We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just great!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Thais

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Thais
Ranked #52 of 177 Essaouira B&B and Inns
marrakech
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Just great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

My partner and I stayed there for 5 nights at the end of November 2013. Place looks amazing! It`s very clean. Got a good location. We had a breakfast every day cooked by Fatima ( always fresh juice , some sweet pancakes, tea , coffee) , simple and fresh:) . If u ll stay there ask Fatima-zara if u can have lunch there cooked by her friend - it`s amazing!! We got a fresh fish prepared with some veg and some cold tagine , better than in any restaurant! Also ask where is a fish market. The hostel is great and ladies working there are very friendly and helpful. We ll definitely by back there!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katiepeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    25
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
18
77
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Bedroom (Berber) very nice, beautifully decorated, simple but beautiful. Very helpful and nice staff. Delicous breakfeast, and no problem to have it on the rooftop! We appreaciated that.

Toilet-closet is open in the room, maybe not so much privacy.. (no bathroom door or separation) Nice rooftop but not really a big view bc it's not the highest building.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Salome M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We spent three nights in Riad with 11 months old son. Main living area on the first floor was great for our son who could roam around and play. Location is great! Fatimazara is the manager who is very friendly and is there in the morning until early afternoon. After that there is no one there. The room was very small but nice and there was no door to the bathroom. Every time we took a shower, water was all over the bathroom floor and ran down into the room as well. Breakfast was ok. For the price and location, we will stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L0veLiveLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Fatimzara was super warm and friendly and had all the answers ready for us - always smiling! The riad is very well located in the medina and is walking distance to everything and very safe. It is beautifully done up and a good breakfast is served in the morning. The only minus point is that we stayed in the three bedroom room and it was rather small for us including a toilet with no door, making it rather inconvenient for the three of us to use the bathroom.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natasha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Konstanz, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

I recommend this riad. Central location in the Medina with good management. Accomodating and helpful with any questions. In the pedestrian area of the Medina.Small and clean rooms with adequate comfort.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joern R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

An excellent choice for the traveller. First class service and handy central location. We booked four nights and extended our stay to nine! The service was excellent and the breakfasts included in the room rate were very good indeed

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an outside view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Walter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Thank you!!!
We had 2 wonderful nights at this charming riad! The room "Berber" fulfilled all our desires.)
Also the breakfast was the perfect start for the day.
Fatimazara helped us in organizing bicycles and a car - just ask her.
We highly recommend this riad!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sonnenanpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Al Zahia
Riad Al Zahia
#24 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Sidi Magdoul
Riad Sidi Magdoul
#36 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar Al Bahar
Dar Al Bahar
#34 of 77 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
#16 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Lunetoile
Riad Lunetoile
#19 of 177 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Orange Cannelle
Riad Orange Cannelle
#10 of 177 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Thais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Thais

Property: Riad Thais
Address: 181 Avenue Sidi Mohamed ben Abdallah | (Ancienne Medina), Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Thais 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Thais is a charming house in the heart of the Medina of Essaouira perfect to couples, welcome groups of friends or families. Modern in style with a mix of Moroccan and contemporary style, it boasts clean lines, high technology and all the comforts you could require for a memorable stay. The property has been recently completely restored and offers an elegant and comfortable environment. Located on a quiet side street off the main souk area within 5 minutes walk from the splendid white beaches and Moulay Hassan square and a guarded parking area, is an oasis of calm where you can recharge your batteries. There are also several restaurants to hand. The villa has an area of 260 m2 on two floors. There are 5 double bedrooms, 3 on the first floor around the patio and two on the second floor. All rooms have en-suite bathrooms and are differently decorated. There is a spacious dining room, living room, chimney, chill-out corner, kitchen, wall fountain, satellite TV, traditional Hammam and a large roof terrace with a stunning town view and a complimentary wi-fi. A chauffeur can be provided if you wish to visit the beautiful surrounding areas as well as your own chef who can prepare you whatever you want whenever you want. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Priceline, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Riad Thais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing