We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-
Ranked #17 of 75 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Escaped from a manic Marrakech and spent over a week in this peaceful, well situated hotel by the beach.

Junior suite was very spacious, clean and comfortable, bottled water free and plentiful.

Service in rooms, lobby and breakfast was very good, sadly poolside wasn't so great.

Good selection at breakfast, and tea and coffee in the rooms.

Could use some English translation however, didn't use spa because no one spoke enough English to translate their brochures!

On the whole I recommend for a peaceful beach front break.

(Oh, they could do with changing the darn in house Music once in a while :))

Room Tip: Book a junior suite if you are staying a while.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Quinonostante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 July 2012

Dear Quinonostante,

Thank you very much for your message! I appreciate that you take time to give us your feed back

Happy you enjoy your stay.

All the staff and my self hope to welcome you soon in this Hotel!!!

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,642)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

490 - 496 of 1,642 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2012

Our experience of Le Medina was quite mixed although generally below expectations. The location of the hotel is great and the hotel looks impressive, is very clean and the staff are reasonably friendly. However, there is very little atmosphere, the communication to guests is very poor and even after 10 days they couldn't remember our room number at breakfast so not a lot of personal attention. The private beach is a joke and doesn't provide any value to the guests and the bar in the hotel is very dull. Much better to head into the medina. The restaurant in the hotel is good, the pool is good and the pool staff very helpful. Be prepared for very little English to be spoken as well. Annoyingly the air conditioning didn't work in the rooms although we were only told after a week once we had finally asked, again no communication but the rooms themselves are very good. This is a 4 star hotel at best but with some simple changes could be fantastic.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank AlexLauraUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 June 2012

Dear AlexLaura,

First I would like to thank you for choosing Le Medina Essaouira Thalassa sea & spa MGallery Collection.

Know that I will not hesitate to share your comments with my whole team, and i apologize for the disagreements happened during your stay.

In the other side, I am satisfied that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel, and I hope to welcome you home again.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Location cannot be better.Walking distance to Medina, and right in front of a beach. The room is clean and comfortable. Sea view room with a balcony gives you a feeling of a resort.The swimming pool is enjoyable. You can have a tasty and relaxing breakfast at the poolside.
Service is perfect. Because of strong winds during my stay, I felt sands and dust on my skin after a stroll in Medina and beach areas. You can swim or take a bath and you feel refreshed again.
You have to pay for the use of internet in your room.But in the lobby it is free of charge.
I stayed with a discount with non refiundable reservation. So it was a bood deal. Otherwise it may be a little pricy.

Room Tip: Sea view room with a balcony is highly recommended,even with an extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank globetrottingloner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RACHID B, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2012

Dear Guest,

First I would like to thank you for choosing Le Medina Essaouira Thalassa sea & spa MGallery Collection.

Thank you very much for your message. I appreciate that you take time to give us your positive feed back!

I will not hesitate to share your comments with my whole team.

I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you in the very near future!

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RosaB673
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RACHID B, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Luxerious room, confortable,big balcony, nice lobby, Nice welcoming (Loubna was great). The outside pool and the furniture around is beautiful. I enjoyed everything. My only criticism is the cost of the food at the hotel. Breakfast or dinner is expensive.The spa treatments are expensive too I thought.
Besides that, the hotel is very well located and accross the street of the quiet beach.
By aware that room service is slow. I called them about 4 times and each time, there's was a long wait (ex: 20-25 minutes for coffee or orange juice...), or am I too impatient?

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan281255100
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RACHID B, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 25 April 2012

My partner and myself stayed here for 3 nights afew trying afew riads.
We were certainly not dissapointed. The staff were brilliant and could not do more for us. The price wasnt too expensive. Well worth it.
Will deffinatly be back!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RACHID B, General Manager at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2012

Dear REBECCA,

Thank you very much for having taken time to write your feedback, and to express your satisfaction following your stay at the Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa.

I certainly would be very pleased to see you again on a next visit at Essaouira.

I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Yours sincerely








.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
2.7 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
7.6 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#12 of 75 in Essaouira
289 reviews
0.6 mi away
Atlas Essaouira & Spa
Atlas Essaouira & Spa
#28 of 75 in Essaouira
1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#9 of 75 in Essaouira
858 reviews
5.2 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
679 reviews
0.3 mi away
Madada Mogador
Madada Mogador
#19 of 75 in Essaouira
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-

Address: Avenue Mohamed V, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Essaouira
#7 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#14 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#19 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range: £53 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel- 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reminiscent of a sumptuous Moroccan riad, the facade of the Sofitel Thalassa Essaouira is painted the traditional red of Mogador. Set on the coast, close to the medina, this charming luxury hotel furnished with thuja and lemon wood cabinets, provides direct access to a luxury thalassotherapy centre. Enjoy an unforgettable leisure and fitness break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel- reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea And Spa - Mgallery Collection
Accor Thalassa Essaouira
Sofitel Essaouira
Essaouira Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing