We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of Riad Thais

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Thais
Ranked #57 of 175 Essaouira B&B and Inns
St. Louis
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Our hosts extremely friendly and accommodating, even though they are French speaking and had minimal English. We managed to communicate just fine. The riad itself is lovely. The decor is interesting and a good blend of old and new. Our two rooms were each quite small, although we made good use of the common sitting area downstairs, which was lovely and homey, and a good way to meet other travelers. The roof terrace is a little to windy to be enjoyable (which can be said of the whole town!). Lastly, if you have a room with a window facing onto the street (instead of the inner courtyard) you can expect some nighttime noise (e.g. soccer games and social gatherings until midnight), so you may want to choose your room facing inward if you have a problem with noise. It didn't bother us.

Room Tip: if you have a room with a window facing onto the street (instead of the inner courtyard) you can exp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samacap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    25
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
18
77
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We had a lovely stay at this Riad. We were welcomed with a lovely cup of mint tea and cakes. Our room was small but cozy, the staff were helpful and breakfasts were delicious! All in all a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Such a lovely Riad, very central and reasonable. In the old medina of Essaouira. Run by two lovely women and nice owners- a slight language barrier as we don't speak French but google translate on the quick wifi solved this issue. Rooms were great except one cockroach incident, lounge and terrace so nice. Modern but still cultural. Really nice breakfast too. Only issue was the main door lock which is difficult to open, proving difficult at night!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank AliceGoddard24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cascais, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The lovely owners Pascal and Ani were kind enough to meet us at the bus, i know we would have had hard time finding it and it had been a long day, sooo much appreciated. The Riad entrance opens up to lovely spacious kitchen and sitting room. We were made to feel very welcome in spite of the language barrier (we don't speak French). We are used to miming and between us we managed to communicate. After welcome tea and lovely pastries we were shown to our room. Our packs filled up the room to the extent that we had a hard time stepping over stuff and each-other;). room was very small. And without an outside window made it quite stuffy. Pascall and Ani aimed to please and dug up a fan for me which helped a lot. We slept like babies between the crispy clean sheets. Breakfast was served by super friendly and accommodating staff.

Location is great, right in the lively medina. The rooms are shielded from most of the outside noise.

Room Tip: If you travel single and have very little luggage it's a great place
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

This place is excellent. Right in the centre of town, easy to find, and great to explore the beautiful town. this riad is spotless and very welcoming. the staff are extremely hard working and friendly (although there english isnt great- a good chance to practise French). After travelling across the country this was the cleanest and most well finished riad we stayed in.

Breakfast was included and amazing- really delicious. I would 100% staying in this Riad and traveling to Essaoira.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alhambara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Riad Thais, it was a little bit hard to find it in the Medina though. The host Fatimzara is really nice and sweet, she gave us good tipps for the city and her English is perfect. The whole house has a cool style, really modern and special. Our room was a little bit small, but also very special and there was a spacious area downstairs where we had a nice breakfast. Beds were superb.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathalie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casablanca, Casablanca, Morocco
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We absolutely loved our 2 nights stay in this beautiful riad. The rooms are veryyyy clean and well maintained, with clean and fresh sheets and towels provided.
the manager and the housekeeper are the friendliest people you can meet in Essaouira always smiling and ready to help, they made our stay very nice and they were very helpful (thank you Fatimzahra and Fatima).
Each room has a different, unique design, which made it more special, and also the breakfast was delicious.
Highly recommended !!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dania H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.0 mi away
Villa Garance
Villa Garance
#15 of 74 in Essaouira
295 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Sidi Magdoul
Riad Sidi Magdoul
#34 of 74 in Essaouira
252 reviews
0.1 mi away
RIad Dar El Paco
RIad Dar El Paco
#9 of 175 in Essaouira
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dar Loulema
Dar Loulema
#55 of 175 in Essaouira
64 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Casa Blanca
Riad Casa Blanca
#91 of 175 in Essaouira
27 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Inna
Riad Inna
#12 of 175 in Essaouira
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Thais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Thais

Property: Riad Thais
Address: 181 Avenue Sidi Mohamed ben Abdallah | (Ancienne Medina), Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Thais 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Thais is a charming house in the heart of the Medina of Essaouira perfect to couples, welcome groups of friends or families. Modern in style with a mix of Moroccan and contemporary style, it boasts clean lines, high technology and all the comforts you could require for a memorable stay. The property has been recently completely restored and offers an elegant and comfortable environment. Located on a quiet side street off the main souk area within 5 minutes walk from the splendid white beaches and Moulay Hassan square and a guarded parking area, is an oasis of calm where you can recharge your batteries. There are also several restaurants to hand. The villa has an area of 260 m2 on two floors. There are 5 double bedrooms, 3 on the first floor around the patio and two on the second floor. All rooms have en-suite bathrooms and are differently decorated. There is a spacious dining room, living room, chimney, chill-out corner, kitchen, wall fountain, satellite TV, traditional Hammam and a large roof terrace with a stunning town view and a complimentary wi-fi. A chauffeur can be provided if you wish to visit the beautiful surrounding areas as well as your own chef who can prepare you whatever you want whenever you want. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Riad Thais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing