We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Simple chic in magical Essaouira”
4.5 of 5 bubbles
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 'Dar Nicola'

living room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
living room
dining area open plan landing area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Very good
16 reviews
living room
dining area
open plan landing area
landing area
upper landing
kitchen leading to terrace
lower landing
one of the double bedrooms
bathroom
Essaouira medina
one of many shops selling rugs
one of many shope selling local artefacts
large double bedroom
twin bedded room
seating area on large private terrace(also sunloungers and barbacue)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
4.5 of 5 bubbles Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Jan N
Powys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Simple chic in magical Essaouira”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014 for a stay in January 2014

I spent two months on a long winter let in Dar Nicola and loved my stay. The house has a simple chic that works well and a lovely terrace for the many sunny days. It is in what became my favourite part of the Medina close to the Bab Marrakech; very convenient for everywhere but away from the main tourist bustle. I spent much of my time staying there alone, with family visiting for some of my time and whether alone or with family found the inhabitants of the medina warm and friendly. There is a very strong sense of community that is even more apparent when there are fewer tourists. Essaouira is an easy place to live in; it has a relaxed atmosphere, the market is good, french is widely spoken or understood and many stall holders enjoy practicing their English. Places to eat are plentiful from the tiny and lovely La Cantina, the gastronomically delightful Elizir and the whacky and fabulous Caravan Cafe. Nicola's neighbours are delightful and their teenage son is happy to practice his English with you and share his views of the world. I thoroughly recommend the house for a family holiday.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
3 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 3 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 3 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The location and the house
Liked least: The mattresses
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bethstick...
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

I stayed here with my husband and sister. The amount of space is amazing and the bedrooms are a good size. The living room is also nice and the place is decorated very well with a few quirky things about. The roof terrace was used a lot in the mornings for breakfast and a bit of sunbathing ( less windy than the beaches). Said the house manager was very very helpful and recommended a nearby beach we would never have found otherwise ( name I can't remember but began with S).
The shower was very dark and not great for washing hair in and the kitchen could have been a bit cleaner as their was grease on the kettle and work surfaces which was easily removable.
Great location in the Madina so as expected there are locals around. A group of harmless boys played football until late into the night just outside so I would recommend earplugs.
All in a good stay thank you.

4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
3 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 3 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
3 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 2 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
3 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Terrace
Liked least: Shower
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2013
thanks for your review i will mention your comments to our cleaner;thanks for letting me know.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Die_Hexe...
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Phenomenal Value and a Splendid Location in the Medina”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013 for a stay in July 2012

Dar Nicola was everything that I imagined from the reviews and yet still better! The location was perfect, just off a small alleyway, and not noisy at all. It was cool and a good size, with two terraces off the kitchen, and a wonderfully decorated interior. The manager and his sister did a fantastic job of assisting us and the food that we asked for one of the nights was delicious. After that I prepared my own food or we ate out, and it was an experience buying fresh meat and veg in the Medina. Even though I buy organic at home, this food tasted far more real.. Perhaps as it was only just picked. What a wonderful holiday this was, and I would love to come back again, when I would not hesitate to hire Dar Nicola again if it is available.
Simply wonderful

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The location and the interior
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2013
thankyou for your kind words, we are really pleased that you enjoyed your holiday and stay in our house, your comments mean a lot to us!!! Nicola
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013 for a stay in April 2013
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brighton, United Kingdom
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: It hard to say one thing as everything was perfect!
Liked least: There was nothing to dislike.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
marvinEng...
england
2 reviews
“Fantastic place to stay!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013 for a stay in January 2013

We have just spent 7 days in ESsaouira staying at Dar Nicola and had a wonderful holiday, ESsaouira is an intriguing place and Dar Nicola was the perfect place to stay. The house is in a great location close to everything but quiet at the same time, the house is beautifully decorated in a quirky wAy and fully equipped with everything you would need, we loved the private terraces enjoying meals each day.the staf were very accommodating and Nicola was really helpful organising us taxi transfers. Thanks to everyone-we will be back!!!!!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Private terraces/location
Liked least: Nothing!!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flo-josh
northants
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely property - amazing value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Stayed for a week and the house exceeded our expectations. We travelled with our children and their friends so we had four 20 to 22 year olds with us. The property is beautifully decorated and a bit quirky. On four levels, so suitable for the more agile, but if you're over 5ft 3in watch your head on the doorways! The house was spotlessly clean and kept so by a cleaner each day, part of the rental so even better value for money. The roof terrace is a sun-trap and sheltered from the strong winds. Could see the sea and the port from the upper level. All the beds comfortable. Only one shower, but we coped as we were prepared for it. Sensibly equipped kitchen for a summer stay. Said, the local manager of the property, was incredibly helpful and available at the end of the phone. He arranged taxis, camel-rides, transfers and trips to Marrakesh. The location of the house is amazing - within the medina so close to all the most interesting parts of Essaouira, but also really quite and safe-feeling. We have rented properties in various European countries and have to say that this was one of the best, definitely the best value for money and one which we would recommend and return to.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Location, roof terrace
Liked least: small saucepans
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$77
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing