We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-
Ranked #18 of 75 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We stayed at the Medina Essaouira Hotel Spa in July 2012 for a week, to escape the heat of the Marrakech but still experience the novelty of Morroco. The hotel is located on the seafront about 10 minutes walk from the walled town of Essaouira. The hotel is basically U shaped with the swimming pool sheltered from most of the trade winds within the walls of the hotel. The pool has great facilities with tents for those that want to hide from the sun and comfy beds - it's not a busy hotel so there's no fighting for the best spots. At the end of the pool is a raised solarium area with stone built beds and hammocks for the steady of nerve. As there is a constant breeze sunbathing is experienced without a tacky feeling but use a high factor cream as that southern sun is fierce. The wind seems to change direction at about 3:00pm to 4:00pm and it gets chilly around the pool so its empty in the late afternoon.

The rooms are very different depending on whether they overlook the pool or the beach - I had the beach room and my daughter the pool view room. Overlooking the pool is lush vegatation and purple flowers, whereas the beach view catches all day sun and the early morning mists. Essaouria is cool all year round - we left Marrakech at 52deg C and drove across the "desert" reaching the Atalantic and about 25deg C. There's a thin layer of cloud created by the trade winds in the early morning but this tends to burn off fairly early. It drops to around 18deg C or a bit lower at night so its worth taking a thin jumper or buy a jelaba in the local souk - I paid about £40 for a Berber version in lightweight wool. Make sure you buy a second hand one for the original version - the locals praised my choice - maybe they knew the trader? The hotel is dry as far as alcohol - at least I didn't see any on sale in the hotel at all.

The walled town is very civilised after the mayhem of Marrakech, with the majority of shops devoted to serving the local people rather than just tourists - although there are plenty of places to buy all the usual stuff, carpets et al. The Mellah or Jewish Quater is fascinating - it is falling down after all the last of the Jews left in the 50's. They left without selling or passing on the house deeds so the Moroccans have not taken over the property and left it to the Atalantic winds. It's a sign of the local honour displayed to other's property. But the city authorities will need to resolve the issue as the old buildings are becoming dangerous.

It's great to wander around the souks without hassle - and it's not possible to get lost as sooner or later you will hit the city wall and be able to track back to a known point. There are a few restaurants that sell alcolhol - but hey it's good to lay off the juice for a while. But the absence of alcolhol does mean that the social entertainment structures we take for granted in Europe just do not exist to keep tourists relaxing and happy. Per example, a new sewer being dug through the town seemed to provide a significant source of alternative entertainment for the locals - it feels culture light but hard to tell without getting embedded into the town - a fair number of Europeans have set up Riads or restaurants and one French couple we saw went around collecting the stray cats - sadly you will see sick animals.

There is a working fishing harbour with scores of large Egyptian blue row boats and heavier motorised vessels. They tend to fish in the early and late months of the year so fish catches are small in the summer. The inner and outer harbours are fortified with scores of bronze cannon protecting the seaways. With a fair number of Spanish and English weapons side by side it's an odd sight.

The Medina Spa is a great hotel and I would put it at one of my favourite hotels in Africa.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OzoneSpin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RACHID B, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2012

Dear OzoneSpin,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa.

I am happy that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel,i will transfer your compliments to my staff.

Thank you for your message, I hope to welcome you home again.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,640)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

479 - 485 of 1,640 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2012

This is a splendid hotel; I really enjoyed my stay here. Friendly staff and an excellent location right on the beach are welcome characteristics. The hotel itself is very well-appointed, not quite a 5* in my mind but a very good 4*. Private beach section is nice even if the amount of loungers is far too few (14 in total, and people just leave their towels on them and go off for hours so it's hard to get one). Rooms were very nice and lots of nice little things like the hammam to use, a sun lounging section with hammocks and so on, very good pool, nice bar for a drink, and all 5 minutes walk from the centre of town. Excellent room service breakfasts - the bread baskets are excellent value for a lazy start to the day eating breakfast on your balcony (every room has a balcony by the way, nice for reading or lazing). I'd seriously consider returning to Essaouira just to stay here: an excellent stay all-in-all and I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank XYZ736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RACHID B, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2012

Dear Guest,

First I would like to thank you for choosing Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa
-MGallery Collection-

I am happy that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel.Thank you for positif comment.

I hope to welcome you home again.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Really loved this hotel from the moment I set foot in it. Greeted with mint tea and scented wet towels it set the whole tone of the stay. Beds were the most comfortable I've ever slept in, beautiful rooms. Clean pool. Lovely staff (except one grumpy one at reception). Great location. Comfy sunbed terrace. Lovely balconies looking over the pool. I would stay again tomorrow.

It doesn't get five stars due to the fact that we could only get wifi in the lobby( although this was free), we couldn't get a drink in the bar at 9 pm in the evening and the extortionately priced breakfast 180 Dirhams each. Apart from these small details I would definitely recommend a visit and feel a bit mean for taking off a star for the small niggles. Room tax was charged at end of stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SCS2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RACHID B, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2012

Dear Maestro,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa.

I have taken note of your comments regarding all the issues you have mentioned and would like to express my sincerest apologies.

I hope that i will have the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon.

Thank you again for taking the time to write your comment.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

The best hotel in Essaouira is Sofitel which is very expensive and kind of isolated. We went there for dinner, they have very hip gastronomique restaurants. If you're looking for a holiday much more cheaper, I can't suggest you Sofitel beside dinner.
But Le Medina is hotel is one of the best places to stay for your holiday with its excellent staff. It's just on the beach side and close to the center. We had a ocean view room. The room was quite and clean. I really loved the beach and its attractions such as riding, surfing..etc. The breakfast is good. They serve great teas.
The staff was very helpful and always smiling. Hospitality is one of the best word to describe them.

Room Tip: Ocean view room deserves everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RACHID B, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2012

Dear OZDED,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa.

Happy you enjoy your stay. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you in the very near future!

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Hotel is just a few meters from the old town and kasbah. Very close to port.

Buffet breakfast but the restaurant is quite expensive compared to the value of very good places to eat and drink in town.

Right opposite the beach but really too blustery for swimming.

Lovely spa and Hammam

Room Tip: Try to get a room over looking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kateandmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RACHID B, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2012

Dear Kate,

First I would like to thank you for choosing Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa .

I am satisfied that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel, and I hope to welcome you home again.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Stayed for four nights in July
the breeze was a welcome rest from the heat of Marrakech
The rooms were spacious and clean with good views
staff very attentive
breakfast was very good
pool facilities excellent but they run out of beds if you arrive at the pool after 10.30
they also have an excellent seafood restaurant on the beach
the private beach needs some TLC it looks a little neglected
i would definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Middlesfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RACHID B, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

Dear Middlesfarm,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Medina Essaouira Hôtel Thalassa sea & spa.

All my sincere apologies for the inconvenience experienced at our private beach and pool.

It was really nice to hear that you enjoyed the location and the hotel.

I will transfer your compliments to my staff; it is the biggest reward for their daily effort and I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you in the very near future!

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Having spent a few days in Marrakech arriving here was wonderful. Excellent service at Reception and wonderful large room with dressing area and seating area.

Comfortable beds and very clean. Room service staff are a credit, and treat boxes in the room were a wonderful daily surprise.

We originally booked a few days, but decided we didn't want to return to Marrakech we preferred to end our holiday at this hotel, staff were wonderfully helpful and allowed us to keep the same room despite it being a new booking.

Pool area is huge, plenty of sun lounging and shaded seating. Pleasant breakfast experience, very relaxed, and lots of fresh fruit.

Avoided the restaurants felt they were pricey and there are plenty of other places in this windy city to dine.

Enjoyed a couple of cocktails in the evenings whist using free wifi in the public areas. All in all it has everything you could need.

The location on beach front but so close to The Medina and Ramparts is perfect and I would recommend it,

Couple of negatives:

- Pool staff bit 'surly' and hard to find.
- Towel service poor
- Also the Spa, would have loved to use it but the brochures are all in French and the staff cannot translate - need to improve on this now that more English are heading for Essaouira.


Oh, and that hotel MUSIC... I think I would be happy if I never heard 'Alien In New York' ever again 'Perhaps, Perhaps, Perhaps'. A change of CDs occasionally maybe :)

Room Tip: Upgrade and get more space if you are on an extended visit - it's worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NigeNidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RACHID B, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2012

Dear Guest,

First I would like to thank you for choosing Le Medina Essaouira Hôtel Thalassa sea & spa
-MGallery Collection-

Thank you very much for your message. I appreciate that you take time to give us your positive feed back!

I will not hesitate to share your comments with my whole team.

I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you in the very near future!

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
2.7 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
7.6 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#12 of 75 in Essaouira
289 reviews
0.6 mi away
Atlas Essaouira & Spa
Atlas Essaouira & Spa
#28 of 75 in Essaouira
1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#9 of 75 in Essaouira
857 reviews
5.2 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
679 reviews
0.3 mi away
Madada Mogador
Madada Mogador
#19 of 75 in Essaouira
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-

Address: Avenue Mohamed V, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Essaouira
#7 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#14 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#19 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range: £52 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel- 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reminiscent of a sumptuous Moroccan riad, the facade of the Sofitel Thalassa Essaouira is painted the traditional red of Mogador. Set on the coast, close to the medina, this charming luxury hotel furnished with thuja and lemon wood cabinets, provides direct access to a luxury thalassotherapy centre. Enjoy an unforgettable leisure and fitness break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel- reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea And Spa - Mgallery Collection
Accor Thalassa Essaouira
Sofitel Essaouira
Essaouira Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing