We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Riad Thais
Nearby Hotels
Villa Quieta(Essaouira)
US$203
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Madada Mogador(Essaouira)
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$214
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Essaouira Lodge(Essaouira)(Great Value!)
US$46
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$45
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$121
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$196
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Maroc(Essaouira)
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$206
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$195
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Villa Gonatouki(Ghazoua)(Great Value!)
US$77
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (158)
Filter reviews
158 results
Traveller rating
123
28
5
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
123
28
5
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful riadpancakesnice rooftopenjoyed my staymedinamoroccohoneycasablancajamhosts
Filter
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 158 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Thais the owner is so friendly, helpful and welcoming. the riad is perfectly situated, the rooms are very nice and the breakfast is the best we had out of several riads in morroco. For value for money it is excellent. Fatima who serves and cleans is adorable and having a hammam in the riad is inexpensive and a great bonus. Sharif, a local woman gives a wonderful massage. For an inexpensive riad this is a perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RachelSha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Absolutely fantastic Riad! Thais (the owner) is just so helpful and friendly. We couldn't find the Riad so we called her and she came and met us to bring us there herself (and she speaks english, french and spanish)! The rooms are so beautiful and peaceful. Each one has a different feel and all are just stunning. It is the nicest escape from the hustle and bustle madness that can be Morocco :) The breakfast is so delicious and the Riad itself is located on one of the two main streets of the Medina so it's so easy to find it once you know the basic layout of the city. We just cannot recomend this Riad enough (and the hammam they have too!) for location, value for money and just how nice it is to be there! I wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AliciaandLari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Possibly the best mid-range riad in town... rooms have been arranged creatively to max out space and we loved them all. This is a riad like no other, we loved the creative design, the tadelakt walls and the feel of casual elegance. It was an absolute pleasure to meet Thais and sharing lovely conversation and life stories! Her recommendations are all great, and she has a good feel for what guests expect, so her suggestions are always tailored to individual needs.
All in all, it is an ideal midrange option, providing contemporary and creative interior design worth glossy magazine pictures!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank flyinglizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

When you first step into Riad Thais, you feel a warm fuzziness and a sense of calm. This Riad had the clean lines and details of a hip spa with the centerpiece being Fred Flintstone's 21st century fireplace and great chill music in the background to soothe any nerves you may have had while getting off at the bus station.

Thais herself was there to greet us, however a bit of a mix up as she was at the bus station and we were already in the Riad. Nonetheless, an A for effort trying to meet with us at the station. Thais was full of energy and gave us the lowdown of her Riad as well as places to visit and where to eat. She was the perfect host.

We had 2 rooms on the top floor and helpful if you can deconstruct your luggage before making your way up the stairs. The rooms were cozy, clean and quiet. The showers were hot although the water leaked a bit outside of the shower. Besides that, the rooms were comfortable and quiet during the night.

Breakfast was additional and was a combination of juice, local pastries, crepes, fruit and home made yogurt. Great if you had a huge appetite! We were only there for one night, which was a bit unfortunate. Thais was kind enough to help us get a porter and off we went down the wobbly streets of the medina with a nice memory of Riad Thais and Essaouira.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hahgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

We stayed with Thais for 2 nights after a bit of tripadvisor searching for good places to stay in Essaouira. Thais came across town to meet us when we arrived and took us through Essaouira to her beautiful Riad, a good start!

The Riad itself is convenienty located (everything in Essaouira is quite close together, which helps). Our first impression of the place was very positive - you can tell that a lot of work has gone into this place as attention has gone into many of the details and everything looks neat and tidy. The downstairs area has an open kitchen and a long table to sit at as well as comfortable sofa's on which to lounge or watch TV. There is also an open fireplace, nice to sit close to when it gets a bit colder in the evenings.

When we stayed it was not too busy so we got the chance to see all the rooms and pick which to stay in. All looked great and we ended up staying on the second floor because we liked looking out onto the street.

The rooms are not that big, but given that we spent most of the day exploring, they didn't need to be. The shower and bathroom very perfect for our stay and the bed was extremely comfortable! There was also a little heater in the room which we turned on during the nights, as it can get cold in winter. Most other places we stayed at didn't have any heating so it was quite a luxury!

In the mornings you get a very nice breakfast with fresh fruit, home-made yoghurt, pancakes, bread and tea/coffee.

Finally it must be said that Thais was a fantastic host. She really took her time explaining where everything was and what places were good to eat at etc. Her English is fantastic (she is from Spain originally) and very willing to do anything to make your stay more comfortable. If we came back to Essaouira we would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RJ R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews