We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-
Ranked #17 of 75 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2012

The reviews of this hotel had forewarned us that everything might not be perfect. Certainly, it does need money being spent on it. The carpets in the corridor are dirty and need replacing, the towels are grey instead of white, the tiles in the bathroom are grim. The rooms really need a refurbishment.
However, we spent a week here and were very comfortable. The superior room was a good size and the bed/pillows lovely. We liked our large balcony, the private beach area and the sundeck. The location of the hotel was ideal.
WiFi in the room would have been nice and we weren't able to get a signal for BBC World.
Breakfast was just about adequate. Everything fell apart the morning a large corporate group were there.
All the staff were polite.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelgirl1360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RACHID B, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

Dear Travelgirl,

Thank you so much for giving us your feedback concerning your last stay at the Médina Essaouira Hôtel Thalassa sea & spa.

I feel very much sorry for the inconveniences caused during your stay.

I wish to assure you that I have taken the appropriate actions to make sure that no other guests experience those types of regretful.

I certainly would be very pleased to see you again on a next visit at Essaouira.

Please accept our sincere apologies.

Yours Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,609)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

460 - 466 of 1,610 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2012

There are two main hotels on Essaouira - Le Medina and the Atlas. We stayed at the Atlas for our first two nights but we moved to Le Medina for the rest of our stay because it was a better hotel (the Atlas was fine but a bit soul-less and the staff were not particularly helpful). Great pool, great room, great staff who were genuinely helpful. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FREDERIQUE A, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear James,



Dear Guest,

First I would like to thank you for choosing Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa
-MGallery Collection-

I am happy that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel, and I hope to welcome you home again.

Thank you for all your positif comment.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Good location close to the Medina. The service is "indifferent from the front desk to really bad at the pool". WIFI only in the lobby by the front desk. In the first floor, there is sort of a lounge, for the superior rooms. There, you have to purchase WIFI. How ridiculuos is that? TV channels, most of them in arabic and french. BBC and other english channels, conveniently, were not receiving signal, so if you need to know what is going on in the world, you must go down to the lobby for WIFI. Most of the employees are flat, few speak good english. Had lunch by the pool, service is inexistent, sort of speak. The kid that was running as a towel boy was also the waiter. Sandwiches took at least 35 minutes to arrive, waiter dropped the bottle of coca cola on us and on the floor and never came back with a new coke nor to clean the sticky mess. I had to get up and get my own. The bar with two servers, doing absolutely nothing would not have the cortesy of helping the waiter and on top of that he said it was not his problem nor his job. Anyway, no big deal, but for a hotel that is considered high end here, service should be better than this. No manager to be found anywhere. I have stayed in 5 Sofitels on this trip and this is the first that I had problems with.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the ocean, otherwise you will have to have your curtains closed if you wish privac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mezzogiorno B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RACHID B, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

Dear mezzogiorno,

Thank you very much for your message,i appreciate that you take time to give us your feed back.

I have taken note of your comments regarding all the issues you have mentioned and would like to express my sincerest apologies.

I hope to welcome you home again.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ced2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RACHID B, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 15 September 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel and while the rooms are clean they are poorly finished and I am aware that they are trying to create a particular old world/medina look to the rooms which is nice but at the same time there is just poor workmanship throughout the room as well. I found my biggest issue with this hotel was the service it was hard to communicate with the staff members as they mainly speak French and not English most of the material in the hotel is in French including the price list in the spa and there are no English alternatives to read.

The toilet in my bathroom broke on three occasions and I had to keep calling to get it fixed and on one occasion I reported it on my way our and requested they fix it while I was out but when I returned 5 hrs later they had not bothered to do it.

They sent a welcome basket (Which I think was sent cause they new how mad I was about everything) but if it is normal for everyone to get one I think sending at 6pm on the final night is a bit stupid when I had already been there for 2 days prior.

The service throughout the whole establishment is just atrocious I sat down for lunch at one of the outside tables after being told to sit there by the waiter so he was well aware that I was there but I continued to wait for 20 mins before I finally got up, walked over and interrupted his and his mates conversation to request a copy of the menu. He obviously had better things to do than his job.

All in all I really did not like the whole 3 days I spent in this Hotel and I would never ever ever go there again. As a hotel that is part of the Accor Group I expected a much higher standard.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tennille C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RACHID B, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2012

Dear Tennille,

Thank you very much indeed for having taken the time to write your opinion in Tripadvisor.

I feel very much sorry for the inconveniences caused in the room.

I wish to assure you that I have taken the appropriate actions to make sure that no other guests experience those types of regretful.

Please accept our sincere apologies.

Yours Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Bad food. Bad service. Hygiene poor. Breakfast terrible. Panckakes were pre-made and re-heated on order. When re-heating, the chef handled them excessively. The staff could not understand English. You ask for a boiled egg and you get an omelette.
Pasta was served just boiled with a separate portion of sauce-which was about 2 tablespoons. Only one waiter was friendly.
At the pool,you have to be vigilant that your place is not taken when you go for a swim for 10 minutes.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RACHID B, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2012

Dear Jane,

First I would like to thank you for choosing Le Medina Essaouira Thalassa sea & spa MGallery Collection.

I have taken note of your comments regarding all the issues you have mentioned and would like to express my sincerest apologies.

Thank you for your message, I hope to welcome you home again.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012 via mobile

We spent 3 nights with my kids in a sea view room. It was very nice stay. We enjoyed the balcony during night and the private beach during day. Definitely we will take same hotel if return to essaouira.
The only negative point is the service in swimming pool some latency in responding.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ansarkadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RACHID B, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2012

Dear Ansarkadi,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa.

I am happy that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience experienced at our pool.

Thank you for your message, I hope to welcome you home again.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
2.7 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
0.6 mi away
Atlas Essaouira & Spa
Atlas Essaouira & Spa
#28 of 75 in Essaouira
1,140 reviews
7.6 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#11 of 75 in Essaouira
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#8 of 75 in Essaouira
852 reviews
0.3 mi away
Madada Mogador
Madada Mogador
#19 of 75 in Essaouira
497 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Maroc
Villa Maroc
#9 of 75 in Essaouira
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-

Address: Avenue Mohamed V, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Essaouira
#7 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#14 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#19 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range: £46 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel- 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reminiscent of a sumptuous Moroccan riad, the facade of the Sofitel Thalassa Essaouira is painted the traditional red of Mogador. Set on the coast, close to the medina, this charming luxury hotel furnished with thuja and lemon wood cabinets, provides direct access to a luxury thalassotherapy centre. Enjoy an unforgettable leisure and fitness break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel- reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea And Spa - Mgallery Collection
Accor Thalassa Essaouira
Sofitel Essaouira
Essaouira Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing