back atmosphere. The Sofitel got us off to a lovely relaxing start after our long drive with a welcoming mint tea and raspberry macaroon. The two bedroom pool villa was fantastic and a great place to relax and enjoy the incredibly good (non windy) weather. Great gardens, communal pools and open spaces and lots for children to do. The absolute highlight was a camel ride across the sand dunes and the beach organised through the hotel at the nearby ranch with reassuring guide Hassan.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverley49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edoardo G, General Manager at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear guests,


First of all, thanks a lot for taking the time to share your impressions concerning your experience at the Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa. It is indeed always a pleasure to be praised, as we consider our guest's feedback as very important.

We are delighted to read that you liked both the lovely Essaouira and its laid back atmosphere and our magnifique hotel. We are really glad to learn that you enjoyed staying in a villa: this is indeed an amazing option for families looking for privacy and great outdoors. We are also very satisfied that the gardens, the pools, and the numerous activities for children matched with your expectations. We are looking forward to see you again.


Thanks again for your nice comment,


Kind regards,


Edoardo GIUNTOLI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aalter, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

We just came back from a 3 night stay in this hotel. Positive experience In Globo.
Positive is:
- ideal location when you fly with Ryanair on airport essaouira : 15 km from hotel, taxi immediately for 15 euro to the hotel .
- friendly reception, beautifull hall
- standard room we had, is spacious (46 m2), and very good shower. Marrocan bath is nice accent and atmosphere. Very nice lightning concept in and outside everywhere. Beautiful view from every room. We had room 168. view ocean en nice garden ( interesting when you bring kids along)
Choice of materials is beautiful, but after 3 years you see already problems: for example floor doesn't bear water, lavabo has black spots.
Bed is very good quality !

About staff:
In general:
+ Staff is friendly and professional in communication
- staff is slow: you have to wait long before you get what you ask, especially around the pool. So do calculate enough of time when you ask something. They need more training in seeing work , as in combining things on their way. For example: Our plateau from room service stood in the hall way from 8 pm till 10 am in the morning. Also cushions from chairs at the pool were blown away into the water and again, nobody came. You see very rare staff at the natural pool. Even the gardeners passed by and nothing happened.
They should walk around more to see those things, now they often just hang around together . We asked a bottle of rose wine at the pool but the wine was not cooled, they just put it in ice but the temperature for drinking wine was to hot. They couldn't offer us a cold bottle... That was unacceptable.

About- cleaning personnel:

Room is clean enough but not thorough: we missed a little sun cream by mistake on the mirror, and 2 days later it still wasn't cleaned.
They are indeed very friendly and helpfull when you ask something.


What was very weird is that personnel often come at the worst hours : the last evening someone came to check the minibar and give the letter of the day at 10 PM ! The morning after at 9.30 am again, just when you want to get ready.

- Personnel at the reception were well trained: searching for solutions, friendly, thorough ... As well as baggage and door man.

About food:
Breakfast is perfect. Lots of choice, for everybody: adults, kids, vegetarians. Very well. Really good is they have a combination of French as maroccan influences. Try the maroccan pancakes and their homemade honeys and jams: delicious !

The environment was very nice: beautiful gardens. Gardeners are there every day and work hard. Bicycles were out of order during our stay but certainly something to do (600 ha. nature).

About weather : always sunny, 20-25 degrees end of March but very windy. Dining outside for breakfast (except from 10 am) and evening is not possible due of weather this time of the year.

So positive weighs definitely because negative things are small things .
One advice for Sofitel: let local staff see how fast and good service staff is possible, for example by coaching on the job with experienced staff or service oriented staff (mixed cultures) from who locals can see and learn from.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jsfor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edoardo G, General Manager at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Sir & Madam,


Firstly, thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience and impressions about your stay at the Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa.

We are absolutely pleased to read that you have had an excellent "short winter break", and that you enjoyed the beauty of the rooms designed by Didier Gomez, the magic of our magnifique Lobby, the quality of MyBed, and the kind temper and helping hand of our staff.

Concerning the other points, please be ensured that we wil spread the word to the relevant departments concerning your remarks: contructive feedback are always well-appreciated and taken into account! We are really glad that, despite these small inconveniences, you enjoyed the hotel and have had a very positive experience!

Thank you again for you nice comments,

We are looking forward to welcome you again at the Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa,


Kind regards,



Edoardo GIUNTOLI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
2.7 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
8.3 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#20 of 74 in Essaouira
186 reviews
2.5 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
#7 of 74 in Essaouira
423 reviews
2.9 mi away
L'Heure Bleue Palais
L'Heure Bleue Palais
#12 of 74 in Essaouira
660 reviews
2.2 mi away
Atlas Essaouira & Spa
Atlas Essaouira & Spa
#23 of 74 in Essaouira
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa

Property: Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
Address: Domaine Mogador, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Essaouira
#4 Spa Hotel in Essaouira
#5 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#9 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#12 Family Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, ACCOR, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf Hotel Essaouira
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing