We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Villa Quieta(Essaouira)
US$178
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$171
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riad Chbanate(Essaouira)
US$166
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad Watier(Essaouira)
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$121
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Villa Garance(Essaouira)
US$68
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$154
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
MGallery
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Les Matins Bleus(Essaouira)(Great Value!)
US$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$472
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$427
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Les Terrasses d'Essaouira(Essaouira)(Great Value!)
US$83
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Riad Al Zahia(Essaouira)(Great Value!)
US$73
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,683)
Filter reviews
1,683 results
Traveller rating
917
461
182
71
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
917
461
182
71
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf coursenatural poolhalf boardkids clubfleetway travelkasbah restauranthourly shuttlea la carte restaurantvoyage privemain poolgary playerturn down servicepool servicetiled bathbeautiful hotelsand dunesbreakfast and dinner
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
348 - 353 of 1,683 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The service at the hotel is pretty dire - things just don't get done especially housekeeping: the water is not drinkable so it is important to have a bottle for each bed delivered with the turndown service - most nights we had to call several times and wait for at least an hour for anyone from housekeeping to arrive - not ideal with kids wanting to go to bed.

The rooms are generally comfortable (we had a villa with a private pool). The buffet supper is just about ok (but not really 5 star), breakfast is good, but the restaurant gets busy most of the time and the seating arrangements are not ideal. The food from the pool bar is terrible and should be avoided.

The main pool area is good but gets very busy (with people putting towels down before breakfast).

Essaouira is a great place to visit, the Sofitel is fine but pretty over-priced for what is offers in terms of service and food.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 25_London_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edoardo G, General Manager at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Madame, Sir,

We very much appreciate your positive feedback regarding your stay at the Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa.

Please allow us to apologize for not having met your expectations during your stay, which is obviously not the image I wish you to retain of your recent experience in our hotel.

Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Edoardo Giuntoli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We have just spent a week here. We walked into Essaouira most days along the beach, about 4 miles, and then got the hotel shuttle back. We last got there by camel. At night you are effectively stuck in the hotel unless you use a taxi.

We made good use of the gym which was quite small but quite we ell equipped; it could have been better air conditioned.

The food was good. Buffet style, although it started to get a little repetitive. Fish, chicken, meat and noodles cooked to order. There are 2 main restaurants. We were told the food in each was identical but we were not convinced it was. We were told on several nights that the larger restaurant on the left as you stand in reception and look towards the pool was full so we are in the one on the right. When we did eat in the one on the left the selection seemed much greater and we regretted have been fobbed off on previous occasions.We had a half board deal. Disappointingly we couldn't use the credit in the main restaurant in any of the other restaurants within the hotel.

We would certainly stay here again but our preference would be one of the hotels closer to or in Essaouira.

Room Tip: We were given rooms overlooking the golf course, to the left of the main pool when standing in reception. As far as we could tell these were the best located rooms. Large spacious and a bit funky.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Butterleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edoardo G, General Manager at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Edoardo Giuntoli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Service at reception isn't great- we were not welcomed with tea although others in our position were and we had to wait an extra hour past the confirmed check in time to get the keys to our rooms.
When asking at reception to check in, they told us to take a seat and although they were not busy, we waited half an hour and we were still not attended to.
The first room we were given was not clean, there was sand and handprints on the porch and the shower was covered with limescale.
After a long and tedious couple of hours, we were able to change our room, however, as a family, our children were not able to stay in a room next to us.
Additionally, the a.c in rooms on full power isn't great and having visited in august, the room was extremely muggy during the night and this was not helped by the scratchy bed sheets.
Furthermore, the beach is a 25 minute walk and signs leading to the beach are not regularly maintained because we spent 10 minutes walking in the wrong direction due to a sign having been changed.
Cleanliness isn't great because my father ordered the local beer at the poolside which he had drunk on many occasions and it didn't taste quite right, so after returning it he noticed that the waiter simply put the lid back onto the bottle and put it in the fridge, after my father had taken a sip from the bottle.
The one positive is the food, however in order to enjoy it you have to arrive early, which is at about 19:30.

Stayed: August 2014
3  Thank Priya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edoardo G, General Manager at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear Madame,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Edoardo Giuntoli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Returned on 29th July from a week half board at this hotel. Flew Easyjet to Marrakech then 2 hour drive to hotel. My first impression was what an UGLY building, looked more like a prison no charm just concrete. There was a problem with our booking so we had to wait 2 hours before we got acceptable rooms. First evening the main restaurant had no tables for the 4 of us so we had to eat in the less favouried restaurant. My daughters room(214 I think) was damp, the shower water did not drain. We had to make several requests, eventually in writing before she was moved. The food was good, lots of choice and the staff were very attentive but not always got things done quickly.
The mini-bar in my daughters room didn't work, took 3 days to get it fixed.
My overall negative impression of this hotel is one of design. A little thing like the chairs in the bar were very uncomfortable, the bath in the room(blue small tiles) had shape edges, the gents toilet outside the bar was so dark you were likely to make a mess.
The designer of this hotel was a modernist and was concerned more about making the hotel look MODERN than about the customers comfort - give me the traditional style any time.

Room Tip: Rooms above the bar are the best (320 to 330)
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank oliver_khan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edoardo G, General Manager at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear Sir,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa.

As you rightly mentioned, our hotel is a blend of contemporary Moroccan architecture and French design.
Mashrabiya windows, traditional hammam lounge, authentic "zelliges" tiles and several other details are everywhere to show the Moroccan refinement.

We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and suggest you for your next trip to Morocco to visit our sister hotels in Fes (Palais Jamai) or Marrakech (Palais Imperial) where your desire of traditional style will certainly besatisfied.

Kindest regards,

Edoardo Giuntoli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Having travelled through Morocco for ten days staying in some fantastic hotels we arrived at Sofitel expecting a beautiful furnished and character filled hotel. It is not ! It is a modern block 25 mins walk from the beach and 15 mins drive from the town. We stayed in a villa which could have been just about anywhere with its own pool. Quite a relief as it seems to be the sort of place people reserve their sun beds around the communal pool before 7am with a towel and a book and then disappear for hours. The food although good in quality was on a perpetual Buffet basis. Wearing after 3 meals a day . Definite feeling of the package tour about it.

Room Tip: The villa was clean and big. Rather distracting having the staff wander in unannounced in the middle of the afternoon to "turn Down" or "change towels'. Keep door on internal lock !
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edoardo G, General Manager at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Madame, Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa on Tripadvisor.

Our resort, designed by the Moroccan architect Rachid Andaloussi and the French designer Didier Gomez, blends contemporary French design with authentic Moroccan details like mashrabiya windows.

A free shuttle service runs every hour and connect the hotel to town in only 8 - 10 minutes, as there are no trafic lights in the charling town of Essaouira.

Sincerely,

Edoardo Giuntoli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews