We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing family Gathering at this Beautiful 5 Star...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Five Columns

Ground floor courtyard
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ground floor courtyard
Ground floor - Courtyard Dining table Ground floor salon with open fireplace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Ground floor courtyard
Ground floor - Courtyard Dining table
Ground floor salon with open fireplace
Medina view from port
Beach at sunset
Medina / Harbour walls at sunset
View of rampart walls
Our street
Medina sunset
Artwork in the house by Moroccan artist
First floor
First floor salon
First floor salon fireplace
First floor salon fireplace
Fireplace detail
Fireplace detail
Vintage light in stairwell
Ground floor dining room
Ground floor detail
Vintage furniture
Kitchen
Kitchen
Large open fireplace
Ground floor courtyard
Kitchen
Entrance from street
Kitchen
Interior detail
Bookshelf
Interior detail
Vintage light - First floor salon
Artwork
Interior detail
Interior detail
Bedroom 2 - First floor
Bedroom 2 - First floor
Bedroom 2 - First floor
Bedroom 2 - First floor
Bedroom 2 - First floor
Bedroom 2 en-suite - First floor
Bedroom 1 - First floor
Bedroom 1 - First floor
Bedroom 1 - First floor
Bedroom 1 - First floor
Bedroom 1 en-suite - First floor
Bedroom 1 shower - First floor
Bedroom 1 en-suite - First floor
Bedroom 1 en-suite - First floor
Vintage light
Bedroom 3 - 2nd floor
Bedroom 3 en-suite - 2nd floor
Bedroom 3 - 2nd floor
Medina rooftops
Bedroom 4 - 3rd floor
Bedroom 4 en-suite - 3rd floor
Roof terrace dining table
Roof terrace
Roof terrace - Bar area
Roof terrace - Bar area
Roof terrace - Bar area
Roof terrace - Bar area
Interior details
View from Bedroom 2 - First floor
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
KayJ240
1 review
“Amazing family Gathering at this Beautiful 5 Star Rhiad in Essouria”
Reviewed 18 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We just returned from celebrating my husbands 70 th Birthday at 5 Colums Essouria .A beautiful Rhiad that each day you see more beauty . And thanks to Lisa and Liggy made our stay memorable with recommendations for restaurants and shops . 5 Colums has it all once you open the door you step into another world of design and beauty .Very spacious rooms .Comfy beds .fully equip kitchen and a sunny roof terrace with a heavenly Bar .we will be back and we highly recommend 5 Colums .we also enjoyed a lovely meal cooked by Fatima .
Essouria is relaxed and the people are very pleasant and chatty offering you cups of tea and advice.
K&R Dublin

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Nov 2016
Thank you Kay and Raman, I am glad you had a great holiday and we welcome you back anytime! Lisa & Liggy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grainne20...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“In a word - AMAZING!”
Reviewed 30 August 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We stayed in the beautiful 5 columns to celebrate my husband's 40th birthday - it was simply beautiful. Lisa and Liggy were so helpful with the plans for the stay and made it incredible for us - there was nothing that was too much trouble.
The riad is to die for - such beautiful design with thought having gone in to every aspect of the property. it felt like a boutique hotel with complete privacy. being inside the medina, a step out the front door was a step into another world. I particularly enjoyed buying eggs, bread and butter in the local "shop".
I still dream of that place and we really hope to return one day.
Thanks so much Lisa and Liggy :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Design
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holidayqq...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A magical, stylish retreat in beautiful Essaouira”
Reviewed 11 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Having never visited Morocco before, I didn't know what to expect from a girlie weekend in Essaouira staying at Five Columns, but it was AMAZING from start to finish. Six of us travelled and were easily accommodated across the four large bedrooms. Luxe comfy beds, stunning Star Wars-style bathrooms and quirky details all over the place (vintage fencing mask hanging casually beside super cool artwork and amazing clustered glass lights). We loved the cool roof top bar for late night lounging and the three-story high central atrium which felt like being outdoors.

We were met by Rachid, the house manager, outside the town walls and escorted to the riad (about a 5min walk from the gate; porters are on hand with wheelbarrow things to transport luggage so it was all so easy), having made a stop at the huge Carrefour supermarket for provisions. Essaouira is only about 20mins in a cab from the airport too. Lisa, the owner, had provided loads of recommendations for superb restaurants (our favourite was One Up) and even had her housekeeper Fatima cook for us at home one night; her tagine was delicious. The location of the house is excellent; a short walk from everything so you really feel in the heart of it all, but with a serene and stylish atmosphere.

Overall, Essaouira offers so much: fantastic shopping (large suitcase instead of hand luggage next time!), sophisticated restaurants and an otherworldly atmosphere. What astonished us as six women was that we did not feel at all harassed or unsafe at any time; everyone was really welcoming and chilled out. Five Columns is perfect for groups as the management make so many (reliable!) recommendations and will help book stuff for you which takes the guesswork out of a short stay and enables you to relax in a stylish and authentic home from home in an exotic location. A total winner!

Thanks so much to all the team, we are already planning our next trip!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2016
Thank you Holiday Queen, I am glad that you had a wonderful time and experienced a lot in such a short time. Looking forward to you all coming back soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna J
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Awesome authentic experience”
Reviewed 7 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The most stunning hidden gem - a stylish Riad located close to the souk in Essaouira. The place feels like it has come out of pages of Architectural Digest. It allows you to feel relaxed and enjoy the space both in its simplicity and elegance. A great place to explore, relax at the local spa, visit the souks, enjoy the great food and go for long walks along the beach or on a camel if you would prefer!

Comfy beds, great bathrooms for every bedroom, well equipped kitchen and a wonderful roof terrace. I cannot recommend it enough. Brilliant for families and groups of friends to explore North Africa.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2016
Thank you Jo, we would love to have you back anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola_G1...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wow....What A Place !”
Reviewed 10 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Luxury riad in the medina completely equipped and well thought out. Beautifully designed with every detail considered for comfort and enjoyment. Lisa, the owner from the off went over and above to help us plan our trip and during our stay continued to make recommendations - places to eat, see and things to do. She arranged a tour of the medina which proved priceless, it gave us our bearings so that next time we stepped out all we had to think about was enjoying ourselves. Essaouria offers adventure, culture, sun, sea, fab food and fun and lets not forget the amazing shopping - I need to go back. Oh and the cookery course and horse riding where tops. Five Columns is special, I can't recommend it highly enough. Thanks Lisa & Liggy for a memorable stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 May 2016
Thank you Nicola, you are welcome back anytime, there is always another shop or restaurant to visit! xxx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linzi B
Brentwood, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“The coolest place to stay!”
Reviewed 7 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This place has it all from trendy art & coffee table books to a well equipped kitchen. Every detail has been thought of so you don't need to think about anything - just enjoy it! The owner obviously has great taste & you feel like you are staying in a place that should be featured in living etc. upon arrival a meet & greet walked us through the streets & gave us an invaluable insight to bars/shops & restaurants which made our short stay even better as we cut out the search & mistakes. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place & can't wait to go back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 May 2016
Thanks Linzi, we are glad you enjoyed your stay at our house and thank you for the lovely comments, you are welcome back anytime.

Thanks Lisa & Liggy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samhaz201...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful luxury riad”
Reviewed 3 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

I recently spent the most fantastic few days at 5 Columns in the heart of Essaouira. The house itself is a beautifully renovated riad with fantastic attention to detail and filled with wonderful pieces of art decorating the walls and gorgeous vintage furniture. All of the bedrooms have en-suite bathrooms with constant hot water and big white fluffy towels. It is an oasis of calm and the sun terrace is just perfect for reading, relaxing and sunbathing on or just having a drink as the sun goes down. On arrival there was some cold wine left in the fridge which always goes down well after a morning of travel. The owner and her partner are so easy to deal with and nothing is too much trouble for them to organise on your behalf from recommending the best restaurants to booking taxis for our day out at Le Jardin des Douars (which should definitely be on anyone's list visiting Essaouira). We all absolutely loved it and I can't wait to return for more shopping, eating and drinking - this time with an empty suitcase for all the great buys in the medina. Put this place on your bucket list!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The downstairs open plan living space, roof terrace and bar area.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 May 2016
Thanks Sam for your lovely words, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay

Thanks

Lisa & Liggy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing