We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Riad”
Review of Riad Thais

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Thais
Ranked #50 of 180 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 February 2013

This Riad was one of the best places I've ever stayed at. It has really pretty en luxurious rooms with beautiful furniture. The Hostess is warm and friendly and she's really concerned about the quality of your stay in Essaouira. She knows all the good places. It's also perfectly clean and home-like.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Isis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2013

We stayed in Thais' house for 5 nights.
The house is beautifully decorated and built, with warm bleached stone walls and a big fireplace. Downstairs there's a long table, a kitchen and seats and a television.
We stayed in the Berber room, on the first floor, a room with a the most beautiful bath i have ever seen, with a faucet in golden iron; very elegant.
On top of the house there's a beautiful terras, where you can take sun, breakfast or read or drink or talk.
I had a fantastic time, in bed, bath, terras and by the fireplace.
Also, you can use the kitchen to cook your food, which you can buy cheaply in the market.
Thank you, Thaïs XXX

Room Tip: The berber room has got a beautiful bath and bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Ezra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

we stayed 9 wonderful nights in this beautiful riad, breakfast was wonderfully prepared by Fatima, and taken on a long table with the other guests, which was very social and interesting. The owner was great, always on hand with help and advice, and she arranged car hire for us so we could spend a great day out in Safi, with a lovely couple we met that were also staying in the riad. We walked to the beach and harbour every morning which was only 10mins away, and there were loads of reasonable places to eat around. All in all a fabulous place to stay!

Room Tip: each room is different, you can either book a quiet room, or if you want a room with atmosphere ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Diane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

The bedding, best I've experienced in Morocco. Amazing pillows from a special place in Casablanca it turns-out. The bed also is wonderful. And Thais' breakfasts are beyond fantastic, I hope she opens a cafe next! And you can't beat the location. Plus her intentional avoidance of economic/florecent lights make the ambiance quite delightful.

Being over 6' tall will have serious disadvantages as the rooms are a tad small. Not sure if I was sleeping in a bathroom or bathing in a sleeping room. If there are noisy guests you will hear them very clearly. Especially if they are watching the TV downstairs. Why any Riad would have a TV is beyond me.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaketravelsabit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

Hello

This is a very very beautiful rihad, warm and amazing. We were impressed!! I'll absolute recommend it! Thank you very much Thais!! I'll go back for sure next season. As Essaouira is a nice place to visit and Thaïs rihad the best one to share the experience with family or friends. Also important! They are friendly to pets and that's a very good point for me.
Best regards
Mercè

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Merceipunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2012

We booked the Riad for 2 nights as a group of 11 friends.
Felt like home from the first moment! Very friendly staff and very helpful owner.
GREAT breakfast service and delicious lunch!!!!
Will definitely book it again!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nicolas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Riad Thais is owned by a sweet European couple with a cute little boy. It's fairly new (I heard its generally preferable with Moroccan places to stay), bright and cosy. Our room was minimalistic and stylish. I think it's ideal for 1-3 nights stay. We had two windows, one inside the house and one outside, which overlooked a busy(ish) medina's street below, and I really liked that atmosphere. The bathroom is also perfectly fine. They have a hammam, which you can use free of charge yourselves or for a really small price have someone local to help you -that was one of the nicest experiences for us in Essaouira. What is really nice about riads vs. hotels is that they're usually small so the owners look after you on some way. They can tell you what to do in town, etc. Ours told us about quad biking through beach dunes nearby essaouira and even called to organise a tour. The taxi was called for us, all we had to do us to get in the taxi and pay just for the tour itself on the site, and have a free taxi back. The quad experience by itself was amazing, so I was do grateful to the guys from the Riad for that. All in all, lovely hotel to stay in essaouira with no noticed downsides.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Alexandralamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.1 mi away
RIad Dar El Paco
RIad Dar El Paco
#11 of 180 in Essaouira
269 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
5.6 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#10 of 75 in Essaouira
281 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-
0 mi away
Riad Etoile d'Essaouira
Riad Etoile d'Essaouira
#41 of 75 in Essaouira
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Thais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Thais

Address: 181 Avenue Sidi Mohamed ben Abdallah | (Ancienne Medina), Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 180 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range: £33 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Thais 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Thais is a charming house in the heart of the Medina of Essaouira perfect to couples, welcome groups of friends or families. Modern in style with a mix of Moroccan and contemporary style, it boasts clean lines, high technology and all the comforts you could require for a memorable stay. The property has been recently completely restored and offers an elegant and comfortable environment. Located on a quiet side street off the main souk area within 5 minutes walk from the splendid white beaches and Moulay Hassan square and a guarded parking area, is an oasis of calm where you can recharge your batteries. There are also several restaurants to hand. The villa has an area of 260 m2 on two floors. There are 5 double bedrooms, 3 on the first floor around the patio and two on the second floor. All rooms have en-suite bathrooms and are differently decorated. There is a spacious dining room, living room, chimney, chill-out corner, kitchen, wall fountain, satellite TV, traditional Hammam and a large roof terrace with a stunning town view and a complimentary wi-fi. A chauffeur can be provided if you wish to visit the beautiful surrounding areas as well as your own chef who can prepare you whatever you want whenever you want. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HostelWorld and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Riad Thais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing