We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Lovely spacious Terrace Area with great views!”
4.5 of 5 bubbles
other travellers have booked this property
The terrace is sundrenched all day with shaded pergola
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The terrace is sundrenched all day with shaded pergola
This whole property would be yours to enjoy exclusively Shaded eating and reading area on the terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Very good
36 reviews
The terrace is sundrenched all day with shaded pergola
This whole property would be yours to enjoy exclusively
Shaded eating and reading area on the terrace
View of Dar Doughri's terrace from the neighborhood
Beach towels and sunloungers with plenty of space to move them into your favourite position
Dar Doughri is only a short walk from the Medina along these palm lined streets.
The double bedroom with wardrobe and chest of drawers
The master bedroom with king-size bed and en suite shower-room
The first floor twin room with separate bathroom
The bathroom - all the bathrooms are brightly lit and a combination of the modern and traditional
The bright and airy salon  - new in 2015 is a larger television than photo with inbuilt satellite
Note the wood-burning fireplace in the corner for a chilly winter's nights  - no need in the summer
Karima can serve dinners or breakfast at the vast salon table
View from one of the salon windows over the parc where familys meet to catch up on the local events
Karima  - Dar Doughri's  trusted housekeeper and fabulous cook for the last 8 years
Kitchen/Breakfast Room - simple but well stocked with everything you should need.
Kitchen/Breakfast Room  - the perfect spot to learn some traditional cooking skills from Karima.
Street Art in the Medina - if you find it then you have searched long and hard (owner's photo)
The well known view of Essaouira - and a photo shy seagull (owner's photo)
On the Beach at Sunset
Sand Castle Building  Moroccan Style
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Riad -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
4.5 of 5 bubbles Very good - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Emma R
Godalming , United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely spacious Terrace Area with great views!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011 for a stay in October 2011
2
people found this review helpful

We had a lovely stay in Dar Dourghi, the accommodation was very comfortable and there was lots of space for our party of eight (two families) with children ranging from 5 - 15 years to spread out. We took advantage of Karina's fabulous culinary skills. Having her prepare breakfast in the house on a daily basis was such a treat plus we ate several of her evening meals, after aperitifs' at the Taros Bar, which were delicious! A real asset to this holiday accommodation was the huge terrace area (not overlooked) where we ate our meals together, read books & sunbathed - there was a splendid view of the Medina from here plus it was very relaxing watching the sun go down whilst enjoying a bottle of Morrocan wine!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Spacious terrace and accommodation plus delicious meals
Liked least: Nothing springs to mind
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fal00la
cheltenham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fabulous stay at the dar!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011 for a stay in August 2011
1
person found this review helpful

The Dar was even more beautiful tha in the pictures and much bigger!! we stayed in the family room which was massive, with a fantastic bathroom. All 6 of us had the best nights sleeps the week we stayed; the beds were so comfy!
KArima the housekeeper is the best cook in Essaouira and kept us well fed!
A chilld holiday in the sun with books, good food and great company. We were on a budget and the area catered for this well. But if you do have a bit more money there's quite a lot to keep you occupied. We fancied going to the vineyard but due to Ramadan this was closed.

In all a great place to stay and the owner, Fiona, made planning the holiday really easy!!!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property 5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses
4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils 4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: the amount of space and the roof terrace
Liked least: manager was a little scatty, prob due2it being Ramadan.
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
magicalga...
east yorks
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011 for a stay in August 2011
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed in Dar Doughri with my husband and twin daughters (14yrs) for a week at the end of August 2011. Fiona one of the owners was more than helpful answering all my questions about Morocco and the house prior to our holiday and she has 2 wonderful people working for her in Essaouira - Fouad and Karima. I contacted Fouad before our arrival and he met us closeby when we arrived in the town. We had also arranged for Karima to cook for us that first evening and for breakfast the next day. The meal was a delight as was the breakfast which we ate on the roof top terrace.
The house itself is very spacious and fitted out lovely - there are 4 bedrooms - we only used 2 which were on the first floor below the living room and kitchen. The beds were extremely comfortable and despite there being no air conditioning it was not too hot. This was despite the temperatures being in the mid- high 20's during the day.
The roof terrace is a lovely place to relax, sunbathe and read and we did spend a lot of time up there. The view was also lovely especially on an evening.
What was also nice was the provision of games, music and dvds.
The location of the house could not be better - less that 5 mins walk to the medina and port and the same for the wonderful beach. If I were to go back to Essaouira I would definately stay at Dar Doughri again - even though there were only 4 of us staying the house I feel would still easily accommodate 8 without feeling cramped.
Fouad was a mine of information and was only too willing to help in any way he could visiting often to ask if he could do anything - he did a good job of arranging for us to have a massage and for our transport from the house to Marrakech when it was time for us to leave.
I would recommend this house very highly - wonderful place.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The location and roof terrae
Liked least: evening noise possibly due to Ramadam people out later
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patflo42
Cordelle, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
Google Translation
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: la tranquilité de l'endroit
Travelling group: En famille élargie
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
viaggerei...
Segrate, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
Google Translation
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: L'arredamento
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$110
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing