We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place to be”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Surf & Chill Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun place to be”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We went to Essaouira to get away from Marrakech for a few days. We met some people in the street and they told us about this hostel. Good place to stay and they also offered cheap surf lessons, which we took. A really good experience over all!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephanie n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    9
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
3
15
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Although the rooms are basic and the showers didn't always have hot water it is without a doubt one of the more fun hostels I have ever stayed at. A small place with friendly, very chilled out staff and a relaxed atmosphere. It's the perfect place if you want to meet other travelers, there are a lot of surfers staying at the hostel but you definitely don't have to be a surfer to fit in. It has a cozy lounge, a small kitchen, two communal bathroom areas, a washing machine that you can use and different room types divided over two floors. The location inside the medina is perfect. Make sure you are not in a hurry because everyone in the hostel does seem to take their time for everything.
There is no wifi but you can connect to the internet via cable.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor are quieter because the communal area is downstairs right in front of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whereissanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2014

during my one month traveling through morocco i met the nicest people here. the people that work here are truly amazing and great. so kind. you will be welcomed with open arms here.
besides that the place is absolutely great and also beautiful. i have really nothing bad to say about it. xx charles and lisa

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samenlisavakantie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

The Surf and Chill hostel is located deep in the Essaouira's medina (old town) with shops, beach, city's port and restaurants "at arm's length". The neighbourhood is quiet and clean. The hostel staff are very friendly, reliable and responsive people, especially Wadie, a friend of the hostel's owner. There are 2 shared bathroom areas which are clean and comfortable. The most exciting thing during our stay at the hostel were evening gatherings of guests from different countries (Australia, France, Canada, US, UK, Belarus, China, etc...). Interesting conversations, live music, delicious dinners, language lessons, surfing - the list of possible activities is endless which definitely make you very happy!

Room Tip: You can stay in a shared room or a private one as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pavel_Marmalyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Really lovely staff that made us feel at home, they went out of their way to do everything for us. Si drove us out to see sun set views and gave us a tour of the town. Its a lovely place to stay if your on a budget and they really make you feel welcome. By far the best part of out trip to Morocco, highly recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

its a very charming little riad i really liked this place with the very lounge atmosphere and the live music the good tajines and the candle light... the staff is so nice so helpful
my friends and i decided to stay there more than we planned before coming and it was a great experience
we wanted to do some surfing lessons with simo but it was no enough time unfortunatly i think we will comeback as soon as possible there
i recommand this place

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clara s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

I chose this hostel because of all the excellent reviews. So I blame you, reviewers! But let's get serious: all place is damp - stay on the top floor if possible, rooms are dark and poorly furnished (there was no real furniture in our room. Maybe a mirror that hid a dirty spot on the wall could count), no wi-fi (everybody is wi-fi-begging in the street). And the service lady is sooo unwilling to help, like you being there makes her uncomfortable. First thing we wanted to do is get out. But the payment was made in advance.
On the other hand, the friend of the owner that was looking after the place was very friendly and they were finishing the rooftop area that could be nice (no view tho - only walls around).
We came there for kitesurfing and exploring, not for shisha and weed. Didn't find what we were looking for.
Lesson learned. Don't trust the reviews.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Aida G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Le Grand Large
Riad Le Grand Large
#43 of 74 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#8 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
0.0 mi away
Surf and Chill House
Surf and Chill House
#9 of 52 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Green Milk Hostel
Green Milk Hostel
#3 of 52 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.0 mi away
Essaouira Youth Hostel & Social Travel
0.0 mi away
Atlantic Hostel
Atlantic Hostel
#4 of 52 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf & Chill Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf & Chill Hostel

Property: Surf & Chill Hostel
Address: 16 Rue Algerie (Bab Marrakech), Old Medina, Essaouira 44000, Morocco (Formerly Surf & Chill Camp)
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surf and Chill Hostel offers clean, comfortable accommodation in the medina of Essaouira. Free wifi, healthy breakfast and bath towels provided for all guests. Surf trips, lessons, equipment hire and guiding available as well as evening yoga sessions. Fantastic staff available to advise on surf conditions and where to find the best breaks. Free tea and coffee making facilities as well as hairdryers available on request. Roof terrace with stunning views over Essaouira. Surf and Chill Hostel is located just a short walk from the beach and many of Essaouira's best cafes, restaurants and bars. It is the perfect place to surf or just Chill! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Surf & Chill Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing