We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
Ranked #16 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed 25 August 2012

This is a splendid hotel; I really enjoyed my stay here. Friendly staff and an excellent location right on the beach are welcome characteristics. The hotel itself is very well-appointed, not quite a 5* in my mind but a very good 4*. Private beach section is nice even if the amount of loungers is far too few (14 in total, and people just leave their towels on them and go off for hours so it's hard to get one). Rooms were very nice and lots of nice little things like the hammam to use, a sun lounging section with hammocks and so on, very good pool, nice bar for a drink, and all 5 minutes walk from the centre of town. Excellent room service breakfasts - the bread baskets are excellent value for a lazy start to the day eating breakfast on your balcony (every room has a balcony by the way, nice for reading or lazing). I'd seriously consider returning to Essaouira just to stay here: an excellent stay all-in-all and I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XYZ736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RACHID B, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Dear Guest,

First I would like to thank you for choosing Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa
-MGallery Collection-

I am happy that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel.Thank you for positif comment.

I hope to welcome you home again.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    683
    527
    174
    60
    36
See reviews for
310
751
93
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Devon, UK
Level Contributor
97 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Really loved this hotel from the moment I set foot in it. Greeted with mint tea and scented wet towels it set the whole tone of the stay. Beds were the most comfortable I've ever slept in, beautiful rooms. Clean pool. Lovely staff (except one grumpy one at reception). Great location. Comfy sunbed terrace. Lovely balconies looking over the pool. I would stay again tomorrow.

It doesn't get five stars due to the fact that we could only get wifi in the lobby( although this was free), we couldn't get a drink in the bar at 9 pm in the evening and the extortionately priced breakfast 180 Dirhams each. Apart from these small details I would definitely recommend a visit and feel a bit mean for taking off a star for the small niggles. Room tax was charged at end of stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCS2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RACHID B, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Dear Maestro,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa.

I have taken note of your comments regarding all the issues you have mentioned and would like to express my sincerest apologies.

I hope that i will have the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon.

Thank you again for taking the time to write your comment.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

The best hotel in Essaouira is Sofitel which is very expensive and kind of isolated. We went there for dinner, they have very hip gastronomique restaurants. If you're looking for a holiday much more cheaper, I can't suggest you Sofitel beside dinner.
But Le Medina is hotel is one of the best places to stay for your holiday with its excellent staff. It's just on the beach side and close to the center. We had a ocean view room. The room was quite and clean. I really loved the beach and its attractions such as riding, surfing..etc. The breakfast is good. They serve great teas.
The staff was very helpful and always smiling. Hospitality is one of the best word to describe them.

Room Tip: Ocean view room deserves everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RACHID B, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Dear OZDED,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa.

Happy you enjoy your stay. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you in the very near future!

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands england
Level Contributor
115 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Hotel is just a few meters from the old town and kasbah. Very close to port.

Buffet breakfast but the restaurant is quite expensive compared to the value of very good places to eat and drink in town.

Right opposite the beach but really too blustery for swimming.

Lovely spa and Hammam

Room Tip: Try to get a room over looking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kateandmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RACHID B, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Dear Kate,

First I would like to thank you for choosing Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa .

I am satisfied that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel, and I hope to welcome you home again.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Stayed for four nights in July
the breeze was a welcome rest from the heat of Marrakech
The rooms were spacious and clean with good views
staff very attentive
breakfast was very good
pool facilities excellent but they run out of beds if you arrive at the pool after 10.30
they also have an excellent seafood restaurant on the beach
the private beach needs some TLC it looks a little neglected
i would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Middlesfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RACHID B, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Dear Middlesfarm,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Medina Essaouira Hôtel Thalassa sea & spa.

All my sincere apologies for the inconvenience experienced at our private beach and pool.

It was really nice to hear that you enjoyed the location and the hotel.

I will transfer your compliments to my staff; it is the biggest reward for their daily effort and I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you in the very near future!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Having spent a few days in Marrakech arriving here was wonderful. Excellent service at Reception and wonderful large room with dressing area and seating area.

Comfortable beds and very clean. Room service staff are a credit, and treat boxes in the room were a wonderful daily surprise.

We originally booked a few days, but decided we didn't want to return to Marrakech we preferred to end our holiday at this hotel, staff were wonderfully helpful and allowed us to keep the same room despite it being a new booking.

Pool area is huge, plenty of sun lounging and shaded seating. Pleasant breakfast experience, very relaxed, and lots of fresh fruit.

Avoided the restaurants felt they were pricey and there are plenty of other places in this windy city to dine.

Enjoyed a couple of cocktails in the evenings whist using free wifi in the public areas. All in all it has everything you could need.

The location on beach front but so close to The Medina and Ramparts is perfect and I would recommend it,

Couple of negatives:

- Pool staff bit 'surly' and hard to find.
- Towel service poor
- Also the Spa, would have loved to use it but the brochures are all in French and the staff cannot translate - need to improve on this now that more English are heading for Essaouira.


Oh, and that hotel MUSIC... I think I would be happy if I never heard 'Alien In New York' ever again 'Perhaps, Perhaps, Perhaps'. A change of CDs occasionally maybe :)

Room Tip: Upgrade and get more space if you are on an extended visit - it's worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NigeNidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RACHID B, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
Dear Guest,

First I would like to thank you for choosing Le Medina Essaouira Hôtel Thalassa sea & spa
-MGallery Collection-

Thank you very much for your message. I appreciate that you take time to give us your positive feed back!

I will not hesitate to share your comments with my whole team.

I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you in the very near future!

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

There are places you love the minute you walk in. You don't know exactly why, but it is just love. This is how I felt when I walk into Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa. Everything seemed just right and I really, really liked the vibe of the place.

We arrived without a reservation and were professionnaly welcomed by the staff who gave us all the infos we needed to choose to stay or not. We had selected a few hotels outside the medina prior to our arrival and had chosen this one because it seemed very nice and because it was closed of everything. Because of the way we were welcomed and because the hall of the hotel was well maintained and clean, we decided to stay. We were not disappointed!

The hotel is designed a bit like a stadium, with the rooms located around the central pool which give them all sunshine, in the morning or in the afternoon. It is not worth to pay more to have a seaview, since the rooms around the pool are way more quiet. The pool closes at around 7 pm, so you won't get annoyed by swimmers at night. Our room was decorated in Essaouira style, with wood work all around. The bathroom was made of moroccan tiles. All the rooms facing the pool have large balconies, which is the feature I liked the most, because they are large and private enough to eat or have a drink outside.

Breakfast is served around the pool or in a large room next to it. It is fine, with a lot of variety, but I cannot say that it was wonderful. The one thing that has to be improved is the brown carpet in the corridor leading to the rooms, it is quite outdated and has clearly been used enough. It is time to change it.

The hotel is located at a 5 minutes walk of one if the greatest medina in Morroco and not far from many restaurants. A very good choice in a great city.

Room Tip: Don't pay more for a room facing the sea, they are noisy and the ones facing the pool are not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie-Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FREDERIQUE A, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Marie,

Thank you for this enthusiastic comment; I’m going to share it with the entire team of Le Medina Hotel Thalassa sea & spa.

I hope I will have the pleasure of welcoming you in the very near future!

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
2.7 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
7.6 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#20 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.6 mi away
Atlas Essaouira & Spa
Atlas Essaouira & Spa
#23 of 74 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#8 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
0.2 mi away
L'Heure Bleue Palais
L'Heure Bleue Palais
#11 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
5.2 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection

Property: Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
Address: Avenue Mohamed V, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Essaouira
#6 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#17 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#19 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reminiscent of a sumptuous Moroccan riad, the facade of the Sofitel Thalassa Essaouira is painted the traditional red of Mogador. Set on the coast, close to the medina, this charming luxury hotel furnished with thuja and lemon wood cabinets, provides direct access to a luxury thalassotherapy centre. Enjoy an unforgettable leisure and fitness break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea And Spa - Mgallery Collection
Accor Thalassa Essaouira
Sofitel Essaouira
Essaouira Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing