We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolute Excellence on Wind-blown Coast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
Ranked #19 of 77 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
203 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Absolute Excellence on Wind-blown Coast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Just outside the romantic eighteenth-century crenallated walls of Essaouira stands this Gem of a Hotel, right on the Ocean Boulevard with marvelous views of Mogador and the Iles Purpuraires. Relatively far from the Marrakech airport, but a precise and efficient hotel driver was awaiting our (delayed) arrival and whisked us through the rainy night to the hotel in exactly 2 hours. Great and friendly, hospitable and expert reception. Everything was immediately taken care of; check-in took all of five minutes.
Our spacious and quiet suite (some 40 square metres) looked out on the Garden and Swimming Pool; overlarge balcony; room equipped with everything you might need. The malfunctioning DVD-player was immediately (!) replaced; fine working table; several comfortable chairs and large sofa with fine coffee table. Utterly comfortable beds. Good lighting all around. Internet, though, was a rather spotty; and given the price of the room should be included in the rate.
Room service: absolutely fabulous. Fresh 'eats' every day, meticulous, timely cleaning service,
Dining: stunningly complete breakfasts at the very top end of what Good International Hotels offer. Everything utterly fresh and tasty. (One small gripe: the croissants are of baked bread rather than the delicious flaky ones we prefer.) Breakfast service: spotless, quick, friendly, anticipating all your needs almost before you are aware of them.
Just across the avenue from the hotel is their Côté Plage, the sea-food restaurant. Absolutely divine. The restaurant alone is, as they say, worth the detour to Essaouira. There's also an in-hotel 'tradtional' Moroccan restaurant which we didn't try; but the delicious aromas emanating from the kitchen promised much (and next time...).
I think this hotel and restaurant is without doubt one of the very best if not The Best where we've ever had the pleasure of staying.

Room Tip: Rooms with view of Garden/Swimming Pool are best; don't book a sea-view room as they're righ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stoic1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    666
    511
    168
    60
    35
See reviews for
299
731
93
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

We had a great stay at this hotel. The hotel, the swimingpool and the rooms are great, but some renovation is definitly needed. We got a very good deal on our stay, but the other services at the hotel (food, spa etc) are much more expensive than what you will pay most other places in Essaouira.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betts_Draper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

We had an amazing time in Le Medina. It is a short walk from the main town but I wouldn't stay any other place. The pool area was heavenly and the bed like sleeping on a cloud. The decore in the hotel was beautiful and there was great attention to detail, including burning oils.

Only down point was the food was pricey but you need to eat in town anyway. The fish stalls are brilliant.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlinaEagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

However, for a five-star hotel, it's not quite the level you would expect for that hotel level. It's a bit worn down. The service was ok, although the people were lovely and the location is fantastic, right across from the beach and easy walking distance to the souk. We originally booked a room with a crib for our 1-year old and an extra bed for our 5 year old, however when we arrived there was no way we would all have fit into the room they put us in (where there were no crib or additional bed to be seen anywhere). We upgraded to a suite, which was much better, but cost us an additional US$100 per night, a bit annoying as we disclosed our sleeping requirements when we made the reservation.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeGinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RACHID B, General Manager at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Dear LEEGIN,

Thank you very much indeed for having taken the time to write your opinion in Tripadvisor and to express your satisfaction following your stay at Le Médina Essaouira hotel Thalassa sea & spa .

I feel very much sorry for the inconveniences caused at the room.

I wish to assure you that I have taken the appropriate actions to make sure that no other guests experience those types of regretful.

I certainly would be very pleased to see you again on a next visit at Essaouira.

Please accept my sincere apologies.

Sincerly Yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

The birds at the pool enjoy having breakfast served on the tables.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterandDaniela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RACHID B, General Manager at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Dear Peter and Daniela,

Thank you very much for having taken time to write to us before your departure to express your satisfaction following your stay at Le Médina Essaouira Thalassa sea & spa - MGAllery Collection.

We certainly would be very pleased to see you again on a next visit to Essaouira.

Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

The superior room was as one might hope- superior! Le Medina is still an excellent hotel and the staff worked hard to ensure that my second stay was very enjoyable with lovely attention to detail, from the daily free trays of fruit/snacks and bottles of water left in my room, to the free hammam, well- equipped gym (so often run-down in other hotels) and lovely atmosphere around the hotel and pool. The whole place even smells beautiful and is great base to explore Essaouira. Having stayed at 5 other large hotels in town over the last 5 years I can say this is easily the best. Excellent!

Room Tip: The superior rooms facing the pool at the back of the hotel have full sun on their large balconies a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billypete s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RACHID B, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear BILLYPET,

First I would like to thank you for choosing Le Medina Essaouira Thalassa sea & spa MGallery Collection.

Thank you very much for your message. I appreciate that you take time to give us your positive feed back!

I will not hesitate to share your comments with my whole team.

I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you in the very near future!

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

I am not sure what some people are looking for when they stay at hotels! My partner and I have just got back from spending 6 nights at this hotel and could not have been more pleased with our choice. We have previously stay at the Atlas which was lovely but Le Medina is something very special. We found the service to be excellent. The whole hotel was exceptionally clean and the room was beautiful. Very spacious and with a large balcony overlooking the pool. I would particularly recommend the sunbeds on the top terrace. The whole atmosphere was very relaxed, peaceful and the staff we very professional and helpful. Finally the location of the hotel is excellent being an easy 5 minute walk to the Medina. I would definitely stay here again. Thank you Le Melina for a lovely holiday.

Room Tip: I am not sure how best to describe it the side of the hotel where the sunbeds beds are gets the even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StudioFit63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RACHID B, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa.

I appreciate that you take time to give us your positive feed back!

I will transfer your compliments to my staff; it is the biggest reward for their daily effort and I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you in the very near future!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
2.8 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
7.6 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#21 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#7 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
L'Heure Bleue Palais
L'Heure Bleue Palais
#12 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
0.5 mi away
Atlas Essaouira & Spa
Atlas Essaouira & Spa
#23 of 77 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
5.1 mi away
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
#10 of 77 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection

Property: Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
Address: Avenue Mohamed V, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Essaouira
#7 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#17 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#19 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reminiscent of a sumptuous Moroccan riad, the facade of the Sofitel Thalassa Essaouira is painted the traditional red of Mogador. Set on the coast, close to the medina, this charming luxury hotel furnished with thuja and lemon wood cabinets, provides direct access to a luxury thalassotherapy centre. Enjoy an unforgettable leisure and fitness break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Odigeo and LoveHolidays so you can book your Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea And Spa - Mgallery Collection
Accor Thalassa Essaouira
Sofitel Essaouira
Essaouira Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing