We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, fresh food restaurant”
Review of Ginger Cafe - CLOSED

Ginger Cafe
Price range: US$4 - US$18
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Description: Super friendly and fun café with free wifi in the very centre of the old town. Best known for its fabulous smoothies, amazing salads and savory Spanish tortillas. Large selection of teas, great coffee, fabulous cakes. Great advice on things to do and see, super selection of magazines; great to hang out and meet travelers and locals.
Reviewed 27 December 2015

We really liked the Ginger Café. It offers nice fresh food in a modern space.
I had a dish of fish and a fresh avocado orange juice. The juice I still make at home since then, it was great. They made it from the ingredients when I ordered.

Thank HelenniumsTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

I ate at "The Ginger" three times with the friends I was traveling with. Each time we were delighted and full. The sandwiches are great and do order the carrot cake! We often sat after our meal to draw and talk and this was never a problem. It's a great little place to watch the world go by. OK so the bathroom might be one of the smallest in the world, but that just adds to the charm.Hopefully I'll be able to return to Essaouira and enjoy "The Ginger" encore!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mole88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

After reading the wonderful reviews of this place could not wait to go and have some different and good food. We love food in morocco, but after a while eating tagine and couscous you are just ready for a change.I know it is not good to make spectations, but we just believe what trip advisor says (no anymore). We order few thing from the menu, salads and sandwiches mainly. I took really a long time ve served, but we though good food takes time.
While waiting we realized that the place was full of flies and the table we were sitting in was cover of something sticky...I guess rest of food from previous customers.
Finally we got our food...what to say, it was nothing to do with what we were expecting, I think the owner of this place just has encouraged all his friends to write good reviews of this little touris trap. Food taste bad, was not fresh at all and it was super expensive...worst place we had been in morocco by far.
BE AWARE OF THIS PLACE...It is a rip off

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank peter s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

After reading all the great reviews below for this cafe, we sought it out after a week of tagines and couscous in Marrakesh. We came for Lunch and it was very quiet with only another small 3 person group sat down. We had to say hello three times to get the manageress' attention who was in the little kitchen just by the door. She replied with a grunt and as we stood awkwardly for a couple of minutes (all the tables were dirty and hadn't been cleared) she eventually came and cleared a table that was swarming with flies. We then waited for ten minutes to receive the menus whilst she returned to the kitchen and chattered away to a friend. Another 15 minutes to order. Our bottles of water took 15 minutes to arrive at which point we were the only people left! The food (salad and sandwich) took 30 minutes to be made along with a mint tea (as there was no ginger tea). When it did it was bland and boring. The worst food we'd had yet! Houmous and baba ganoush tasted of water and the only pleasant aspect was the simple salad and dressing. Sandwich as just turkey cheese and mustard. At £15 it was the most expensive lunch we'd had and would strongly urge travellers to avoid.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Megan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gingercafe, Owner at Ginger Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Hi Megan,

we appreciate you took the time to write this review and are very sorry that you did not have a good experiençe. The food we prepare at Ginger Café is always freshly made and therefore takes a little longer to arrive. Evidently dirty tables and the delays in taking your order are not acceptable and we will raise this issue. Fortunately this must have been a very exceptional set of circumstances as almost all guests leave very happy. Should you return to Essaouira we would be delighted to welcome you back and invite you to a different experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

The food here is prepared fresh and is delicious. The salads are imaginative and the balsamic dressing tasty. There's attention to detail with the presentation too. The halved tomatoes were dipped in sesame seeds. Real feel good food with plenty of natural vitamins. The highlight and surprise was the ginger tea. Fresh mint, fresh pieces of root ginger, lemon and a hint of sweetness meant we came back the following day for more. I'll definitely try making this when I return home - it was a revelation.

Thank Livetoeatoreattolive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ginger Cafe also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing