We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not up to the standard expected, poor value.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
Ranked #19 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Not up to the standard expected, poor value.”
Reviewed 11 November 2011

The hotel is well situated close to the Medina and on the sea shore. Were were initially pleased with our choice when we arrived. We were cordially met at reception. However our room upgrade through the a club membership was to a larger, but poolside view room, which to my mind was not an improvement.
Our bed was good, but the bathroom was poorly finished see pictures. The towels were thin and threadbare, and need to be replaced.

Our breakfast was good on the first day, but when we came a bit later, was missing many of the items. Pancakes were prepared, and warmed rather than cooked fresh as one might expect.

Some of the staff, the reception and beach staff were helpful, but others were surly to the point of rudeness.

We had travelled a long way to enjoy this hotel, and were disappointed. My view is that the hotel management need to get a grip on this hotel, which is supposed to be luxurious, but falls far short of that standard

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sugardoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    672
    521
    171
    60
    35
See reviews for
304
742
93
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 November 2011

We spent 5 nights in this hotel and the staff really stood out as excellent. I would not rate it as 5* star as although the rooms were kept spotlessy clean they are a bit worn around the edges; peeling paint in the bathroom; loose tap and loo roll holder for example.
We had a sea view as we prefer to watch the sea and the world go by and are happy to compromise the quiet of a pool view room.
My husband was ill (something that can happen anywhere) and the staff were very quick to arrange a doctor and collect medication.
Hotel is a short walk to the medina and has a very small private part of the massive and georgoeus beach. Pool area is serene. Food is 5* prices but not quite worth it.
The staff and location make this hotel worth visiting.

Room Tip: 2nd floor sea view keep road noise down. Back of the hotel pool view rooms get the sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank secpdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed at the Sofital in August 2011 for 1 week, the rooms were good even though you would expect a little more from a defined luxury hotel, the restaurants were good so as the buffet breakfast. Nice staff very friendly and helpfull. The swimming pool did not have enough sun deck chairs and you had to wake up early if you wanted to have one...
All together a nice stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramses1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport
Level Contributor
106 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Very nice hotel in a great location. Friendly and clean, choice of restaurant somewhat limited and food average but staff nice and lovely pool and gardens. Walking distance to the medina - and rather nice to be away from it! Good size rooms and bathrooms, corridors a bit worn.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are sunniest on the side away from the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Chose this hotel as it was on the beach, had a pool & was close to the medina.
We found a really cheap deal online which made me happy to overlook the shabby decor.

Our 4 year old son loved the pool & easy access to the beach but unfortunately the childrens suite was closed while we were there. There was a playground on the beach which he enjoyed & it was by a cafe which was nice for the parents.

The hotel menus were not appetising at all & so we ate every meal out. (even the expensive hotel breakfast was very average, we only had it on one day) Luckily the medina had so many great places (we found them using Trip Advisor) that we were spoilt for choice.

I would recommend this hotel if you paid the discounted price but I think it would be disappointing if you paid the rack rate.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsPickyCustomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South of France
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

This is a very nice hotel in Essaouira well located by the beach, very near to the town and medina (5-10 minutes depending on how fast you walk!). The rooms are large and the beds are wonderfully comfortable. The hotel is very clean. The pool is great. The food in the restaurant by the beach is very good, but a little pricey compared to restaurants in the medina. The staff are always smiling, professional and are very friendly and helpful. They even gave me a birthday cake on my birthday!

The only small negative points: The bar was gloomy and lacking in ambiance, despite a musician doing his best! It would be nice if one could have drinks by the pool in the evening, which was not the case. The Accor Hotels website advertises free transfer from Marrakech airport for stays of over 3 days, but this is not the case. It also advertises l'Occitance toiletries, which was not the case. There was no iron or ironing board in the room, but as soon as I asked for one it was brought. The room was not completely sound proofed and I had a neighbour who made a noise for just two days - the worst being walking on tiled floors in heels!

I was a solo woman traveller and felt completely safe and at ease.

Overall a very enjoyable stay for one week, and I would definitely recommend it and go back there.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carriecot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

good location, outside the walls of the medina, which proves convenient of you are not too much into living the medina style and prefer modern accomodation to the local experience such as riads. The service is average though as these examples illustrate:
- we wanted to use the swimming pool but no one attended to us, we could not find clean towels, and no one was there to talk t
- breakfast is really average , i did not find the products featured fresh such as brioche (all rigid and hard) , or croissants
- waiters tend to forget your order at brekfast and simply look overwhelmed or distracted by the number of tables assigned
- we wanted to use the private space on the beach reserved for guests, no towels, the hotel employee had to go back to hotel to bring new ones..
well, it may sound not serious issues , but when you choose a sofitel for a short week end break, you expect the best service and value for what you pay. Other than that, most staff looked helpful and joyful but there are clearly signs of a lack of uptight supervision by management to reach excellence advertised by the chain..
hope u'll find this review useful

Room Tip: choose a room facing the sea, the ones with view on the swimming pool are not bad but a little too n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tangolover10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
2.7 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
7.6 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#20 of 74 in Essaouira
169 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#8 of 74 in Essaouira
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Atlas Essaouira & Spa
Atlas Essaouira & Spa
#23 of 74 in Essaouira
1,032 reviews
0.2 mi away
L'Heure Bleue Palais
L'Heure Bleue Palais
#12 of 74 in Essaouira
636 reviews
5.2 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection

Property: Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
Address: Avenue Mohamed V, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Essaouira
#7 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#17 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#19 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reminiscent of a sumptuous Moroccan riad, the facade of the Sofitel Thalassa Essaouira is painted the traditional red of Mogador. Set on the coast, close to the medina, this charming luxury hotel furnished with thuja and lemon wood cabinets, provides direct access to a luxury thalassotherapy centre. Enjoy an unforgettable leisure and fitness break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea And Spa - Mgallery Collection
Accor Thalassa Essaouira
Sofitel Essaouira
Essaouira Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing