We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant in essaouira”
Review of Caravane Cafe

Caravane Cafe
Ranked #10 of 261 Restaurants in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$45
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Méribel, Rhone-Alpes, France
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in essaouira”
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

We were recommended this place by a friend who has a house in essaouira - above and beyond expectations. We ended up eating there 3 out of 7 nights. awesome atmosphere especially if you sit in the garden (middle of the riad) where they have huge tropical plants, open kitchen, heaters, live music and a magician. the host Daniele was so fun and welcoming. Didier who owns it was always making guests feel so welcome all the staff are excellent, speak great English and are really funny. we would recommend the huge King Prawns in a saffron sauce, as well as the 'butchers selection' which was for us fillet steak. highly recommend for the most atmosphere and great food and wine. They also offer an amuse bouche, and offer a rum/ginger/ tropical shot afterwards! Having read trip advisor reviews saying Elizir is number one - although it's very nice this is much more fun and has a more diverse interesting menu.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Flora T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    872
    310
    69
    30
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“They do everything right.”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

It's always a joy to dine in a restaurant that remembers that it is in the hospitality business. Caravane Cafe is such a place. The space is lovely, the staff is incredibly friendly and welcoming, and the food was some of the best I had in Morocco. Even the local band they had hired to play was good. The food wasn't really Moroccan in any way I could identify (much more international, with a strong French influence), but that didn't bother me at all.If you're looking for a break from tagine, and just want to go somewhere you'll a have a good meal and a good time, this place will be hard to beat.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NycWinston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lifton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Funky, classy, a welcome change”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Quirky decor, very attentive hosts, tremendous service and excellent food - a welcome change to the usual run of the mill tajine. The skate with rosemary was very tasty and the desserts excellent.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salida, Co. USA
Level Contributor
252 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“What a fun time, and with good food as well...”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Our Riad recommended this place and if we had another night there we would have returned. Honest !
How can you not like a flamboyant time like this ? Great hosts, good food, a good band, a fella who could stand on one hand, and a magician who could make balls reappear from his hand to yours ? Get out of town !??!
So, don't bother reading any more of this review, get over there now.
Actually, get your Riad to make you a reservation so you avoid a spanking.
Cheers and Hugs, Salida1048

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Salida1048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A great night out”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Reservations essential. Complete with music, magician and fire artiste, the atmosphere was great.

Food had some whacky flavour combinations and was very good. We were also amused by the sense of humour of some of the staff.

I recommend this as a "must do" at least once.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Globetrotter_Wanabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Caravane Cafe also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Caravane Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing