We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
Ranked #17 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great deal”
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We had a great stay at this hotel. The hotel, the swimingpool and the rooms are great, but some renovation is definitly needed. We got a very good deal on our stay, but the other services at the hotel (food, spa etc) are much more expensive than what you will pay most other places in Essaouira.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betts_Draper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    705
    543
    181
    63
    37
See reviews for
324
772
97
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We had an amazing time in Le Medina. It is a short walk from the main town but I wouldn't stay any other place. The pool area was heavenly and the bed like sleeping on a cloud. The decore in the hotel was beautiful and there was great attention to detail, including burning oils.

Only down point was the food was pricey but you need to eat in town anyway. The fish stalls are brilliant.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlinaEagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

However, for a five-star hotel, it's not quite the level you would expect for that hotel level. It's a bit worn down. The service was ok, although the people were lovely and the location is fantastic, right across from the beach and easy walking distance to the souk. We originally booked a room with a crib for our 1-year old and an extra bed for our 5 year old, however when we arrived there was no way we would all have fit into the room they put us in (where there were no crib or additional bed to be seen anywhere). We upgraded to a suite, which was much better, but cost us an additional US$100 per night, a bit annoying as we disclosed our sleeping requirements when we made the reservation.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeGinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RACHID B, General Manager at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Dear LEEGIN,

Thank you very much indeed for having taken the time to write your opinion in Tripadvisor and to express your satisfaction following your stay at Le Médina Essaouira hotel Thalassa sea & spa .

I feel very much sorry for the inconveniences caused at the room.

I wish to assure you that I have taken the appropriate actions to make sure that no other guests experience those types of regretful.

I certainly would be very pleased to see you again on a next visit at Essaouira.

Please accept my sincere apologies.

Sincerly Yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

The birds at the pool enjoy having breakfast served on the tables.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterandDaniela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RACHID B, General Manager at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Dear Peter and Daniela,

Thank you very much for having taken time to write to us before your departure to express your satisfaction following your stay at Le Médina Essaouira Thalassa sea & spa - MGAllery Collection.

We certainly would be very pleased to see you again on a next visit to Essaouira.

Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

The superior room was as one might hope- superior! Le Medina is still an excellent hotel and the staff worked hard to ensure that my second stay was very enjoyable with lovely attention to detail, from the daily free trays of fruit/snacks and bottles of water left in my room, to the free hammam, well- equipped gym (so often run-down in other hotels) and lovely atmosphere around the hotel and pool. The whole place even smells beautiful and is great base to explore Essaouira. Having stayed at 5 other large hotels in town over the last 5 years I can say this is easily the best. Excellent!

Room Tip: The superior rooms facing the pool at the back of the hotel have full sun on their large balconies a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete555_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RACHID B, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear BILLYPET,

First I would like to thank you for choosing Le Medina Essaouira Thalassa sea & spa MGallery Collection.

Thank you very much for your message. I appreciate that you take time to give us your positive feed back!

I will not hesitate to share your comments with my whole team.

I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you in the very near future!

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

I am not sure what some people are looking for when they stay at hotels! My partner and I have just got back from spending 6 nights at this hotel and could not have been more pleased with our choice. We have previously stay at the Atlas which was lovely but Le Medina is something very special. We found the service to be excellent. The whole hotel was exceptionally clean and the room was beautiful. Very spacious and with a large balcony overlooking the pool. I would particularly recommend the sunbeds on the top terrace. The whole atmosphere was very relaxed, peaceful and the staff we very professional and helpful. Finally the location of the hotel is excellent being an easy 5 minute walk to the Medina. I would definitely stay here again. Thank you Le Melina for a lovely holiday.

Room Tip: I am not sure how best to describe it the side of the hotel where the sunbeds beds are gets the even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StudioFit63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RACHID B, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa.

I appreciate that you take time to give us your positive feed back!

I will transfer your compliments to my staff; it is the biggest reward for their daily effort and I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you in the very near future!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middleton in Teesdale, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

We spent 4 nights here recently and were very happy with the location. A short walk to the Median and harbour but far enough away not to be bothered with noise.
The service was excellent but the breakfast was nothing special. We had to ask for yoghurt and staff did not replenish food in the last hour of service.
The bed was very, very comfortable and was huge!
We would certainly go back there if we should find ourselves in Essaouira

Room Tip: If you like sun on the balcony then one side gives this and one side gets no sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alison w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
2.7 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
0.6 mi away
Atlas Essaouira & Spa
Atlas Essaouira & Spa
#23 of 74 in Essaouira
1,086 reviews
7.6 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#16 of 74 in Essaouira
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
L'Heure Bleue Palais
L'Heure Bleue Palais
#11 of 74 in Essaouira
678 reviews
5.2 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
627 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#7 of 74 in Essaouira
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection

Property: Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
Address: Avenue Mohamed V, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Essaouira
#7 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#17 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#19 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reminiscent of a sumptuous Moroccan riad, the facade of the Sofitel Thalassa Essaouira is painted the traditional red of Mogador. Set on the coast, close to the medina, this charming luxury hotel furnished with thuja and lemon wood cabinets, provides direct access to a luxury thalassotherapy centre. Enjoy an unforgettable leisure and fitness break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea And Spa - Mgallery Collection
Accor Thalassa Essaouira
Sofitel Essaouira
Essaouira Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing