We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old, dirty and smelly - if well maintained it could be nice”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Riad Mumtaz Mahal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Mumtaz Mahal
Ranked #75 of 173 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Bayern, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Old, dirty and smelly - if well maintained it could be nice”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Sorry, I do not understand how so many visitors could rate this hotel as good. We arrived and found ourselves in a very old but beautiful oriental oasis. Based on the ratings, we thought about a nice hotel.
But it was dark and smelly. Our first room was so smelly that the receptionist gave us by herself another room just ten minutes after our arrival. The second room was also smelly but less than the first. Every room has its windows to the dark interior hall, so fresh air and sunlight are left out. The bathroom offered the oldest taps I've ever seen - could be beautiful if they would be maintained, they weren't. Worst ever: hairs in the sink. We asked two times for a clean over, but nobody cared.
On the way to the roof terrace we got a similar impression: not well maintained. We stumbled over a dead fish head that was not cleaned up.
Good points were that WiFi worked well in the hall and the townsite.
Nicely, we could leave after the first night. My boyfriend couldn't sleep at all in this surrounding, we both forego to shower and to breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    28
    9
    5
    8
See reviews for
6
57
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
146 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

First location - really 5 points, at the beginning of Medina, still in quit street, close to the main streets, accessible by taxi / car (50m walk max), vith view of the see from roof terrace - can you imagine something better?

Second: deco / rooms - very spacious room, riad very nicely docorated, probably even slitghly too much for someones taste, but it keeps some style, atmosphere, definitely the best i could have seen in Essaouira ( i looked into 4-5, so there might be something nicer)
Spacious are also bathrooms, huge tub, style, slightly less practical for my taste. well equiped, with bidet, flat screen Tv in the room, working fridge (these might not be always standard in North Africa :-))

Terrace - basic, but with view over the see, so you can spend some nice time over there, especially in the evenigs, as for the days I definitely preferred ground floor within the patio

Breakfast - nice, correct, some fruits, viennoseairy, local pancakes, excellent juice, tea and awful coffee......

Hammam: definitely recommed Hammam in this riad, clean, stylish, probably slightly more expensive vs some others, but definitily worth it. Its traditional hammam in the full parade, with gommage, soaps, shampoo...... On the contrary - massage after was average at best, girl was doing massages among couple of other things in the riad

Service - i cannot complain, there was no issue, basically we god everything wa have imagined, simply I have seen much more attentive service in Marocco than this one, sometimes we had to look for someone, as even in the reception there was nobody, sometimes they simply didnt imagine that it would be good to have some beer in the fridge (talkng about bar fridge....)

at the end, you will not be disappointed, it's really nice riad, that you will remember

Room Tip: be careful, there are only few rooms with window out to the street, the rest can be only to interior...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tequila007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

The location of the riad is great, just a few minutes walk from the beach and port area. The rooms are incredible. Huge, comfortable bed, and the walls and lights are beautiful. Big bathroom and excellent shower. We had a room that faced the street so it was a little noisy but nothing to complain about. We had breakfast upstairs on the terrace looking out to the sea which was stunning. The food was very nice as well. My only complaint was the service - we asked for breakfast and they only brought food for one person rather than two. On the morning we left, we ordered breakfast and it took over half an hour to arrive despite us saying that we were leaving shortly so we ended up grabbing some food and going. Apart from this, I would thoroughly recommend the riad.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrooveArmada58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2012

We stayed in Essaouira for 3nights and chose this riad as it had great reviews and was one of few that had satellite/cable television.

Positives:
The entire riad is beautifully decorated. We stated in the green suite (room 15) on the first floor. The room had windows/doors that open up onto the street in both the bedroom and bathroom. The bedding was light and fluffy and super comfortable.
Fatiha and her colleagues were all lovely, very helpful, efficient, friendly and informative.
The breakfast here was the best we have had in Morrocco, simply because it was all warm, fresh and very generous! Each morning we were given a tall glass of freshly squeezed juice, tea, coffee, warm and freshly baked croissants and pain au chocolate, fried egg with lightly toasted baguettes with a selection of jams and large quantity of fresh fruit such as strawberries, melon and banana.
The riad is only a ten minute walk to the Supratours bus station and very centrally located in the old town, near all the facilities and also the beach!
Riad contains a lovely spa with beautiful plunge pool.

Negatives:
This television was literally just 2 news channels (one French and one English) constantly repeating, although this was the same throughout Morocco (poor channel choice).
Fixtures and fittings looked nice but didn't work so well. Shower leaked onto bathroom floor and the bathroom door didn't close properly. The lighting was also poor (dark) in this particular room.

Finally, More of a suggestion to the management... Slippers would have been nice to walk on the cold tiled floors (in the winter)

Room Tip: If you're interested in picking up some wifi then choose a room on the 1st floor (although it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sinomz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manresa, Spain
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2012

Great place to take a holidays with your partner, many details and very confortable.fully recommended.esay to find, near to every where you need to goo in essaouira and this places is very special cause have a lot of details and any doubt or problem will be solved by the staff.

Room Tip: every room is different, every one you get sure enjoy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aldo_ug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

We stayed in Essaouria for 4 days. Our car stopped outside the walls and from there we had a minute walk to the riad. We turned down an alleyway and our instant reaction was one or apprehension as we walked toward the door of the riad.
Our fears were quickly dispelled as we walked through the door to be greeted by a truly opulent courtyard. The decor is so rich and luxurious that it takes the eyes a few moments to take it all in. After the check in and customary mint tea welcome we were shown our room on the 2nd floor. Our host decided to show us another room which was even better than the one we had seen earlier and so we decided to go for that one without any costs. The suite we stayed in was Mandara on th first floor. It's a beautiful room, spectacularly over the top. The bathroom was enormous as well.
The only negative room was the shower. There is a separate shower and bath tub but the shower quickly turns the bathroom area into a wet room as the glass partition does not stop the water from flowing into the rest of the bathroom. So use the bathtub instead.
The roof terrace has a wonderful view of the sea and the rooftops. We had breakfast on the rooftop which was great but the variety of food is limited.
The wifi coverage is disappointing as this is only available in the courtyard downstairs and you have to come downstairs if you need to use it
The spa/pool area is nice but be aware that you have to pay to use the pool and sauna facilities.
One restaurant to eat in is El Minza which is just outside the doors of the riad. Wonderful food and great value

Room Tip: Have a look at all the rooms before choosing one that suits your taste.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012

I felt like a princess while staying here, the rooms were decorated with such detail, we stayed in two, I would have loved to stay in them all, they are all decorated so differently and so luxurious. For the price they charge it is fantastic value for money. The bathrooms are amazing with the huge marble bath, a soak was perfect after a windy day outside. The bed was very comfortable, I loved the velvet covers. The staff were very friendly and so kind to us, breakfast was served at any time in the morning which was much appreciated. The wifi was only in the lounge, which was a beautiful room to be in so it didn't feel so bad. The Riad is located perfectly inside the old walls so you are near to the restaurants in town and just a 10 min walk to the beach. I loved my stay at this Riad

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful, pick one that features your favourite colour
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Dar L'Oussia
Riad Dar L'Oussia
#17 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.0 mi away
Madada Mogador
Madada Mogador
#22 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#8 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa Maroc
Villa Maroc
#11 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
0.3 mi away
L'Heure Bleue Palais
L'Heure Bleue Palais
#12 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Mumtaz Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Mumtaz Mahal

Property: Riad Mumtaz Mahal
Address: 5, rue Youssef El fassi, Essaouira 44100, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Mumtaz Mahal 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Mumtaz Mahal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing