We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place”

Restaurant Des Reves
Ranked #65 of 261 Restaurants in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Moroccan, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

We happened upon this restaurant by chance early during our wonderful two week stay in Essaouira looking to have a light meal. After a morning and afternoon in the sun, we were delighted to be indoors and sink into the comfy seats, a gentle breeze blowing in the window which overlooked Av. Sidi Mohamed Ben Abdellah. The owner recommended the fish, but being vegetarians, we opted for the lentil and pumpkin soups - both delicious and nicely flavored and served with bread and a generous helping of olives. We visited this restaurant everyday during our stay, sometimes for soup or the chocolate crepe and fruit, always for an afternoon mint tea, some of the best mint tea we enjoyed in Morocco. The family members who served us were always welcoming and kind and never seemed to mind if we hung out to talk, write postcards, or play a game of cards. The Restaurant des Reves was a great hidden treasure we're glad we had discovered.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amritaabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    49
    10
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A place worth finding”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013 via mobile

We too were brought here by a local Moroccan lady when we lost our way.
Our lunch was very good (seafood brique and calamar tajine) and they were very nice to our two-year-old - they rushed and brought out her plate of pasta very, very quickly.
I'm not sure I could have found the place myself, but it's worth finding.
While lunch wasn't expensive, I'm not sure it was a great deal by local standards.
Espresso was not so good, although I have a feeling finding good espresso locally is tough.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BruceParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great fish :)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2012 via mobile

Food was lovely, ambience not quite as good but really enjoyed it. We were led there by an ad hoc tour guide who promised good food and he was right, despite us being rather hesitant. I'm glad we went though. Wouldn't have minded to see the fish before it was cooked, but never mind

Helpful?
Thank Shukii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2012

This restaurant was reccommended to us by a local Morrocan lady, we had lost our guide and were looking for somewhere to eat,
The staff, food and service was fantastic, the restaurant and the kitchen is very clean,
we got no hassle we were left in peace to enjoy the food,
We were on 2nd floor so we could view the markets & the activities outside
Our group had Chicken, Fish and Vegetable Tagines, they were all fantastic.
The prices were very reasonable too.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ais-k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
1 review
“Delicious! Nice Atmosphere in Old Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

The food is delicious - you can have Moroccan or international food. The atmosphere is nice and warm - Moroccan. You go up to the second floor so out of the dust of the bustling market and can see what goes on below out the windows. The staff is always smiling. I ate there several times - had several Tajin recipes that were delicious, spaghetti and crepes - all good. Sometimes we even went there for cafe au lait we enjoyed it so much!

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Des Reves also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Restaurant Des Reves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing