We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
Ranked #17 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
English living in Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Peaceful haven”
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We stayed here after 4 crazy days in Marrakech, and what a joy. It is opposite the beach, road not so busy. Night time was very quiet so great nights sleep. Maybe too quiet for some. 10 minute walk into town, where there are plenty of restaurants to choose from (Taros is fabulous). There is also a hotel fish restaurant on the other side of the road by the beach. Not much atmosphere, but food good. Breakfast 18euros each for the continental. More if you wanted extras. We decided it was a ridiculous price for lots of food we probably wouldn't eat, so took the 6euros/couple option and wandered over to the cafe by the beach and enjoyed the view and sunshine with our coffee, orange juice and pain au chocolat instead. Bed very comfy, staff friendly. There were very few people staying at the hotel whilst we were there (late nov), so not much going on. The main restaurant was only open for breakfast, and not evenings as we had expected. There is also a Moroccan restaurant, but the only time we checked it out there was 1 table with four other guests, so we went elsewhere. We sampled the bar most evenings, which is lovely, with great relaxing sofas. We were given a free drink voucher for use in the bar which we enjoyed the first evening.
Main downsides of the hotel were that the outdoor pool was supposedly heated, but too cold for us to use. The indoor heated spa pool is only open to hotel guests from 7pm, unless you are paying for spa treatments. There are also no towels available for hotel guests in the indoor pool area. They have all been taken off to the laundry. We did pay for a hamam treatment, but once again, it was a case of shower in your room, or bring your own toiletries and towel downstairs with you. Clearly the spa and hotel are running as 2 very separate concerns. Gym was good, with weights, and a good number of machines.
We expected to have to pay for wifi, but it seemed we could get free access in most (not all) areas, so this was a plus.
Secure parking (looked after by hotel employee) in chained-off area opposite hotel.
Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms opposite piano bar have evening sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kamagogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RACHID B, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Google Translation
Cher Kamagogo;

Je vous remercie d'avoir séjourné parmi nous, et d'avoir pris le temps de partager vos commentaires sur le site tripadvisor.

Je suis très heureux que votre séjour se soit bien passé.

C'est avec grand intérêt que nous avons pris en compte vos commentaires. Votre remarque concernant le Wifi, je tiens à vous informer que le projet est en cour de réalisation, afin qu'il soit gratuit dans tout l'hôtel.

En ce qui concerne la piscine extérieure, aujourd’hui elle est chauffée à 27°.

Tous vos commentaires seront partagés avec nos équipes, ceux-ci sont très importants car ils nous aideront toujours à perfectionner la qualité de nos services et afin de rendre votre séjour le plus agréable en notre compagnie.

N'hésitez pas à me contacter pour toute information complémentaire, je reste à votre entière disposition.

Bien à vous.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    705
    543
    181
    63
    37
See reviews for
324
772
97
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We stayed for 6 days between 13 and 19 November. Our booking was not made through the Sofitel website and there was a problem with the booking.

Fatime at the hotel sorted this out for us very promptly and gave us a lovely room with large balcony overlooking the pool, I cannot thank her enough.

The hotel is very relaxing and all the staff, from reception, to waiters, to porters were all charming, with nothing being too much trouble.

Breakfast was excellent, with plenty of choice - all freshly prepared and beautifully presented.

Everywhere was spotlessly clean and smelled gorgeous!

We will definitely return to this hotel again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea have smaller balconies and are noisier. However, all rooms are excellent qualit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STrimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

The hotel is well situated close to the Medina and on the sea shore. Were were initially pleased with our choice when we arrived. We were cordially met at reception. However our room upgrade through the a club membership was to a larger, but poolside view room, which to my mind was not an improvement.
Our bed was good, but the bathroom was poorly finished see pictures. The towels were thin and threadbare, and need to be replaced.

Our breakfast was good on the first day, but when we came a bit later, was missing many of the items. Pancakes were prepared, and warmed rather than cooked fresh as one might expect.

Some of the staff, the reception and beach staff were helpful, but others were surly to the point of rudeness.

We had travelled a long way to enjoy this hotel, and were disappointed. My view is that the hotel management need to get a grip on this hotel, which is supposed to be luxurious, but falls far short of that standard

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sugardoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 November 2011

We spent 5 nights in this hotel and the staff really stood out as excellent. I would not rate it as 5* star as although the rooms were kept spotlessy clean they are a bit worn around the edges; peeling paint in the bathroom; loose tap and loo roll holder for example.
We had a sea view as we prefer to watch the sea and the world go by and are happy to compromise the quiet of a pool view room.
My husband was ill (something that can happen anywhere) and the staff were very quick to arrange a doctor and collect medication.
Hotel is a short walk to the medina and has a very small private part of the massive and georgoeus beach. Pool area is serene. Food is 5* prices but not quite worth it.
The staff and location make this hotel worth visiting.

Room Tip: 2nd floor sea view keep road noise down. Back of the hotel pool view rooms get the sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank secpdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed at the Sofital in August 2011 for 1 week, the rooms were good even though you would expect a little more from a defined luxury hotel, the restaurants were good so as the buffet breakfast. Nice staff very friendly and helpfull. The swimming pool did not have enough sun deck chairs and you had to wake up early if you wanted to have one...
All together a nice stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramses1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern Wales, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Very nice hotel in a great location. Friendly and clean, choice of restaurant somewhat limited and food average but staff nice and lovely pool and gardens. Walking distance to the medina - and rather nice to be away from it! Good size rooms and bathrooms, corridors a bit worn.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are sunniest on the side away from the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Chose this hotel as it was on the beach, had a pool & was close to the medina.
We found a really cheap deal online which made me happy to overlook the shabby decor.

Our 4 year old son loved the pool & easy access to the beach but unfortunately the childrens suite was closed while we were there. There was a playground on the beach which he enjoyed & it was by a cafe which was nice for the parents.

The hotel menus were not appetising at all & so we ate every meal out. (even the expensive hotel breakfast was very average, we only had it on one day) Luckily the medina had so many great places (we found them using Trip Advisor) that we were spoilt for choice.

I would recommend this hotel if you paid the discounted price but I think it would be disappointing if you paid the rack rate.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsPickyCustomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
2.7 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
0.6 mi away
Atlas Essaouira & Spa
Atlas Essaouira & Spa
#23 of 74 in Essaouira
1,086 reviews
7.6 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#16 of 74 in Essaouira
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
L'Heure Bleue Palais
L'Heure Bleue Palais
#11 of 74 in Essaouira
678 reviews
5.2 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
626 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#7 of 74 in Essaouira
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection

Property: Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
Address: Avenue Mohamed V, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Essaouira
#7 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#17 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#19 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reminiscent of a sumptuous Moroccan riad, the facade of the Sofitel Thalassa Essaouira is painted the traditional red of Mogador. Set on the coast, close to the medina, this charming luxury hotel furnished with thuja and lemon wood cabinets, provides direct access to a luxury thalassotherapy centre. Enjoy an unforgettable leisure and fitness break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea And Spa - Mgallery Collection
Accor Thalassa Essaouira
Sofitel Essaouira
Essaouira Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing